Customer Reviews for

Rush: The Game: Book 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    When I saw Rush at my library, I did not know what to expect. It

    When I saw Rush at my library, I did not know what to expect. It seemed different from some of the dystopian teen series, yet it was also similar, but I decided to take a chance. Miki, the main character in our story was living a normal life until she jumped in front of a vehicle to save a child. What follows is anything but predictable, in fact, I can safely say I've never seen a story quite like this before. What really drew me to this book, at least in the beginning was the fact that I share a name with one of the lesser characters in the book, usually my name and the spelling of it is not one that is all that common.



    Eve Silver in Rush creates a new world, somewhat similar to Pittacus' Lore's I am Number Four, but also different. We have two sides engaged in a battle, the stakes of which are life and death. Without giving too much information away, Rush is book that places its characters inside a video game fighting for their life and the future of humanity as we know it. Is it chance? What exactly brings Miki and others like her to play this game? 



    Unfortunately if you're wanting surefire answers to all of those questions, you will not get it at the end of Rush, after all it's just the first book in "The Game" series. There are two additional titles that you will have to wait for. Don't let this hold you back though, Rush is a book you should absolutely read the first chance you get, in fact, it will be hard to put down. It is for this reason that I am happy to give Rush 4/5 stars, for a well written new world created by author Eve Silver. Pick it up, I'm sure you'll have just as hard a time as I did in placing it down, enjoy! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I had bought this book a few months ago but only recently finish

    I had bought this book a few months ago but only recently finished reading it. I kept putting off reading it because i'm not that big off a fan of science fiction. I loved this book, it had great characters and a story plot. There was some romance but not overly obsessive, it was also very sweet. There was no icky love triangles, just action and adventure! I highly recommend this book to anybody who like action, adventure, and romance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    RUSH is such an amazing book. It's one of my favourites, and I'm

    RUSH is such an amazing book. It's one of my favourites, and I'm definitely going to be in line to get the sequel. I can't say much that hasn't already been said, except that the story is told in such a fabulous way that it just leads you wanting more and more. I loved it! -Quinn Kendall

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    4.5 big bright stars and I'm sitting here shaking my fist at you

    4.5 big bright stars and I'm sitting here shaking my fist at you Eve Silver!!

    Let me get that half star reduction out of the way. There is a giant cliffie at the end of this book, so if that's not your thing... well, I warned you.

    OH MY GOD THIS STORY!! I absolutely loved it and I wasn't sure I would. 

    Miki Jones is suddenly pulled from her real life into what seems to be a real life video game. She and a team of 4 others are sent into a world where she has to eliminate an alien life form called the Drau and according to some, it's every man for themselves. She is thrown in head first without training or practice and she has to depend on Jackson Tate... someone who from the very first introduction drives her nuts. 

    I absolutely loved the premise of this, and like I said, I was worried I wasn't going to, but as I turned page after page, I realized what a genius plot Eve came up with. These teens are basically pulled into a real life video game and it's life or death... if their wrist band turns red while they are in the game, they no longer exist in real life... or, their alternate real life. 

    I loved Miki. She's had her own issues growing up. After the death of her mother, she tries to control every aspect of her life and then she's pulled into something she can't control at all, and she struggles with being forced into this game where she has to take lives, even if they are evil, alien lives. But she's kick-ass - She knows how to fight and was trained in martial arts and despite her confusion, which Silver captures wonderfully, she eventually catches on and she finds that she has instincts she never would have suspected. 

    Jackson... 

    Jackson was sold to us readers as a total a- hole... but I didn't think he was at any time. I can see why Miki was frustrated with him at times, but essentially he felt this obligation to Miki and he had her back every single step of the way. 

    "You stay close to me, Miki Jones. Close enough that I can hear you breathe. Got it?"

    Something in his tone makes my breath catch. Aiming for sassy with a nice dose of bravado, I ask, "You always take care of the new recruits?"

    He clenches his jaw and seconds tick past before he answers. "Never." He sounds anything but happy.

