BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rurouni Kenshin, Volume 4

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Kenshin strikes again!!!

    Let's face it. Rurouni Kenshin is the best manga ever. Naruto comes to a point of trying to make a good ninja manga, but let's face it... Naruto sucks. The real action drama comedy manga's are Rurouni Kenshin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    One word...Aoshi.

    He is truly, 'beyond', as suggested in the manga. Throughout the series, he is my favorite character. Sano shows his soft side, and Kenshin shows there really is a swords-genius behind that 'oro'. In responce to the first reviewer, it was Shikijo who was once Ishin Shishi, Aoshi merely spared his life and offered him a chance to join the Oniwabanshu.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rurouni Kenshin's adventures are getting more dangerous, and exc

    Rurouni Kenshin's adventures are getting more dangerous, and exciting, in volume four of the titular series. The story picks up directly off of the end of volume three, wherein Kenshin, his friend Sanosuke, and Kaoru's student, Yahiko, have gone to rescue a female doctor named Megumi from the drug cartel that is holding her hostage and forcing her to make opium for them.

    The interesting part about this volume was the greater insight into the characters. Yahiko is brave and has learned some skill under Kaoru's tutelage, and Sanosuke has learned some real humility. Plus, he also is showing more of his good side and less of his ruthless side. This is because, despite being quite angry with Megumi due to the fact that the opium she was forced to make has lead to many deaths, including that of a friend of his, he still rescues her out of loyalty to Kenshin and Yahiko.

    Perhaps the greatest insight the reader has gotten from this volume is that about Kenshin. We learn two things about him. The first is that he sees his desire to help others and not kill as much more than merely a way to avoid bad or hard things he is tired of doing, but as a direct way to atone for past sins. This is critical, in that Kenshin is clearly far more than a “shell-shocked” veteran. Of course, he IS that, but he is someone who feels guilt over something horrible he feels he <i>must</i>
    atone for. It seems to be more than just war guilt/survivor's guilt/what not.

    The other insight into Kenshin is that he is not invulnerable. We have seen, up to this point, our heroic Rurouni never lose. He still wins here, but it is different now. Kenshin is fast, and tough, but he is not Sanosuke. Wounds that are inflicted on him can hurt and slow him down much more quickly than some of his larger friends. We also learn that his martial prowess is entirely due to his sword-fighting skills. He is not very good at hand-to-hand combat. So if an opponent can get within the range of his weapon and strike him, he is in trouble. This can be quite unsettling to see our hero get hurt, but it does make the story more interesting.

    The only thing I really didn't like about this volume was the way that, due to the emphasis on finishing the story begun in the last volume, there was very little of Kaoru. She is a really awesome character, because although her sword-fighting skills are vastly eclipsed by Kenshin (like, say, almost everyone else in the story, ever), she is quite good. In fact, just evaluating everyone but Kenshin, she is one of the best around, plus she can fight hand-to-hand engagements quite well. She is also smart and sassy, and I just hope they use her more.

    Overall, this volume gave us glimpses into the characters of Kenshin, Sano, and Yahiko, and I really can't want to read the next volume to see what adventure they have next.

    Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    Aoshi + Kenshin Rule!

    This was this one's favorite Manga so far. So what if this one has only read 1-6? (This one is trying to get the others!!!) This one has seen every epsode of Anime and this one has to say that Aoshi is one of my favorite charecters... (for those of you that haven't yet read the mangas... Kenshin always says 'this one' that's why 'this one' is...) Happy Reading!! ^_^x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    this is the best one yet!!!!

    this is the best one yet in the series! though, i must say, hannya's face is--- *shudders* scary to say the least. (they didn't show that in the anime!!) and i'm just a little confused. in the 3rd volume, aoshi said he was an ishin shishi, but everything else contradicts that!! so was aoshi an ishin shishi? or was he with the shogun?! MAKE UP YOUR MIND, WATSUKI!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    Ready for #5, Watsuki!

    I need not say it, but I will. Another beautifully orchistrated story and plot, complete with great illustrating. Bring on #5, Watsuki-san!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    The Last Samurai has nothing on Kenshin!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This story is just great, everyone should watch the anime and really read the manga it is great samurai story and is a little bit more realistic then say DBZ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1