Customer Reviews for

Running the Gauntlet: Essential Business Lessons to Lead, Drive Change, and Grow Profits

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    A must-read for every marketer, business leader and entrepreneur

    Running the Gauntlet, by Global Business Celebrity and Marketing guru, Jeffrey Hayzlett, is truly a great read! In short, he seeks to encourage leadership to take a united stand against fear, apathy and lack of personal responsibility in this fast-paced and highly competitive marketplace ¿ and I applaud his ideas in that regard. Hayzlett is on point when he says that in a business environment that is so competitive and volatile you can¿t afford to be satisfied with business as usual. He addresses the importance of presentation company-wide, an area that too many businesses and its people fail to change sending the message that they are not paying attention. Running the Gauntlet also captures how to create a ¿mood¿ for your business that goes beyond its people and presentation. This is a must-read for every marketer, business leader and entrepreneur who is willing to look at its business¿ mood, culture and people and make the necessary changes in order to remain competitive in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Really motivational

    After reading Jeffrey Hayzlett's book "Running the Gaunlet," I feel that I am ready to take over a company and make it become great! This book is a manual for how to become a leader and handle the responsibility of what a person needs to do in order for their business to succeed. Mr. Hayzlett definitely feels passionate about what it takes to help a company grow, evolve and compete in today's world, and it comes through in every page.

    One of the driving themes in this book is that you need to make tough decisions and that people may not like what your choices are or understand why they need to be made. It often means not to let you emotions dictate how your business is ran.

    To illustrate his points, Mr. Hayzlett often interjects stories from his real life and he often likes to discuss his time at Kodak. By letting us in, the reader can see that the author used the ideas he puts across and how they affected him and the company. He isn't afraid to show that many people do not like him (some even hate him) because of what he has had to do to get businesses back on track and successful.

    Although this book targets those in the business world, Mr. Hayzlett's message can definitely be applied to areas of ones life.

    If Mr. Hayzlett decides to change professions, he would make one heck of a great motivational speaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I want to heartily recommend Jeff Hayzlett's new book RUNNING THE GAUNTLET as a key resource book to any executive or business owner that has seen their business reach a plateau and wants it to go to the next level.

    I've had the benefit of working with Jeff over decades and incorporating many of his ideas into my own business and I can attest to their value from my own personal experience having sold my business for that critical mass retirement number. Jeff's RUNNING THE GAUNTLET ideas on reinventing your business on a continual basis REALLY WORK.

    Ray ....San Francisco Bay Area

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Great Book

    Jeffrey Hayzlett's Running the Gauntlet has everything to lead, drive change, and grow profits – just like Jeff promises! Each chapter contains business practices that will help you in ANY situation your company encounters. After reading this book, you will know exactly how to create better situations with employees, customers, and even your enemies! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you MUST check it out!

    An insightful read into how every business MUST constantly change in order to survive and thrive in today's ever fast and ever changing landscape! An incredible motivational workbook for plotting out your own path to success! With every chapter comes humor, examples and goals for achieving and over achieving in the business world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Awesome!

    I have Running the Gauntlet on my desk and I often will read a chapter in a moment when I need inspiration to be a positive leader. I love that each chapter is short but yet powerful. It is a book you will end up reading over and over to remind yourself what your purpose is and why you are doing it.

    Don’t hesitate… buy the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Jeffrey Hayzlett's Running the Gauntlet has ALL the answers to any question you may have about why your business is not where you want it to be. Even if you are making progress, this book has ways to push yourself and your business even more than you thought you could! Anyone can run the gauntlet, but you will need this book to survive it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Engage, Educate, Excite, Evangelize - Running the Gauntlet helps with all

    Big fan of Jeff Hayzlett's the first book "The Mirror Test" and this book "Running The Gauntlet" takes it to the next level. Love chapter 28 that focuses on Social Media and the four Social media "E's" - Engage, Educate, Excite and Evangelize. From Jeff Hayzlett: "You may not think your customers are always right, but thanks to social media, they are now always in charge. Social media, e-mail, and intranets are the primary tools for connecting with and understanding your customers. The goal is to get your customers to talk about you--whether good or bad. The worst thing that can happen is that people say nothing about you." I head up a New Product Development team and personally run the gauntlet every day. Thanks Jeff for helping make my daily run a bit easier!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    This book was at the top of my list to read in 2012, and it surpassed all of my expectations! Running the Gauntlet has a wonderful dynamic of wittiness and business creativity. It motivates you to hone in on the idea that your business can grow bigger and faster than it ever has before. Definitely a must read for every business leader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    This is one of the best business books you¿ll find in 2012!

