Customer Reviews for

Rush (The Game Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    When I saw Rush at my library, I did not know what to expect. It

    When I saw Rush at my library, I did not know what to expect. It seemed different from some of the dystopian teen series, yet it was also similar, but I decided to take a chance. Miki, the main character in our story was living a normal life until she jumped in front of a vehicle to save a child. What follows is anything but predictable, in fact, I can safely say I've never seen a story quite like this before. What really drew me to this book, at least in the beginning was the fact that I share a name with one of the lesser characters in the book, usually my name and the spelling of it is not one that is all that common.



    Eve Silver in Rush creates a new world, somewhat similar to Pittacus' Lore's I am Number Four, but also different. We have two sides engaged in a battle, the stakes of which are life and death. Without giving too much information away, Rush is book that places its characters inside a video game fighting for their life and the future of humanity as we know it. Is it chance? What exactly brings Miki and others like her to play this game? 



    Unfortunately if you're wanting surefire answers to all of those questions, you will not get it at the end of Rush, after all it's just the first book in "The Game" series. There are two additional titles that you will have to wait for. Don't let this hold you back though, Rush is a book you should absolutely read the first chance you get, in fact, it will be hard to put down. It is for this reason that I am happy to give Rush 4/5 stars, for a well written new world created by author Eve Silver. Pick it up, I'm sure you'll have just as hard a time as I did in placing it down, enjoy! 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I had bought this book a few months ago but only recently finish

    I had bought this book a few months ago but only recently finished reading it. I kept putting off reading it because i'm not that big off a fan of science fiction. I loved this book, it had great characters and a story plot. There was some romance but not overly obsessive, it was also very sweet. There was no icky love triangles, just action and adventure! I highly recommend this book to anybody who like action, adventure, and romance!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    4.5 big bright stars and I'm sitting here shaking my fist at you

    4.5 big bright stars and I'm sitting here shaking my fist at you Eve Silver!!

    Let me get that half star reduction out of the way. There is a giant cliffie at the end of this book, so if that's not your thing... well, I warned you.

    OH MY GOD THIS STORY!! I absolutely loved it and I wasn't sure I would. 

    Miki Jones is suddenly pulled from her real life into what seems to be a real life video game. She and a team of 4 others are sent into a world where she has to eliminate an alien life form called the Drau and according to some, it's every man for themselves. She is thrown in head first without training or practice and she has to depend on Jackson Tate... someone who from the very first introduction drives her nuts. 

    I absolutely loved the premise of this, and like I said, I was worried I wasn't going to, but as I turned page after page, I realized what a genius plot Eve came up with. These teens are basically pulled into a real life video game and it's life or death... if their wrist band turns red while they are in the game, they no longer exist in real life... or, their alternate real life. 

    I loved Miki. She's had her own issues growing up. After the death of her mother, she tries to control every aspect of her life and then she's pulled into something she can't control at all, and she struggles with being forced into this game where she has to take lives, even if they are evil, alien lives. But she's kick-ass - She knows how to fight and was trained in martial arts and despite her confusion, which Silver captures wonderfully, she eventually catches on and she finds that she has instincts she never would have suspected. 

    Jackson... 

    Jackson was sold to us readers as a total a- hole... but I didn't think he was at any time. I can see why Miki was frustrated with him at times, but essentially he felt this obligation to Miki and he had her back every single step of the way. 

    "You stay close to me, Miki Jones. Close enough that I can hear you breathe. Got it?"

    Something in his tone makes my breath catch. Aiming for sassy with a nice dose of bravado, I ask, "You always take care of the new recruits?"

    He clenches his jaw and seconds tick past before he answers. "Never." He sounds anything but happy.

    Never.

    But this time is different.

    When you finally hear his story and get all the details on what's happened... 

    Plus he has some pretty swoony lines...

    "Why didn't you just give me a light in the first place?" I'm both angry that he didn't and grateful that he's given me one now.

