Customer Reviews for

Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

104 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

So the two 1 star reviews are just really telling readers how mu

So the two 1 star reviews are just really telling readers how much they hate Rush Limbaugh they couldn't be bothered with reading the book...

Great book, really getting kids interested in and proud of their country's history!  More history books written to get kids int...
So the two 1 star reviews are just really telling readers how much they hate Rush Limbaugh they couldn't be bothered with reading the book...

Great book, really getting kids interested in and proud of their country's history!  More history books written to get kids interested and proud of how this nation was formed is exactly what we need.

posted by CMCK on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 247 people found this review helpful.

I teach history and Rush's version of this event is not what rea

I teach history and Rush's version of this event is not what really happened. It seems that it is an attempt to change history to fit his political beliefs. I am sure that people who agree with his point of view will love this for their children, but others need to be ...
I teach history and Rush's version of this event is not what really happened. It seems that it is an attempt to change history to fit his political beliefs. I am sure that people who agree with his point of view will love this for their children, but others need to be aware that this author's version of the story is pure poppycock.

posted by meee1 on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    With thanksgiving just a few weeks away.  I took the kids to Bar

    With thanksgiving just a few weeks away.  I took the kids to Barnes and Noble to pick out a book.  This is the book they chose. Now I have to say that I certainly no supporter of the GOP.  My kids love the book.  It took 3 nights to read it to them but they want us to start again tonight.  I going to send it in to school with them Monday so the teacher has it to read to the class starting next week.  

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    This book has done the job! Getting children interested in histo

    This book has done the job! Getting children interested in history and perhaps 
    they will pay closer attention to what going on in their country in the future. 
    We can only hope right?  Whatever party you hail from try to remember everyone
    Is given the right to choose even your children will one day make a choice.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Dear Rush Limbaugh,

    You're just another overly biased conservative. And you got a lot of facts wrong. STOP WITH ALL THE FREEDOM FRIES!

    11 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    I'm proud to be an American where even the blatantly ignorant ha

    I'm proud to be an American where even the blatantly ignorant have a right to inane opinions.
    Before I buy the book, however, I'd like to know from the kiddie-history buffs whether the book discusses the near mutiny on the Mayflower. Apparently, a number of the families aboard had indentured servants who also believed that THEY too would be free once the Mayflower landed. After all, the ship  was not going to land in Virginia but in the wilds of Massachusetts, Cape Cod, actually, so servants purchased on the 7-year plan believed the sale null and void once they reached shore.
    Not so fast, the Captain said. So they drew up a revolutionary document, The Mayflower Compact. It truly is a great document, except for the indentured servants who were told that anyone not signing the document would be punished under the new rules of the community.
    Also, what mention is made, say, of John Billington and his family? John needed a new lease on life and the Mayflower was just the ticket, so to speak. The 'saints' (Pilgrims) and 'strangers' (non-Pilgrims) were not pleased, especially the 'saints' (as Pilgrims called themselves). It is believed by some of the Eastern elite historians (some themselves descendants of Mayflower passengers) that John and his family were, for shame!, Catholics!  Perhaps it can be understood, then, why it was John Billington who became America's first criminal, convicted of murder and summarily executed on the Shores of the New World. 
    It's not kiddie-fare, really, look at kid's video games, but it caused a stir at the time. Other colonists were charged with murdering Native Americans, you know, they taught 'saints' and 'strangers' alike about planting corn and eating yams and chickens and other fowl (sorry, no turkey) that happened to keep 'saints' and 'strangers' alike from starving to death that first winter.
    I'm no historian, let me be clear, so I'm encouraged that Rush will finally tell us the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help him, God.
    And, too, at this same time, Bill O'Really can tell us about what really happened to Jesus! Thank God! Thank Bill! Thank Rush! Just in time for Christmas. 

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Absolutely love this book!!!

    Absolutely love this book!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Thank you Rush. And the truth goes marching on. The left is left

    Thank you Rush. And the truth goes marching on. The left is left and the truth is the truth.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    BWAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA....*gasp*...*gasp*...hahahahahahahahaha!

    BWAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA....*gasp*...*gasp*...hahahahahahahahaha!

    10 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Great book for introducing our country's history through a child

    Great book for introducing our country's history through a child's imagination
    and interest.  

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Outstanding! I purchased one for me. Then ordered 3 more, one

    Outstanding! I purchased one for me. Then ordered 3 more, one for each of my grandkids! O that there will be more!!!!!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    I just want to correct the statements of Anonymous, Oct. 30. I

    I just want to correct the statements of Anonymous, Oct. 30.


    I am the 11th generation daughter of John Alden and Priscilla Mullins and I am very proud of my family history. The Pilgrims, as they came to be called by writers, were indeed Puritains. Puritians were people who separated from the Church of England because of differences in the church doctrine. A group of these "separatists" because of persecution, had left England and settled in Holland. However, they were desirious of leaving Holland and living under the English flag. Therefore through the influence of a Puritian member of the Plymouth Company, they were secured land grants from tne London Company and thus became part of the 102 people that embarked on the "Mayflower" for the New World in September 1620. Unfortunately, the first winter at the new Plymouth colony proved disasterous as half of the 102 original group died. Obviously, my ancestors were part of the survivors. So, the facts are that some of the Pilgrims were Puritians. I have not read the book yet, but I will buy it and check it out for truth. Godden

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Fabulous and fun way to tell future generations the history of t

    Fabulous and fun way to tell future generations the history of this great nation. Nice to read a book that matches nicely with original sources...with the exception of the talking horse, haven't been able to confirm that he was really there!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Great Read

    I found this book very entertaining and can't wait to give it to my 13 year old grandson for Christmas.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    I would refuse to allow any child to read this. Being written by

    I would refuse to allow any child to read this.
    Being written by someone who can't report current events correctly, what would make anyone think he'd do anything different with history?
    Those who recommend reading this before making a judgement, should actually study history first.
    You will then see the discrepancies and realize how wrong this book is.

    5 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    awesome

    awesome

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    This book is excellent! I have a masters degree, hate to read, a

    This book is excellent! I have a masters degree, hate to read, and haven't read a book since probably grade school.


    I am more of the research type. This book held my interest and I finished in 2 days. I think there are may lessons to be learned from history and this one is great for teaching my 5th grader. Our government could learn a valuable lesson from this as well with the "county fair" motto. A society doesn't work without it. I plan to suggest this as a reading requirement for my sons 5th grade class. I also hope that there are other books to follow.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I love the way he uses different characters and comedy to tell t

    I love the way he uses different characters and comedy to tell the real story of Thanksgiving. I just gave my extra copy to my niece.
    I am looking forward to another Rush adventure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Excellent and Fun way to learn History

    I purchased this for my 10 year old grandchildren who loved it. Well I must admit I truly enjoyed it, too. Great way to teach children some great history lessons. Well done, Rush!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Wonderful book

    I bought this book for my 10 year old grand daughter. I always read the books I buy my grandchildren first. This was wonderfully done and exciting. Very historical. Loved it and can't wait for the next one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Thanks Rush for the wonderful book. My 7 year old son really lik

    Thanks Rush for the wonderful book. My 7 year old son really liked it and can't wait for the next book to come out!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    I purchased this book because I want my grandchildren to know th

    I purchased this book because I want my grandchildren to know the true history of the United States. The public school system has changed history to make sure children only learn the liberal side of what they deem important. Great storyline, interesting, and allows children and adults to visualize the actual words being read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12