    Hayzlett provides a very useful tool to grab hold of your business and make some changes. A lot of times leaders know what to do, but are not sure how to do it. Running the Gauntlet will be sure to answer all of the questions you may have, and then pave a clear path for growing your business ¿ a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Energizing and practical

    If you could take everything that you are doing in your business, and rev that up a little bit, Jeffrey Hayzlett is the guy to get you going. After the first chapter, I was ready to do all I could to grow profits for my company. Not only does he get you motivated to do things better, but he tells you exactly how to do it. There are concepts that have been in business practice forever, but they are applied to modern day business marketing practices. I am ready to start Running the Gauntlet! G. Gregory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended - Be ready to run the gauntlet!

    Jeffrey Hayzlett owns the quote "In order to create change you need to create tension." Running the Gauntlet will cause your company to make some changes, because once you read this book ¿ you have no excuse for a lack of execution. He will teach you how to mentally prepare yourself as well as your company to grow, grow, grow¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Timeless Advice

    I already have a full order of books on the way for my team to read! I love how this book is a straightforward, extremely interactive way to get your company growing at a fast pace in 2012. What an incredible way to learn so much about ways that your business can explode. Jeffrey has some great advice that is timeless ¿ he is setting trends, but not ones that will be gone in 1-2 years. He knows exactly what will work to change your company for the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Spectacular, Informative and Inspiring

    Hayzlett has turned out yet another brilliant work! If, like me, you also loved his first book, "The Mirror Test", you'll find yourself transported to an even higher state of business mind in this newest offering. Somehow, Hayzlett just seems to "get" business in a way few others manage to do - and explain what steps readers should take in truly doable ways. I was motivated and inspired. It's extremely well written, clear in its prescriptions and wholly motivating. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    BULLSEYE

    Unlike so many business books, Hayzlett really gives us a hard-hitting approach to what really works in business. If you want to grow your company in ways that you never could have imagined, then take Hayzlett's advice. This book will send you running faster and faster creating an abundance of opportunity in your business. Every leader should follow the advice that Jeff gives in Running the Gauntlet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Fantastic book!

    Once again, Jeffrey Hayzlett has written a fantastic book. With the SnapTags at the beginning of each chapter and the easy-to-read format, Running the Gauntlet is truly enjoyable and I read it in no time at all. Hayzlett walks you through all the aspects from initiating change in your business to growing profits. His raw insights into the business world are refreshing and really makes you think about the work you're doing and if it's really reaching the potential it should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Finally, a spot-on truly actionable business book

    Jeff Hayzlett has delivered another to-the-point, enjoyable, highly relevant and easily actionable business book as he did with The Mirror Test. Whether working at a small start-up or a Fortune 100 company, the lessons and information provided in this book should be at the top of your 2012 reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Wonderful!!!

    Running the Gauntlet is a Fascinating take on the business landscape, and the importance of being a Change-Agent. I highly recommend this book to anyone willing and ready to undergo Business Transformation to take advantage of, rather than fall victim to, the current socio-economic envirionment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Aspiring change agents, take note!

    Now, with the ¿Gauntlet¿ under my belt and on my nightstand I can sleep better knowing there¿s a book that has ideas and answers on every page. Looking to create change? Need to create change? Want practical, real-life advice without the holier-than-thou attitude? Hayzlett¿s done it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Running The Gauntlet

    "This is a wonderful way to read a book - I have never interacted so well with a business book! The SnapTags were a great way to keep Jeff¿s voice in my head and drive home the points made in each chapter. Every chapter is short, and supplemented with a highly entertaining story from Jeff¿s ventures, which helps to apply business objectives to real-life situations. Jeff is really pushing to create a different type of reading and learning experience with this book!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2