    He says softly so only I can hear, "It seemed like a good excuse to keep you close."

    or

    "There hasn't been much that makes me smile in a very long time. But you do. So thank you for that."

    or 

    He grabs my wrist and turns my hand, then lowers his head and presses his lips to my palm. Electricity dances through me, making me gasp.

    His lips move to the crease of my wrist.

    I stand perfectly still, my blood hammering through my veins.

    I want him to do that again.

    I also really adored Luka and the part he plays in this book. But I will say that I really disliked her friend Carly and the way she was portrayed. Once you read this, you'll hopefully have a better understanding of why I say that, but I don't want to give anything away. I think her reactions and attitudes really cheapened the great friendship they were supposed to have had.

    If you're a fan of Sci-Fi with a touch of romance and want to read something that's filled with action and a unique and different plot, that has characters that you'll end up loving, I recommend you run out and order Rush now... It comes out in June and I know that seems like a long way to go, but it will totally be worth it. Now... if I could only find a way to get my hands on book 2.... 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    RUSH is such an amazing book. It's one of my favourites, and I'm

    RUSH is such an amazing book. It's one of my favourites, and I'm definitely going to be in line to get the sequel. I can't say much that hasn't already been said, except that the story is told in such a fabulous way that it just leads you wanting more and more. I loved it! -Quinn Kendall

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rush is a unique and exhilarating read that you won't want to mi

    Rush is a unique and exhilarating read that you won't want to miss. While the world-building is a bit lacking, it is more than made up for by intriguing and easy-to-relate-to characters, a suspenseful plot, and a creative and one-of-a-kind concept. This book was a little slow to start, but I was soon sucked into the world Silver created and couldn't put the book down. I absolutely cannot wait until the sequel. 

    Miki was a pretty good heroine, and she definitely had her own, well-developed personality. However, she got on my nerves with her obsessive questions and attempt to control everything constantly. Overall, it wasn't too bad, and most of the time I wanted the answers, too, but sometimes, I just wanted to smack her. I, personally liked Jackson quite a bit. He was a bit different than most YA heroes, and I like that he wasn't super angsty, even though he was damaged. He did some crappy things, and he was extremely evasive, but I understood why after I found out what he was hiding. Luca was okay, but since I was seeing him through Miki's eyes, he wasn't anything to write home about. Carly, Miki's best friend, was obnoxious, but she's a teenager, and teenage girls get overly dramatic and angry over nothing sometimes, so I let it pass. I'll see how I feel about her in the next installment before making any firm decisions on her character. 

    The plot was extremely unique and full of suspense. Since there was an air of mystery surrounding everything, I had no idea what would happen next. I had some things figured out fairly early on, but others I didn't see coming. I couldn't put the book down; I was definitely sucked in by the 20% mark and the pages flew by after that. I think that, for the most part, Silver handled the mystery aspect pretty well, but in some ways it did affect the world-building. Since it was difficult to reveal much about the world without also revealing many of Jackson's secrets, I felt like I didn't understand the world at all for a good part of the novel. I still don't fully grasp what's going on. Hopefully it'll be more clearly explained in the sequel. Also, I don't feel that Silver handled the sharing of information in the best way because sit came as dialogue info dumps, due to the fact that Miki had no freaking clue what was going on. I wish that Miki had summarized some of the information for us and that it'd been given little bits at a time more consistently. Also, I hated the cliffhanger at the end. It was a bit overused, which surprised me considering the rest of the novel was so unique. Of course, as you guys know, I just don't like cliffhangers... period.

    Overall, I absolutely adored this book. It was a refreshing addition to the sci-fi genre, and I can't wait for the sequel. I'd recommend Rush to anyone who is looking for something different to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Rush by Eve Sil

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Rush by Eve Silver
    Book One of The Game series
    Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
    Publication Date: June 11, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    So what’s the game now? This, or the life I used to know?

    When Miki Jones is pulled from her life, pulled through time and space into some kind of game—her carefully controlled life spirals into chaos. In the game, she and a team of other teens are sent on missions to eliminate the Drau, terrifying and beautiful alien creatures. There are no practice runs, no training, and no way out. Miki has only the guidance of secretive but maddeningly attractive team leader Jackson Tate, who says the game isn't really a game, that what Miki and her new teammates do now determines their survival, and the survival of every other person on this planet. She laughs. He doesn't. And then the game takes a deadly and terrifying turn.


