BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rush

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Great

    This is book 3 in the Phoenix Rising series and it is even better than the previous books. And this is quite an achievement because the first 2 books were fantastic. Here the team rescues the misterious prisoner Q and they confirm he is their friend Quaid, who they were told had died after the warehouse fire. The book offers new insights into the Phoenix research program, introduces new characters and is action packed. The romance between Quaid and Jessica is more like a rediscovery and pulls you in emotionally from page 1. Terrific writing, great character development, page-turning suspense, and hot, passionate romance. Cannot get any better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Savannah

    Hey?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Noah

    Its not you its survival

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Rush is the 3rd book in Joan Swan┬┐s Phoenix Rising series. I ha

    Rush is the 3rd book in Joan Swan’s Phoenix Rising series. I have read every book, and each one was a wonderful read, and yet Swan manages to make the newest one better then the last. I loved Rush.

    Rush was a roller coaster of a ride from start to finish. Swan manages to pull all kinds of emotions from us throughout the book. What I find amazing in this series is that each main couple that are featured in each of the books are totally awesome. Swan creates such great characters, you find yourself loving them all. Our heroes in Rush, Jessica and Quaid are no different. Another thing I absolutely love about this series is that all the main & secondary characters play major parts in the books, as they have become part of our family. We get to see the entire team throughout in this magnificent adventure, and they are wonderful together.

    The story picks up after Blaze, as we meet our heroine Jessica Fury. We learn early on, that 5 years have passed since the explosion that gave our heroes their unique paranormal powers. Jessica is now working as a lobbyist in the political field, privately trying to find a way to destroy one of the men behind the government conspiracy that have tried to hurt her friends, including secret experiments being done. Jessica was married to Quaid before the explosion killed him. Having lost the love of her life, Jessica succumbed to drugs and encounters with other men to drown in her grief. She managed to bring herself back, but she still has anxiety attacks.

    The scenes when they go back 5 years showing the love between Quaid and Jessica, and the rest of the members of that firehouse team were awesome, as they were a fun close knit family. You can feel the love between them.
    Then Teague and Keira come to visit Jessica to explain about Cash (who was rescued in Blaze) and his friend (still captive). They carefully try to tell a fragile Jessica that they think the man called Q, is in fact Quaid still alive and held captive all these years. What follows is an exciting action filled adventure with the entire team helping to rescue Q.

    But rescuing Q is only the beginning. Is he Quiad? He has no memory of his past, having been tortured, brainwashed & made into a mercenary for the government conspiracy that the team has been fighting from the start. It is the scenes between Q and Jessica; the love they had for each other before; the memories of the past; the friendships of the entire team; that totally tears you apart emotionally, as Q tries to remember who he is and who he was. What is real? This was a heart wrenching, tense, edge of your seat story, and I could not put this book down.

    Joan Swan has outdone herself, as I felt each emotional pull; whether it was sadness, laughter, nerve wracking tension, or the heat of their sexual chemistry. I love all the members of this team, and cannot get enough of them. Do I love Phoenix Rising series, you bet I do. If you have not read Joan Swan or this series, what are you waiting for? This is an awesome series, with everything, suspense, action, friendships, and very steamy sexual scenes. I suggest you start with the first book in this series, Fever, as you do not want to miss any of these wonderful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Associate Reviewer - Marta C:

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Associate Reviewer - Marta C:

    This is apparently the third book in the Phoenix Rising series although it is the first book that I have read by Ms. Swan. I feel that this is
    not a standalone book and readers would certainly benefit greatly if they read the two previous books (Fever and Blaze).

    This started out as a very detailed story about two firefighters(Jessica and Quaid), who are clearly very much in love. This is a very
    intense beginning to a story that had me believing the author intended to give an insight into the life of modern firefighters. I could not
    have been more mistaken, as the plot very quickly twisted and threw this reader into a confusing world full of tragedy, intrigue, and
    unexpected paranormal events. 

    Whilst I hesitate to give spoilers, it's fair to say that the two lead characters are tortured individuals who have been through fire, quite
    literally! An explosion of toxic and highly top secret canisters finds both them and their firefighting unit changed irreparably! Whilst they
    all exhibit some form of psychic abilities, its Quaid who suffers the most. Believed to be dead, he has been experimented on beyond
    belief, and is now far more than just the fun loving man that Jessica remembers. His lack of memories may seem problematic but his
    new lack of humanity could destroy them all.

