Customer Reviews for

A Rush of Wings (Maker's Song Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You will love this book! A must read...The start to the best series I have read this year.

This book is completely different to anything you have ever read. Be prepared to get the rest of the books in the series because you will not be able to stop, sleep or talk about anything else!! The more you read the deeper you will sink into the so complex and layered ...
This book is completely different to anything you have ever read. Be prepared to get the rest of the books in the series because you will not be able to stop, sleep or talk about anything else!! The more you read the deeper you will sink into the so complex and layered world of Dante.

posted by JC_Rubio on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Just kinda uh. Skip unless it's free.

I know everyone is raving about this book and how intense it is, etc. I have to say, it was one of the most boring and underdeveloped books I've ever read. The main character, Dante, is the exact opposite of endearing. I spent the whole time reading it wishing he'd just...
I know everyone is raving about this book and how intense it is, etc. I have to say, it was one of the most boring and underdeveloped books I've ever read. The main character, Dante, is the exact opposite of endearing. I spent the whole time reading it wishing he'd just figure it out already. In any other book, Dante's character would have been a villain. His bad parts were overplayed and his good parts were barely touched on. We got no understanding of why the plots were happening until the end of the book, and by then, I just didn't really care anymore. I wanted it over with.
The book throws random characters around like playing cards and we don't get to meet half of them.

I just didn't find enough intrigue in the unanswered questions to come back and read the rest of the series.

The only reason I gave this 2 stars instead of 1 is that the female lead, Heather Wallace, was an interesting character.

posted by 3012867 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    Just kinda uh. Skip unless it's free.

    I know everyone is raving about this book and how intense it is, etc. I have to say, it was one of the most boring and underdeveloped books I've ever read. The main character, Dante, is the exact opposite of endearing. I spent the whole time reading it wishing he'd just figure it out already. In any other book, Dante's character would have been a villain. His bad parts were overplayed and his good parts were barely touched on. We got no understanding of why the plots were happening until the end of the book, and by then, I just didn't really care anymore. I wanted it over with.
    The book throws random characters around like playing cards and we don't get to meet half of them.

    I just didn't find enough intrigue in the unanswered questions to come back and read the rest of the series.

    The only reason I gave this 2 stars instead of 1 is that the female lead, Heather Wallace, was an interesting character.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Beware....

    The+plot+was+hard+to+follow%2C+the+characters+lacked+substance+and+were+flat%2C+and+I+am+disapointed+I+wasted+my+money.+%0A

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You will love this book! A must read...The start to the best series I have read this year.

    This book is completely different to anything you have ever read. Be prepared to get the rest of the books in the series because you will not be able to stop, sleep or talk about anything else!! The more you read the deeper you will sink into the so complex and layered world of Dante.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    A MUST READ!!

    This book was truely wonderful.. I love all the characters in it. It is a must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Most confusing, boring book I have ever read, I can not figure o

    Most confusing, boring book I have ever read, I can not figure out who is who and what is even going on, I have been forceing myself to finish this book since the beginning and I am only half way through, I will not be continuing this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad

    Well, I finished it in one day, so that must say something about how much I enjoyed the book.

    While I thought some things were a bit over explained, like smells and the switching of POV's where a bit much. It wasn't horrible. I will read the next book I'm just not in any hurry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Awesome series

    I love the entire series. Just wish it didnt take so long for the next in the series to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Amazing book!

    I really enjoyed this book. Couldn't put it down for anything. It's actually one of my favorites. Dante is just the kind of a character I adore: incredibly hot and tortured. And I didn't find the writing confusing at all, but rather original and different from the usual. I would recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend this book.

    I really liked this book, and will continue to read the series. Anyone whi liks paranormal romance, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent Story

    The main characters are well developed. The plot is interesting. I was not totally in love with the book, but I would recommend it. I will probably read the next one. The first book in her other series was way better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Iy is horrible

    It was horrible please do not waist your money on this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Paranormal thrill ride!

    When I first read the synopsis, truthfully I felt rather iffy on it. Vampires and FBI agents? I really didn't know what to expect. I'm certainly glad I stuck with it and read it! It was fantabulous. Talk about a full throttle ride of adrenaline. From the very get go I was immediately drawn in, when another body has been added to the victim list of the CCK. The killer's patterns have changed, his MO different, but that doesn't throw Special Agent Heather Wallace off. She's certain that the CCK is still at large and has a gut feeling that it's some how connected with Club Hell right next door.
    Dante, the lead singer for Inferno, and rumored owner of Club Hell is as smoldering hot as his name implies. Gorgeous, pale, talented, and oh ya. He's a vampire. I was at first conflicted with Dante's character. Pigheaded, stubborn, and does the complete opposite of what you tell him to. He's infuriating but his good looks and large heart certainly make up for it. Dante does the whole goth/emo sex god thing, and he rocks it. Frankly I usually hate guyliner. For some reason with Dante, I don't mind. :P While Dante is totally infuriating, he is the most loyal and protective person. He fiercely protects his friends and those close to his heart. His screw the world attitude doesn't hide his compassion however. He never thinks of himself, only his friends. It's a trait that I greatly admire.