    What I Liked:

    OH MY GOSH I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH! This one is definitely going on my list of favorites at the end of the year. Yes, I didn't rate it five stars, and I have good reasons why I docked that one star, but seriously, people. I was so impressed when I finished this book. I've never read anything by Eve Silver, and I'm glad that this was the first one of her books that I read. 

    Miki is an incredible character. At first, I wasn't sure if I liked her or not. She's extremely tough, smart-mouthed, inquisitive, and really, in short, strong. I guess I wasn't expecting such a strong protagonist, but Miki definitely packed one heck of a punch (both in the story and as a character). 

    Miki is pulled when she jumps in front of a truck to save a little girl, and instead, gets killed. Sort of. She wakes up to find herself in the Lobby, waiting to attack alien creatures. Her "team" includes Jackson, Richelle, Tyrone, and Luka (Luka, she already knew from her school). 

    I thought the premise of this story sounded awesome - and it really was! I'm kicking myself for having an early review copy of this books for MONTHS and not reading it sooner, because I was completely sucked in to the story. This sort of reminded me of Epic by Conor Kostick, but in an obscure way. Being pulled into this different setting is sort of like being in a video game.

    There is a ton of action in this book, and it almost seems non-stop. Being pulled means that you are taken into the "video game" world, and if you survive, you are dropped back into your real life, at the exact second you left. So, while a good amount of the book was spent in the "video game" world, not a lot of time passed in the real world. I loved the anticipation of fighting the creatures (called Dra) - I think Ms. Silver does an excellent job building up the tension and the nerves before Miki and the team fight the Drau.

    This book is full of twists and turns! I thought it was going to go one way, and then it goes another way. I could not believe what Ms. Silver threw at us, with the bodies (not telling!). And then to find out Jackson's secret... I was shocked and intrigued! Ms. Silver definitely keeps readers guessing, but throughout the book, she tells us enough so that we won't be completely confused as we read.

    Speaking of Jackson... oh man. He's the leader of the team, and he is full of mysteries. He never takes off his sunglasses, he doesn't like answering questions, and he seems to be extremely good at what he does... why? We find out as we go. He's definitely my favorite character of the book. He isn't a wimp, or a coward, or a big softy. He doesn't really have "moments". And when he tells Miki he's dangerous - he means it. This isn't like Edward telling Bella to stay away from him because he "might" hurt her (bullcrap) - I find Jackson's reasons more tragic.

    And of course, he's an amazing love interest. I love his continual banter with Miki throughout the book. One of my favorite scenes of the entire book (I have many favorite scenes of this book... like, the whole thing!) is the lunch scene. Jackson isn't a soft and squishy guy - he's definitely and iron and steel guy that you don't want to mess with. But somehow, he's so lovable! And swoonworthy! And officially one of my favorite male protagonists of all time! Check out my Swoon Thursday (#22) post if you don't believe me.

    That being said, I love the romance in this book. The plot is definitely NOT the romance, and the romance is second to the plot, though both are much more connected than readers believe (we find out this in the end of the book). There is a sort-of love triangle, but it's really not one at all. In any sense of the phrase. At least, I don't think it is.

    The book ends in a cliffhanger, and I need Push (book two) like, yesterday. I was emotionally distraught over this cliffhanger! So, not a favorable ending. But it's a good ending! Like, well-written, makes sense with the plot, understandable, mean... I need Push.


    What I Did Not Like:

    There were a few things that stuck out to me that I didn't really like, and that's why this book got 4 stars instead of five. For one, the massive cliffhanger that I absolutely abhorred and possibly cried over because I couldn't believe Ms. Silver would do such a thing. Cue the water works!