    Never.

    But this time is different.

    When you finally hear his story and get all the details on what's happened... 

    Plus he has some pretty swoony lines...

    "Why didn't you just give me a light in the first place?" I'm both angry that he didn't and grateful that he's given me one now.

    He says softly so only I can hear, "It seemed like a good excuse to keep you close."

    or

    "There hasn't been much that makes me smile in a very long time. But you do. So thank you for that."

    or 

    He grabs my wrist and turns my hand, then lowers his head and presses his lips to my palm. Electricity dances through me, making me gasp.

    His lips move to the crease of my wrist.

    I stand perfectly still, my blood hammering through my veins.

    I want him to do that again.

    I also really adored Luka and the part he plays in this book. But I will say that I really disliked her friend Carly and the way she was portrayed. Once you read this, you'll hopefully have a better understanding of why I say that, but I don't want to give anything away. I think her reactions and attitudes really cheapened the great friendship they were supposed to have had.

    If you're a fan of Sci-Fi with a touch of romance and want to read something that's filled with action and a unique and different plot, that has characters that you'll end up loving, I recommend you run out and order Rush now... It comes out in June and I know that seems like a long way to go, but it will totally be worth it. Now... if I could only find a way to get my hands on book 2.... 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rush is a unique and exhilarating read that you won't want to mi

    Rush is a unique and exhilarating read that you won't want to miss. While the world-building is a bit lacking, it is more than made up for by intriguing and easy-to-relate-to characters, a suspenseful plot, and a creative and one-of-a-kind concept. This book was a little slow to start, but I was soon sucked into the world Silver created and couldn't put the book down. I absolutely cannot wait until the sequel. 

    Miki was a pretty good heroine, and she definitely had her own, well-developed personality. However, she got on my nerves with her obsessive questions and attempt to control everything constantly. Overall, it wasn't too bad, and most of the time I wanted the answers, too, but sometimes, I just wanted to smack her. I, personally liked Jackson quite a bit. He was a bit different than most YA heroes, and I like that he wasn't super angsty, even though he was damaged. He did some crappy things, and he was extremely evasive, but I understood why after I found out what he was hiding. Luca was okay, but since I was seeing him through Miki's eyes, he wasn't anything to write home about. Carly, Miki's best friend, was obnoxious, but she's a teenager, and teenage girls get overly dramatic and angry over nothing sometimes, so I let it pass. I'll see how I feel about her in the next installment before making any firm decisions on her character. 

    The plot was extremely unique and full of suspense. Since there was an air of mystery surrounding everything, I had no idea what would happen next. I had some things figured out fairly early on, but others I didn't see coming. I couldn't put the book down; I was definitely sucked in by the 20% mark and the pages flew by after that. I think that, for the most part, Silver handled the mystery aspect pretty well, but in some ways it did affect the world-building. Since it was difficult to reveal much about the world without also revealing many of Jackson's secrets, I felt like I didn't understand the world at all for a good part of the novel. I still don't fully grasp what's going on. Hopefully it'll be more clearly explained in the sequel. Also, I don't feel that Silver handled the sharing of information in the best way because sit came as dialogue info dumps, due to the fact that Miki had no freaking clue what was going on. I wish that Miki had summarized some of the information for us and that it'd been given little bits at a time more consistently. Also, I hated the cliffhanger at the end. It was a bit overused, which surprised me considering the rest of the novel was so unique. Of course, as you guys know, I just don't like cliffhangers... period.

    Overall, I absolutely adored this book. It was a refreshing addition to the sci-fi genre, and I can't wait for the sequel. I'd recommend Rush to anyone who is looking for something different to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Rush by Eve Sil

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Rush by Eve Silver
    Book One of The Game series
    Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
    Publication Date: June 11, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    So what’s the game now? This, or the life I used to know?