    I am stunned by this book! It pulled me in with its heartbreaking beginning but also managed to entertain with witty dialogue and a very
    unique storyline. These guys may not be superheros but they definitely gave this reader a fantastic ride. Totally unlike anything I have
    read and quite simply a fabulous read. 

    I would have to say a very well deserved 5. This woman can write!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    OMG-----awesome

    I absolutely LOVE this series and they just keep getting better and better. Great story, love the characters. Can't wait to see what happens next. A must read!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I love and adore this series. And with each book, I love the her

    I love and adore this series. And with each book, I love the heroes of Swan's Phoenix Rising series. 

    In Rush, Q has been rescued by the other members of his firefighting team. The same team that were involved in a bio hazard explosion five years ago. The same team that now have special supernatural powers since said explosion. And the same team that are now fighting to save their lives as one maniac searches to destroy them. 

    The Phoenix Rising series is one that MUST be read in order, as the story builds on itself--and jumping ahead will only lead to mass confusion. 

    Q has been thought to be dead for the last five years. And Jessica Fury, his widow, is afraid to believe that Quaid is alive. She has spent the last year fighting a grief that had her turning to drugs and meaningless sex in order to forget the man she would always love. And the slightest hint of hope could send her back down inside the dark abyss of addiction. 

    But there is no denying that Q, the man they rescue, is her husband. 

    And there is also no denying the fact that Q is not the same man he was five years ago. He's been tortured, tested, and drugged for over five years in a secret black op experiment -- one that goes way beyond ethical, moral, and with a evil man in power hell bent in making sure Q is returned to line his pockets with dirty money. 

    Q cannot remember his past. He has no memory except for the torture and experiments that have been done to him. But the presence of Cash, the only man he knows he can somewhat trust, along with the other people claiming to love him, he realizes that his entire life has been taken away from him. And he will do anything to get it back. Especially the beautiful woman he has dreamed about while held captive. He is drawn to her, feels things that doesn't make sense, but pulled by something stronger than his will. 

    Jessica knows that Quaid has a long road ahead of him. He may be alive, but he has seen things, done things, that have changed him. But he is still the move she loves. And Jessica is afraid that the things she has done while grieving his loss could destroy their fragile connection. So she treads carefully, hoping that the secret she keeps will not come back to destroy their chance of a happy reunion. 

    Joan Swan writes a compelling, nail-biting thriller with appealing characters. The fact that the reader can re-visit Tag, Alyssa, Luke, Kiera, Mitch, Cash, and Kai is a huge plus. I love them all. With a special place reserved for the ever humorous and ever mysterious Mitch. I call dibs on him. 

    Rush gives more information about DARPA and what exactly the evil Schaeffer expected to gain with his deadly plans. But of course, there are cliffies and hints of other possible side stories developing in the wings. I wait anxiously for December and the release of Shatter, book four in the Phoenix Rising series. I'm hoping that Swan will not leave the mysterious Trent alone in Pakistan. 

    The Phoenix Rising series is a highly addictive read that grabs you and won't let go. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    So freaking awesome. Joan Swan's Phoenix Rising series is unlike

    So freaking awesome. Joan Swan's Phoenix Rising series is unlike anything I have read before. The third book in the series, Rush, is just as kickass as Fever and Blaze. All of the characters have such an amazing chemistry with one another. The dialogue is both hilarious and emotionally intense. The plot itself is intriguing and sucked me in since the first pages of Fever (Book 1). Each story in the series features different main characters, yet has the same "team" of characters and overall plot. I really don't think you can read these books on their own because there is so much stuff in each book and they build on each other.

    In Rush we finally experience the famous warehouse fire that started it all (it is only referred to in the other books). If you read Blaze, you know it left off with the team thinking they found Quaid, Jessica's husband, who they all thought died in the warehouse fire because that is what they were told by government officials. 

    The plot in the Phoenix Rising series gets thicker in Rush. More is at stake and the tension is stronger. The team of characters are still pushing along to find out more information on what is going with each of their abilities and why the government wants to keep a lid on all of it. Joan continues to intrigue me keep me on the edge of my seat. Things move quickly in the story and I found myself hanging on each word.