    Another is the amount of info dumping that happens. Readers (and Miki) get a ton of information in like, three spots in this book, all at once. When Miki firsts enters the Lobby, she gets a boatload of information then. Then she talks to Jackson when they were at the playground later in the story. And there are more spots that are smaller, but basically, the info dumping was kind of painful.

    And there are some small things that were never really answered in this book (maybe in the next books?). Like, I don't really understand why the Drau are stuck in the "video game" world. And why does dying selflessly pull someone into the "video game" world? There are other questions I had, but I'm hoping that they aren't important details, or that they will be answered in the next two books.


    Would I Recommend It:

    Yesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyes. 

    Yes.

    Go get a copy now! Buy it, borrow it, whatever, just get it! You don't have to be a video game lover (I'm not!) or a science fiction lover to read and love this book!


    Rating:

    4 stars. I must have re-read this book about 4 times already. It's that good, people!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    It took a little bit for me to get into the book, after that exp

    It took a little bit for me to get into the book, after that explosive first chapter. I think it lost some of its momentum throughout the story-line, and sometimes I didn't know if I wanted to continue. Not that the book was bad, but I just wasn't invested in the story or characters that much.

    I liked Miki a lot more in the beginning than the the rest of the book. I understood her well and felt a connection because I know what it's like to let the grief rule everything, to not even recognize yourself anymore, and that feeling of being completely lost and lonely. She was also a little sassy. However, she became a Mary Sue of a character. She was so special but she didn't even know it. Everything about the game came easy for her; she never had trouble with the Drau, although her kendo training did give her an edge. She was kind of set on a pedestal against the other female characters, which showed with the little bit of high school drama. It was almost like she could do no wrong. The story also centered around her, which left everyone else one-dimensional.

    Speaking of one-dimensional: cue Jackson Tate, the love interest. I didn't necessarily have a problem with his character; I just didn't believe him. His I-am-an-island attitude and "bad boy" appeal came across as unauthentic, given all of the contradictions between his words and his actions. I also would have liked more background on his character, because I felt that he could have been much more genuine if he'd had more going for him than his looks and sudden and unexpected interest in our MC. Their chemistry also felt forced in the beginning, like it was trying too hard to happen.

    Miki's relationships with the secondary characters felt immensely underdeveloped, which made the high school drama all the more annoying. I hated that the one with Luka was tainted by forced jealousy and friendship drama. I thought he could have been a great friend to Miki. I also didn't care for the way her friendship with her childhood best friend was treated. It didn't even seem that important for the MC because of how easy it was that a guy could come between them. The only "relationship" that had any depth was the one with Jackson. And even that was sorely without that much growth. Because when the L word was thrown around, I just didn't believe it.

    And I had a love/hate relationship with the plot. On the one hand, all of the mystery left me curious to know everything about the Drau, these aliens who destroy planets, and what the game actually is. On the other hand, all of the non-answers seemed like a carrot being dangled in front of a horse's nose so it will keep walking in the hope of receiving the treat. In this case, all they did was make me mad that I wasn't learning anything new and in a timely manner. I also found it ridiculous that Miki would get "pulled" into a game like this with absolutely no information or training whatsoever, with a leader who won't even give her the most basic details to help her survive the missions without needing him to swoop in and save her. I'm still mostly confused about everything involving this story-line, and I'm not even sure I get it. But I still want to find out after that cliffhanger, albeit cliché, ending.

    One little annoying pet peeve of mine in this, aside from the non-answers was the fact that all of the characters seemed able to read minds. Apparently nothing needed to be said because everyone knew what the other was thinking. There was a lot of assuming that way, and it took away from the development of relationships because no one was honest with each other.

    Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the story. It was a surprisingly quick read, even though it lost me a few times throughout. Rush had a unique concept that I hope will be developed more thoroughly in the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Unique sci-fi action/adventure to get lost in. My actual rati

    A Unique sci-fi action/adventure to get lost in.

    My actual rating is 3.5 stars!

