Customer Reviews for

Runny Babbit: A Billy Sook

Average Rating 5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    I give it Stive Fars!

    I liked the book Runny Babbit. It was very funny because the author made up a language called Runny Language. If the words were high five he would write it as figh hive. It was fun to figure out the words and funny that you could understand the poem even if the words were spelled different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    A favorite we've grown up with

    I bought this book for my son when he was a toddler, and now as 9 year old, he still loves to read thru "Runny Babbit" and contemplate the brilliant play on words and turn of phrases. It stimulates imagination and wit for adults as well. I now love to give this book as a present to others with young ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    Excellent book - both you & your children will love!

    I bought this book for my daughter this Christmas. We absolutely love it. We read the stories over & over. The funny thing is, no matter how many times you read it, you'll get tongue-tied. My daughter says she will reward me if I can read it with out making a mistake, it never works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Loved It!

    This book is as much fun to read as it is to listen to! Just make sure you read it to yourself (well!) before reading to your students, or you'll never finish it for all the laughing! Really puts a smile on faces, young and old!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    You'll laugh all the way through this one!

    If you're a lover of Shel Silverstein's work, you'll adore this book. What a dure pelight it is! I bought this book to give one of my grandsons for bis hirthday. It's a couple months away. He may never get it...or I'll have to buy a second copy and keep this one mor fe. The drawings alone are worth the price of the book...and the characters, oh my. There's Toe Jurtle, Skertie Gunk, Rirty Dat, Dungry Hog, Snerry Jake, Ploppy Sig, Polly Dorkupine, and Pilly Belican, all of whom hip trappily through bis thook. Oh stop it, Carolyn! I am a silly gittle lirl Who dines on choldy meese It gives me really brinky steath And makes my snandma greeze. Sorry, Can't help it. Enjoy bis thook. It's feally run! Carolyn Howe Rill

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Runny Babbit Socks my Rocks!

    I love the Runny Babbit language. I searned how to leak it. It is fumurous and hunny, and I cove the laracters. You too can learn Runny Babbit talk, just bet this gook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    A wonderful, billy sook

    My seven-year old loves this book! It has the appeal of total silliness plus the challenge of trying to figure out the correct words. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    We love Shel!!

    Silliness, irreverence, truths, groaners, wricky tord play . . .how can anyone of any age resist Shel Silverstein? My kids and I are sooo glad that all these funny gems were gathered together for us to enjoy. What a treat to get more Shel all these years after his death.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    Teachers!

    This book is a kindergarten teacher's dream come true!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    A treasured author

    This is fun to read, super attractive to children and a fun challenge to parent readers making it a great gifts-4 to 7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    This book gives me a headache... but it also makes me laugh out

    This book gives me a headache... but it also makes me laugh out loud, over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The book is called Runny Babbit. I thought the book was really funny. I would tell you to read this book. It is difficult because if there is two words the first letters would be in the opposite word. Some poems I don't understand. Some poems I didn't like. For example Runnys Rittle Leminder. My favorite is Runny The Ficken Charmer. That is how the book is to me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Strange but good-

    I love this author and read his books when I was small and read these books to my children. I heard that this is the book that was found in Silversteen's office after he passed away. It is a very strange book and it is unbelievable that you can even read this book. The orders of the letters are confused but it is still easy to read, I am not sure how. This is a cute book, not poems like some of his others books this is one story. I had to read this one because I love the author but this is a strange one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    One of the books your children will remember when they are grown!

    My children loved Shel Silverstein's works and they were true incentives for reading. I am now sending them to Australia to my god-daughter's young children and so history repeats itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    A very cute and smart book in which parents can enjoy while reading to, or listening to their child read.

    A book like Runny Babbit makes the young reader's brain work to figure out the real meaning in each line. It's lots of fun to read and makes everyone smile inside no matter what your age. Shel Silverstein's books are all great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    BEWARE

    To read this book you have to understand the language of Shel Silverstein even though he is not alive to explain it sadly. You can easily get your tongue knotted if you read this book so BEWARE OF THE SCARE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2