    When Miki Jones is pulled from her life, pulled through time and space into some kind of game—her carefully controlled life spirals into chaos. In the game, she and a team of other teens are sent on missions to eliminate the Drau, terrifying and beautiful alien creatures. There are no practice runs, no training, and no way out. Miki has only the guidance of secretive but maddeningly attractive team leader Jackson Tate, who says the game isn't really a game, that what Miki and her new teammates do now determines their survival, and the survival of every other person on this planet. She laughs. He doesn't. And then the game takes a deadly and terrifying turn.


    What I Liked:

    OH MY GOSH I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH! This one is definitely going on my list of favorites at the end of the year. Yes, I didn't rate it five stars, and I have good reasons why I docked that one star, but seriously, people. I was so impressed when I finished this book. I've never read anything by Eve Silver, and I'm glad that this was the first one of her books that I read. 

    Miki is an incredible character. At first, I wasn't sure if I liked her or not. She's extremely tough, smart-mouthed, inquisitive, and really, in short, strong. I guess I wasn't expecting such a strong protagonist, but Miki definitely packed one heck of a punch (both in the story and as a character). 

    Miki is pulled when she jumps in front of a truck to save a little girl, and instead, gets killed. Sort of. She wakes up to find herself in the Lobby, waiting to attack alien creatures. Her "team" includes Jackson, Richelle, Tyrone, and Luka (Luka, she already knew from her school). 

    I thought the premise of this story sounded awesome - and it really was! I'm kicking myself for having an early review copy of this books for MONTHS and not reading it sooner, because I was completely sucked in to the story. This sort of reminded me of Epic by Conor Kostick, but in an obscure way. Being pulled into this different setting is sort of like being in a video game.

    There is a ton of action in this book, and it almost seems non-stop. Being pulled means that you are taken into the "video game" world, and if you survive, you are dropped back into your real life, at the exact second you left. So, while a good amount of the book was spent in the "video game" world, not a lot of time passed in the real world. I loved the anticipation of fighting the creatures (called Dra) - I think Ms. Silver does an excellent job building up the tension and the nerves before Miki and the team fight the Drau.

    This book is full of twists and turns! I thought it was going to go one way, and then it goes another way. I could not believe what Ms. Silver threw at us, with the bodies (not telling!). And then to find out Jackson's secret... I was shocked and intrigued! Ms. Silver definitely keeps readers guessing, but throughout the book, she tells us enough so that we won't be completely confused as we read.

    Speaking of Jackson... oh man. He's the leader of the team, and he is full of mysteries. He never takes off his sunglasses, he doesn't like answering questions, and he seems to be extremely good at what he does... why? We find out as we go. He's definitely my favorite character of the book. He isn't a wimp, or a coward, or a big softy. He doesn't really have "moments". And when he tells Miki he's dangerous - he means it. This isn't like Edward telling Bella to stay away from him because he "might" hurt her (bullcrap) - I find Jackson's reasons more tragic.

    And of course, he's an amazing love interest. I love his continual banter with Miki throughout the book. One of my favorite scenes of the entire book (I have many favorite scenes of this book... like, the whole thing!) is the lunch scene. Jackson isn't a soft and squishy guy - he's definitely and iron and steel guy that you don't want to mess with. But somehow, he's so lovable! And swoonworthy! And officially one of my favorite male protagonists of all time! Check out my Swoon Thursday (#22) post if you don't believe me.

    That being said, I love the romance in this book. The plot is definitely NOT the romance, and the romance is second to the plot, though both are much more connected than readers believe (we find out this in the end of the book). There is a sort-of love triangle, but it's really not one at all. In any sense of the phrase. At least, I don't think it is.

    The book ends in a cliffhanger, and I need Push (book two) like, yesterday. I was emotionally distraught over this cliffhanger! So, not a favorable ending. But it's a good ending! Like, well-written, makes sense with the plot, understandable, mean... I need Push.


    What I Did Not Like:

    There were a few things that stuck out to me that I didn't really like, and that's why this book got 4 stars instead of five. For one, the massive cliffhanger that I absolutely abhorred and possibly cried over because I couldn't believe Ms. Silver would do such a thing. Cue the water works!