    Note: This review contains NO spoilers

    This was definitely an action-packed, adventure-filled, sci-fi experience. From gaming to virtual reality, Rush definitely took me on a "mission". Eve Silver created an otherworldly setting as these characters are "pulled" from their lives to a game-of-survival setting with aliens. With the mysterious introduction of this alien species, it created the suspense for these characters that were randomly, not so random, pulled to "play" this game that is supposed to determine the fate of mankind. 

    There is a sense that all these characters are well-versed in the video-gaming world as they use terms that gamers would know and understand. This concept somewhat created that adventure in the story. However, the whole secrecy idea did at some point got really annoying...there's just so much play on words I can take. C'mon! It definitely made the story drag. It even got boring! But, don't let that discourage you from reading this. Of course, from the beginning, it is apparent that there is a budding romance happening. But, where is the challenge if not with a love triangle...hahaha!! If it's executed right...then readers will feel it.

    Even after immersing myself in reading this story, entering this "world," this book ends with a cliffhanger!!! Really!!??!! Well, I guess I will have to read the series to get to the conclusion of this adventure...who will survive and who will complete the Game?

    Rush is definitely the beginning of a unique story, that interweaves science fiction, gaming, and virtual reality, that those that enjoys this genre will like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2014

    Nothing like I expected, everything that I need, Rush was a fant

    Nothing like I expected, everything that I need, Rush was a fantastic read. With an original and action packed plot line, Rush will give readers the thrill they seek.

    I never read the synopsis fully for this novel but still some part of it called to me, so when I got the opportunity to review this novel--I took it willingly.

    When I think of aliens in books I usually feel sort of put off from reading about them but Silver completely convinced me. I think it was because the aliens were somehow fascinating in their ethereal, silent other worldliness. I was intrigued and never freaked out which is usually my fear when reading books that feature aliens.

    What I liked most about this novel was Miki, not only did I love her character name--I loved her role in this story. Her life changed in a series of minutes but she freaked out more on her own, internally, than an outright blow out. She wanted to give up but she never did. She took everything in stride and I enjoyed that. I cannot stand a persistently whiny character, male or female.

    My other favorite was Jackson, of course. He was rude (and I loved it--something may be wrong with me), aloof, and stand-offish, and I loved every minute. He was a man of little words but when he spoke you felt drawn. I loved the way his character developed in the story because there was always a sense of mystery surrounding his character--in a good way.

    I thoroughly enjoyed each character well, except for the best friend Carly, she was in my opinion harder on Miki than I felt was necessary--and she tended to be a little petty at times. She wasn't around often except when she was.

    I really enjoyed this book, the plot was unique and held my attention--the characters had depth and kept me intrigued, and the ending, the ending, what??

    I can't wait to read book two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I want to than the author, Eve Silver, for sending me a copy of

    I want to than the author, Eve Silver, for sending me a copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way altered my perception or review.




    From the first time I saw the cover of this book, I knew I had to read it. It's just utterly gorgeous. And the premise of the book, that there could possibly be some kind of game we are sucked into without us even knowing it, was just awesome!




    Enter Miki Jones. When you start the book, Miki comes off as the typical teenage girl, hanging out with her friends, swooning over cute boys at school. It's all so normal and there's nothing out of the ordinary. But then things suddenly change when she dives into traffic to save a friend's brother. She's suddenly sucked into a game of life or death where she and teammates try their hardest to fight off an alien race she didn't even know existed. Of course we see her skepticism emerge, and she is by no means trusting of those she is forced to partner with. But we also see how curious she is and watch as she slowly puts the clues together. She develops enough during the story to keep us intrigued, but I do believe she could have had a bit more growth. She was more than a bit awkward in many situations.




    And of course this wouldn't be a great YA without the introduction of romance. There is kind of this push and pull between two of the male characters, one Miki has known for a while and another that she has just met. And, while you might think it's a love triangle, you really don't get that idea here. You do see that she forms an attachment more to one than the other, seemingly thrust into it because of how she must depend on this guy. But at the same time, the mysteriousness of him totally intrigues her. I like that one of the guys is a total mystery (though we do learn some things about him that are important to the story line) while the other one seems to be more of an open book (at least after she is first pulled).