    I liked how the POV's changed and the reader got a glimpse of everyone's thoughts. It was a nice touch to get inside the CCK's head and other "darker" characters. I loved how the story really focused on following the CCK and didn't turn into a total "goo-goo eyed" Dante is so hawt plotline. Adrian stayed true to the story and I really appreciate that. It had the potential to go off with too many sex scenes and could have lost the story, but it DIDN'T! It was the perfect balance. I absolutely loved the story, and I thought the romance was just right. Though at times I was craving more!

    When I finished I think my reaction was something similar: "OMG! THAT'S IT?! I WANT THE SECOND ONE!" Though at first I was a tad disappointed with the ending, looking back I realize it was for the best. Heather truly cares for Dante, but she realizes she needs to step back and look at her life rationally. So many things have changed for her, that throwing herself into a relationship that she doesn't fully understand the implications of, isn't the wisest choice. I respect Heather for her decision and I eagerly await the sequel! I just need to get my claws on it!!! Absolutely wonderful read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    very intense loved Dante

    Dante is very charismatic. Every one who sees him is drawn to him including the lovely Agent Heather Wallace. What starts out as just a little Q&A with the owner of the club at which the most recent murder occurred unravels a whole different world she didn't even knew existed.

    Heather has always lived in a black and white, good vs. evil, right vs. wrong world but that world is about to be turned upside down and she is will have to adjust her way of thinking just for him. She is willing to risk it all to keep a promise to him that is starting to be an impossible task.

    I wanted to read this series for a while now but I have so many books in my TBR pile I just couldn't get to it. Then I found my self going through book store withdrawals and needed to go buy a book. Since this has been on the top of my want to buy list I ran out and got it. Once I started I was hooked. Dante is the bad boy tortured past, strong, handsome.what's not to love.lol. I enjoyed Heather also she is a head strong women with a hard past also . She has something to prove to her self or just to the world and is determined to take anything on to achieve her goals. I felt all the characters where very strong and the story flowed very well and it kept me hooked the entire time. If you have not picked up this book I totally recommend it.


    on a side note since we had been very busy here i waited till today to post this review but i finished the book last week, so now i am reading the second book In The Blood .. let me just say OMG these books just catch you and draw you in were you are just itching to read the next page to see whats gonna happen.. I am pretty sure is was Chas who recommended these books to me .. if soo thank you very much I'm loving them..:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Amazing!

    A RUSH OF WINGS is dark and edgy like a chocolate-coated razor blade. Adrian Phoenix is pretty ambitious with her supernaturals, but she avoids the hokey feeling other authors stumble into. The characters reveal themselves gradually, and even if Heather (the main character) instantly experiences a huge attraction to Dante (the other MC), I had the pleasure of deciding to like him just as much while working through the chapters. The action is fast and dirty, the mood often dark and painful. Blood soaks a lot of these pages, and the intimate scenes are hot and earthy. It's a great combination. I'm looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Originality at its best...lol

    Adrian Phoenix has created an incredible fantasy world with Heather and Dante in her new series. She has intertwined reality (Heather's job with the FBI) with that of the supernatural (Dante and his hodgepodge of a family). In the first book of the new series she introduces a range of characters that make you want to follow their every step and see what they do next. You cant help but fall in love with Dante, and hope that Heather can save him. The next book in the series will only leave you wanting more.

    Enjoy...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Heavenly Vampires

    A Rush of Wings is a wild and bloody tale. I haven't read anything quite so detailed in terms of murder scenes. The plot and story line are very good, riveting with originality. I love how she blended the biblical story of the fallen angels into classic vampire fiction. The characters are very interesting and quite realistic. Dante is a much harder/darker Lestat. The description isn't so bad that it drives you nuts trying to get through it, but it isn't go great that you fly through it either. The tone and atmoshpere are very dark. Grusome descrition on some parts. Not much romance, though there is sexual content to the max and relationship does bloom between Dante and Heather. Good for anyone looking for a thriller fused with fantasy not so good for the rainy days. But overall a very interesting read. Kept me turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Rush of Wings

    Great Series but I reccommend starting from the first book in the series to enjoy the whole saga!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Cool Story

    I really this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more than willing to read more from this author

    did not want to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Rush of Wings

    At first look, it seems like another addition to the Vampire fantasy genre. This book adds some new twists, such as the presence of another paranormal species that you don't ususally see in Vampire books. It also has government programs and a serial killer. These additions make the plot more interesting than other Vampire books. I'll give the second book a try and see if the originality continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6