    Another is the amount of info dumping that happens. Readers (and Miki) get a ton of information in like, three spots in this book, all at once. When Miki firsts enters the Lobby, she gets a boatload of information then. Then she talks to Jackson when they were at the playground later in the story. And there are more spots that are smaller, but basically, the info dumping was kind of painful.

    And there are some small things that were never really answered in this book (maybe in the next books?). Like, I don't really understand why the Drau are stuck in the "video game" world. And why does dying selflessly pull someone into the "video game" world? There are other questions I had, but I'm hoping that they aren't important details, or that they will be answered in the next two books.


    Would I Recommend It:

    Yesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyesyes. 

    Yes.

    Go get a copy now! Buy it, borrow it, whatever, just get it! You don't have to be a video game lover (I'm not!) or a science fiction lover to read and love this book!


    Rating:

    4 stars. I must have re-read this book about 4 times already. It's that good, people!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Awesome

    Totally a cliff hanger! Plus the whole fighting aliens thing was awesome.......... btw the second book is called push

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    This book is awesome. I was sucked in from the get go. I did not

    This book is awesome. I was sucked in from the get go. I did not want to put it down.
     I read it in a day and a half. Now I want MORE! The plot is very good and unique.
    The story line keeps you interested until the end of the book.
    That was the only let down, the end of the book. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.
    Eve Silver has a winner with this series. I highly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Rush was an amazing book¿one of the best I've ever read, and I'v

    Rush was an amazing book–one of the best I've ever read, and I've read a looooot of books. I'm not going to lie, the whole fighting aliens thing has been used many times, but Eve Silver used the concept in a way that was so totally awesome and original, I couldn't help but fall in love. Speaking of love, this book even has it’s own romance: Jackson and Miki. The two of them are absolutely perfect, both individually and together. Once again, I fell in love with a fictional character. 

    This book was thrilling and had me so totally hooked, I finished it in less than 2 hours. This book was absolutely perfect, and I definitely recommend it to anyone that’s a fan of anything post-apocalyptic or anything that features a strong female lead. Rush is a must-read, and once you get your hands on this book you won’t regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    Rush: The Game by Eve Silver Teen series with alternate reality

    Rush: The Game by Eve Silver

    Teen series with alternate reality that is deadly. Great premise and action. Miki Jones is impressive with her attitude yet has issues that you easily forgive.

    Miki is pulled into the game, forced to protect herself, kill, and return to her unchanged home environment without discussing it with anyone. How is it possible to keep secrets so huge that have such an impact in your life? I don't think I could do that and totally understand why she needs to connect with the other players. 

    This book does deal with death and loss so is not for the younger readers of the genre.

    It was a really good read. Intense, but frustrating for Miki.

    Minor spoiler: I hate cliffhangers and unanswered questions. If I had known ahead of time I would have waited to read until the entire series is available. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    I¿ll admit, the original reason I picked up Rush was because of

    I’ll admit, the original reason I picked up Rush was because of the cover, it is absolutely beautiful. Then I read the back and I was totally intrigued. Once I started to read it I wasn’t so sure about it, since I’m not usually that into alien stuff, but I absolutely LOVED it. Eve Silver put such a new spin on the alien plot. It was suspenseful, exciting, nerve wrecking and overall absolutely amazing. This book is good for anyone who likes a fast paced, adventure and romance filled story. I rated it five stars and highly suggest it. I am so excited to read the next book in The Game Series, Push.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    I have owned this book for a while now and finally read it last

    I have owned this book for a while now and finally read it last week. I've wanted to read it for ages, but never have. So, I read it. And it ROCKED! I thought it was going to be some dystopian/sci-fi game like the movie Spy Kids 3. I was not expecting the characters to be pulled through time and space to fight aliens! The book starts off with a bang, with the first major plot point only a few pages into the book.