    The world building is interesting. I liked how Silver was able to balance Miki's "normal" world with the world of the game. While Miki has a bit of a hard time adjusting to being pulled, it certainly makes sense since she never knows when the pull will happen. And it's interesting to watch her return to her normal world and try to make sense of what has happened around her (as if time hasn't passed at all, but their pull has certainly changed things).




    Silver's writing flowed easily and certainly kept me wanting to read more. I could have used some more descriptors while reading, so I could really get the feel of the surroundings. When the teens were pulled into this in between while awaiting their game assignment, I needed to feel what it was like. But I had hard time with that. There was some predictability throughout the story, but nothing that kept me from wanting to continue to read and find out what happened to them during their missions. Silver also incorporated a fair bit of action, needed to show the war that is occurring between the alien race and earth.




    The book really ramps up at the end and then leaves you with an ending that will definitely have you reaching for the next book.  Silver presents us with a unique look at a sci-fi world that exists just out of our plane of reach. I'm looking forward to reading book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    **Copy provided via the author in exchange for an honest review.

    **Copy provided via the author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are mine alone.** 
    At a Glance/The Cover:
    Rush had a really interesting concept to it. When I read its storyline, I couldn't help but want to read it immediately! Yes, it's definitely one of those games where the players can die, isn't necessary, and can't be gotten out of. 




    The only I can think of somewhat related to this plot is The Hunger Games, but it is different. In many ways. Many ways.




    The Characters/My Opinion:
    Miki Jones - Miki is the main character that gets pulled out of life, LITERALLY, and into a game. But it isn't just a game. This 'game' determines the Earth's life. This game gives us another view of Earth and how it was affected by aliens, which can't be seen by humans. 




    I think Silver explains this plot really well. Readers aren't super confused to how game works, how people get pulled out of life, and why doesn't any normal people notice. The characters in the story describes this game very well, and also adds suspense to the story. 




    Jackson Tate - He actually sounds very stuck-up in the beginning. But we see him change and see his demeanor weaken a little. Just for Miki. Miki and Jackson's relationship isn't all that romantic. We see them fall for each other little. I can't say I fangirl about their chemistry though. But it is a great add along to the story.




    Normally, I'm a romance fanatic. Like everything is about the love and the romance. And the chemistry. And that shipping. But for Rush, i think I'm more interested in the game and plots and twists. :) 




    Luka - Personally, I really like Luka. When he was first mentioned, I swear he could have been the love interest. He sounds hotter Jackson Tate. Or maybe because Jackson's jerky attitude kind of wavered my view of him. I don' t see him through Miki's eyes. Luka is like the best friend life saver that helps you get the guy and live to tell the tale. 




    Comparing to The Hunger Games:
    Just because. I feel like I can explain the book better this way....so...here i go. Like the Hunger Games the game is totally dangerous, yet random. It's life-risking and every mistake will be the death of you. Yet why is this game even happening? Unlike the Hunger Games, this game is actually necessary for the Earth to live on instead of just pure entertainment.




    These players are supposed to be on their own and all that, but they still kind of work in teams as a group. While in THG, they fight among each other, in Rush, they fight against evil Draus.  




    This whole thing takes place in our everyday world. So unlike THG, it's not dystopian. 




    Okay. So that's all I probably should say without spoiling any more than needed. :) 




    Overall Thoughts:
    There were actually a lot of twisters in this novel that I really wasn't expecting. Rush's got me hanging on to the edge of my seat in suspense. I really can't wait to find out what happens next! And to know the truth of Jackson Tate. So many mysteries surround him. I must say, I am curious. 




    So if you're interested in a sci-fi read, with a great plot and games, try this one! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2014

    Rush combines everything I love about contemporary with everythi

    Rush combines everything I love about contemporary with everything I love about science fiction. It is fast-paced, action-packed, and has believable conflicts that range from best friend and boy problems to needing to survive against a deadly alien race. If that doesn't make readers want to snatch up the novel alone, I don't know what will.