    Quaid and Jessica are two very tortured individuals. We don't learn a lot about them in the first two books but Joan does a great job of setting the stage for them in Rush. Jessica thought Quaid was dead for the past five years and her life spiraled out of control after that. Quaid has no memory of her or his teammates specifically because of all the drugs and experiments he has been subjected to for the past five years. He remembers Jessica only as the woman from his dreams. It was incredible watching the two of them try to reconnect and Quaid try to assimilate back into the real world away from the labs. They are both very different people now but still just as connected emotionally. My heart broke for Quaid and Jessica so many times but there is so much hope there as well, so it is all good and I am extremely pleased with the ending to Rush.

    I love how emotionally charged I get when I read Joan's books. The serious and intense scenes really pull at my heart and I love the fun dialogue she has between characters like Kai and Mitch to lighten up a scene. The team is so fantastic together and I cannot wait to read more of this series. I really don't feel as though my review gives Rush justice and wish I could offer a money back guarantee if you read it and don't like it! It is almost as if it am too twisted up over it (in a good way of course) to come up with a decent review. If you are looking for an incredibly unique, engaging and entertaining romantic suspense story you have got to try Rush and the other books in the Phoenix Rising series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Not only did Jessica and Quaid work together as firefighters, th

    Not only did Jessica and Quaid work together as firefighters, they were married and each other's soul mates. But after a horrifying fire and explosion 5 years ago, Quaid lost his life and Jessica lost the love of her life, the light in her life. The team Jessica worked with disbanded and everyone moved onto other things. Jessica now works for a private lobby firm, but she feels so empty inside even 5 years later without Quaid.




    There was always something suspicious about the last fire they all worked. There were chemicals involved that "...poisoned the entire team and left them all with bizarre paranormal abilities." It also gives them shadows...people who are always watching. When another explosion eerily similar to the one 5 years ago happens at a government facility called "The Castle", it sets up a series of events that will once again change Jessica's life forever.




    When members of her former team show up after rescuing one prisoner (Cash), claiming a prisoner called simply "Q" might be Quaid, Jessica refuses to believe it could be possible. She has been to hell and back since the explosion, and has no desire to get her hopes up only to visit there again. But stranger than usual things are happening and soon Jessica is on a rescue mission to rescue "Q" with the rest of her former team. Whether he's Quaid or not, there is something about the man they call "Q" that calls to someplace deep inside of her.




    "Q" has no recollection of his past or who he really is. He has been tortured, isolated, and used as a human experiment for the last 5 years. When he is rescued, he doesn't know who to trust...or what's real and what's not real. He has seen Jessica in his dreams, and often she has brought him comfort. Now that she's here in person, he will not let her go. While "Q" and the rest of the team discover secrets and who he really is, they must be very careful. Because someone else wants "Q" back...at any cost.




    As Jessica gets to know "Q", they also are in a race against time to out secrets and corrupt politicians, and save "Q" and Cash from a certain death.




    Rush is a fast paced thrilling adventure that shows you a world you can only hope doesn't really exist! At times I was anxious to keep reading, but at the same time wanting to close the book for a while, scared of what was to come! The romantic aspect of Rush takes a back seat to all the suspenseful action, but is an integral part of Rush. Jessica and "Q" discover who each other are in today's world, and have to put the past where it belongs. Will "Q" survive the chase to be with the one woman he's always dreamed of?




    Rush is very well written, and will captivate you from the start...having you wondering - what could possibly come next? I have not read the other books in this series so I did find keeping all the characters straight a little bit confusing at times, but I would still say you don't have to read the first two books to be entranced by Rush...I do think it would add to the rush though! I'm looking forward to seeing where Joan takes us next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    This story is about Jessica and Quaid, characters that up until

    This story is about Jessica and Quaid, characters that up until now, we've only heard about. That part, for me, did make it a little hard to connect with them at first. After several chapters though, I was just as drawn to their story as I would have been had they been around from book one. This is a very complex world the author has created, but she is doing an amazing job of sticking to it and revealing something new with each book. Still looking forward to where this series goes and very curious to how it will all unravel. I received an ARC from Netgalley for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    You know that feeling you get when you're on a roller coaster an

    You know that feeling you get when you're on a roller coaster and the first climb to the first drop... the slow clank, clank as you ascend and then the hesitation at the top... you hold your breath and try to prepare but it doesn't do any good... you drop and it stops your heart and your stomach seems to try to climb up your throat... and then after that, it's nonstop action... with twists and turns... fear and excitement...
    This is one of those stories...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1