    The main character is Miki Jones. Only a few pages in, Miki is hit by a truck and is transported into 'The Game'. Miki starts out a bit overconfident, but she quickly realizes just how life and death the 'Game' truly is. Miki soon goes from overconfidence to fear and confusion. She doesn't understand what exactly the game is, only that it puts her and her friends in danger. Miki also meets Jackson. He's the leader of their 'team' in the game, though he's constantly insisting that they aren't a team. From the first page he's on, the reader knows that Jackson has secrets. For one thing, he's always wearing sunglasses. Jackson is truly swoon worthy. He's mysterious and hot and cold with Miki. His character arc is one that is truly interesting and heartbreaking at times.




    The plot was incredibly fast. It started on page one and didn't end until the last line. The climax happened closer to the end than I would have liked, but it made for an incredible cliffhanger. The romance truly does build in this book. It's not some sort of insta-love. There is major tension between the characters and I love their banter. I truly felt like I was in the story. It took me a little while to read the book, but it was definitely worth it. The sequel, Push, comes out this summer and I can't wait for it! If you have the chance, definitely pick up this book. It's different and definitely original. 4.5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I LOVE this book!!! It has twists and turns and an ending that b

    I LOVE this book!!! It has twists and turns and an ending that blew me away!! Can't wait for Push!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    i looooved this book i cried my eyes out at the end i loved all

    i looooved this book i cried my eyes out at the end i loved all the characters and there was tremendous character development the romance was unique but spot on the action was so cool and i related so much to the main character cant wait for push!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    This book was amazing from the beginning to end, the carecters,

    This book was amazing from the beginning to end, the carecters, plot and cliff hangers are just amazing. I would recommend this book to everyone it is so great, the writing is perfect, I can't wait until the next book comes out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    3.5/5 stars Gaming: Is it innocent fun or possible death? Miki

    3.5/5 stars

    Gaming: Is it innocent fun or possible death?
    Miki is one of many teenagers snatched unwillingly and drafted unknowingly into a war against the Drau. With one look into their eyes, these extraterritorial beings kill...draining all life out of the body. Rush is packed with action, adventure, and romance. Even though I'm not big on love triangles, Eve Silver does an excellent job in portraying Miki's conflicted emotions. It's believable and not full of angst. The ending cliffhanger messed me up. I cannot wait until book 2 comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Uvgffrtf

    Gygstt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had so much fun reading this book. It was very different yet i

    I had so much fun reading this book. It was very different yet it captured me till the very last page.

    Plot: What would you do, if all of the sudden you popped into another world, where are game is played. A game where your life is a stake? I admit the first few chapters were very fast paced and with loads of questions popping in my mind.Who? What? Why? Where? Be patient, I told myself! I kept on reading and swiftly fell into the story. All the pieces come together little by little, keeping the reader fully entertained till the end.

    Love/Friendship: This part is particularly interesting because of the circumstances. You see, you have to ask the right questions. Wrong questions might get you killed. And seeing these characters tip toe around what to say or rather how to say it, left me very anxious. Every single friendship formed was on hinge of keeping each other close yet far away. You played to earn your keep. To stay alive. All I can say is, these friendship go further than what I thought.

    Big Picture: Once I settled into the story, the bigger picture came together and really I was stunned. At first I thought it had to do with government stuff but really goes way deeper than that. At the end all I thought was, “WOAH! ” It left me totally speechless and left me rattled. I turned the last page of the book thinking,” More.”

    An extraordinary tale that life played as game is more dangerous than you think, Rush presents a vivid tale that is engrossing. Detailed with fantastic world building, Rush is smart, engaging read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    I have never written a review for a book ever. I've come very cl

    I have never written a review for a book ever. I've come very close but have always decided against it.  This book on the other hand was absolutely captivating.  I loved every second of it.  Waiting for Push is going to feel like forever.  I highly recommended this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    FANTASTIC BOOK!

    I loved loved loved this book! Can't wait for book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2