    The concept of Rush is a rush in itself. There aren't many slow moments at all, as the pages just keep turning and before you know it, it's 3am, you're on the final page, and you have school the next day. Although the idea in itself doesn't seem too revolutionary (I know, I've read Ender's Game), Silver crafted a story that still felt thoroughly unique. Maybe it's the addictive writing, maybe it's the fact that it has a normal life aspect while the characters are not in the game...whatever it is, I wasn't able to get enough of it. There are enough twists in the plot to keep readers guessing, and they aren't obvious. Even when I was so smugly sure I knew what was going on...I didn't. And it was so fabulous to be wrong.
    I love the characters of Rush. Miki is strong, funny and has a very authentic teenage voice. It's incredibly easy to root for her character in the story. The relationship between her and Jackson felt very natural. The bickering and biting style of flirting isn't exactly unheard of, but it's something I will never tire of. Ever. The aggravation the two caused each other was so much more delicious than a strictly romantic scenario would have been. Not to mention, Jackson as a character was highly intriguing. He isn't the one-dimensional pretty-boy love interest that can occasional plague works. He has a lot going for him, and his flaws only made me love him more. Plus, is it just me, or could we use some more long-haired dreamboats in YA?
    What I really loved about Rush was how believable it felt, despite the fact that it's science fiction. With the way that the game was set up, intertwined with reality, it felt like something entirely real. At least for the time reading. Not to mention, the game itself was highly interesting. The action and intense imagery might it so I was almost there. (Maybe it's the actor in me speaking, but this would make a fantastic film, even just for cinematic reasons.) All in all, the novel is exciting and addictive, and I can't wait to get my hands on the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    This one was definitely an interesting concept. I found that I e

    This one was definitely an interesting concept. I found that I ended up really enjoying it. although I went in wary. But the story hooked me from the beginning and did not let go, and I'm so glad I read it.

    Miki is a teenage girl, just living her life. It's just her and her dad, but they get by. Until the day Miki saves a little girl from being run over by a truck and ends up somewhere else. "Somewhere else" being pulled through time and space into a game--only it's not really a game. Now Miki is part of a team sent to eliminate an alien race. Her team includes Luka, a guy who she used to be friends with when they were little, who ended up moving away but moving back (and hotter than ever, duh) as well as Jackson Tate, who is secretive, maddening, frustrating, and let's face it--super hot.

    Miki was an interesting character, and one that's easy to relate to. She has her problems, but the fact that she wasn't perfect is what made her easier to read about. There were somethings I would have liked more explained, rather than just alluded to, but nothing that interrupted the flow of reading. And Luke...personally, I liked him more than Jackson. He was super cute, but I guess we haven't seen enough of either boys. Jackson was...a mystery. But he managed to achieve the balance of letting you know just enough to satisfy your curiosity and give you some answers, and not share enough, making you want to know all the things.

    The story was fast-paced all the way through, keeping you interested. Things were explained, but not info-dumped as to drag the story. I was fully immersed the whole time, and never had a point where I was bored. The concept was interesting: these kids taken through time and space to a different dimension, to fight this alien species that wants to take over Earth. After they complete their "mission", they go back to the exact second they were "pulled", like nothing ever happened. But consequences in the game can have consequences in real life, as they learn.

    This was definitely, well as the title says, a rush. I fully enjoyed this story and will definitely be trying to get my hands on the next one as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Imaginative, thrilling, and very intriguing, Rush was a fantasti

    Imaginative, thrilling, and very intriguing, Rush was a fantastic YA sci-fi read. I absolutely loved this book. From the interesting world that was created, to the endless thrills, and the lovely romance, this book was amazing.

    The world-building was great. It started off a little confusing but, as we got more explanation, I became more and more drawn into the world of invading aliens. It was well thought out and very interesting, a world that I was really intrigued by. 

    Miki was a wonderful heroine. She was definitely a fighter, strong and resilient and not willing to take crap from anyone. She held her own in a world of predatory aliens and was a truly likable character. I thought she was great.

    Jackson took a little longer to grow on me. At first, he was frustratingly secretive and ambiguous. But, as we got more explanation, I understood why he was so reluctant to share his secrets and the circumstances of his past made him a sympathetic character. He proved himself to be loyal, a total badass, and very sweet when he wanted to be. By the end of the book, I really liked him.

    The romance developed slowly, which I liked. Miki and Jackson were both tough and strong-willed, so they were a perfect match. I thought they were great together but after that ending, I just hope they meet again.

    The plot was fast paced and I was totally hooked the entire way through. There were plenty of thrills and secrets to keep me on the edge of my seat. I really liked the story and the ending definitely has me curious about what happens next.

    Rush was a fantastic YA read that I totally loved. It was full of thrills, secrets, and some delightful romance. YA lovers, this is definitely a book you'll want to read.

    *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    This book was so different from what I was expecting. So very di

    This book was so different from what I was expecting. So very different. I really liked the different, but, I don't know, I'm having a hard time trying to find the right words to explain it. The concept of the book was great. The idea that these characters get pulled into this alternate world called "The Game" where they have to kill aliens.

    The way you get pulled is by almost dying. Or actually dying because when you die in the game, thats how you die in real life. I found it a little far fetched, but clever and very different from what I was expecting. I wasn't really thrilled with the characters while I was reading it, I found Miki really irritating and her best friend was even worse.

    The romance in this book felt a little forced. We also found ourself in the obligatory love triangle where there was the mysterious boy from the game and the old friend who was also in the game coincidentally. I'm sure they will follow the same plot line as well with the first book focusing on one guy and the second being about the other, but I'm still excited to see whats going to happen.

    The entire concept was super interesting, but I think that the payoff was a little too small. In spite of this, I'm planning on checking out the next in the trilogy if I can get my hands on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    Awesome!

    I'd never read this author ...the cover caught my attention and I'm so happy I took a chance. Well written, great characters - you really get attached to their qualities, thoughts, quirks - really fresh. Exciting plot -unique and interesting read. I immediately picked up the second book and can't wait for the third. This one could be a great Movie...couldn't stop reading ...Great action/war-game sequences and very cute/Hot teen attraction that grows...nicely done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Awesome

    Totally a cliff hanger! Plus the whole fighting aliens thing was awesome.......... btw the second book is called push

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    This book is awesome. I was sucked in from the get go. I did not

    This book is awesome. I was sucked in from the get go. I did not want to put it down.
     I read it in a day and a half. Now I want MORE! The plot is very good and unique.
    The story line keeps you interested until the end of the book.
    That was the only let down, the end of the book. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.
    Eve Silver has a winner with this series. I highly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Rush was an amazing book¿one of the best I've ever read, and I'v

    Rush was an amazing book–one of the best I've ever read, and I've read a looooot of books. I'm not going to lie, the whole fighting aliens thing has been used many times, but Eve Silver used the concept in a way that was so totally awesome and original, I couldn't help but fall in love. Speaking of love, this book even has it’s own romance: Jackson and Miki. The two of them are absolutely perfect, both individually and together. Once again, I fell in love with a fictional character. 

    This book was thrilling and had me so totally hooked, I finished it in less than 2 hours. This book was absolutely perfect, and I definitely recommend it to anyone that’s a fan of anything post-apocalyptic or anything that features a strong female lead. Rush is a must-read, and once you get your hands on this book you won’t regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    Rush: The Game by Eve Silver Teen series with alternate reality

    Rush: The Game by Eve Silver

    Teen series with alternate reality that is deadly. Great premise and action. Miki Jones is impressive with her attitude yet has issues that you easily forgive.

    Miki is pulled into the game, forced to protect herself, kill, and return to her unchanged home environment without discussing it with anyone. How is it possible to keep secrets so huge that have such an impact in your life? I don't think I could do that and totally understand why she needs to connect with the other players. 

    This book does deal with death and loss so is not for the younger readers of the genre.

    It was a really good read. Intense, but frustrating for Miki.

    Minor spoiler: I hate cliffhangers and unanswered questions. If I had known ahead of time I would have waited to read until the entire series is available. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2