Customer Reviews for

Rusty Nail (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    Damn... This book caught my attention from the very first page,

    Damn... This book caught my attention from the very first page, and was so intense that I could not
    put this book down.
    Jack Daniels has her hands full....Her love life sucks, her partner is in the hospital facing surgery, her
    mother is in a coma, Harry's back to drive her crazy, and she is stuck with the cat from HELL.  To top
    it off, someone is out there killing people that helped Jack out with the Gingerbread Case.  Now this person(s) are after her.  I absolutely love this character and cant wait to get started on the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    another great Jack Daniels book.

    another great Jack Daniels book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Rustheart

    *nodds and follows pressed up against her*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Love his style!

    J.A. Konrath is such a talented, gruesomely funny author! Something new and refreshing to read....I am truly a new and very pleased fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I'm Hooked!

    I bought this book b/c it was on sale and I needed somthing to read. Never having heard of the Jack Daniels series, I had no idea what I was setting myself up for.

    I have several series that I HAVE to read and this has become one of them. I back tracked and read Whiskey Sour and Bloody Mary and I'm in the middle of Dirty Martini now. I certainly hope Konrath has another coming out in the next few weeks. It won't take me long to read the last two in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rusty Nail

    I loved it! Because I had read the 4th book first in the series, I kept trying to predict the ending to the 3rd book when I finally got to it. But that's my own fault, and I absolutely LOVE the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not just another cocktail

    Rusty Nail is my first foray into the world of Lt. Jack (short for Jaqueline) Daniels, a forty-something police detective who cares about her job. She recently nabbed the uber-sadistic Gingerbread Man serial killer, but some recent developments are giving Jack a sense of deja-vu. Someone is delivering horrific snuff videos to her door, complete with personal taunts and death threats. Others who had been involved in the Gingerbread investigation feature prominently in these sick flicks.

    What I liked:

    Jack. She's a good, honest cop and a strong woman. Sure, she has her problems, but who doesn't?

    The basic plot.

    The attempt at humor and levity, although some of it fell rather flat.

    The Chicago setting.

    Mr. Whiskers, Jack's adopted cat.

    The final battle.



    What I disliked:

    Some of the characters descended into the realm of caricature.

    The sickening details of torture, which were heavily overdone to the point of becoming gratuitous.

    Final rating: Just OK. Will have to check out another in the series before deciding one way or the other on this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Loved it!

    The prologue had me spooked and I couldn't pick it up for two days. Great humor, great suspense. Couldn't put it down. My first book by this author and can't wait to read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Fresh, Fun and Brilliant

    Just wanted to write and say thank you to Mr Konrath for entertaining me for the last few years. Jack Daniels is one of the freshest characters to hit print in a long time. Until Whiskey Sour, in order to get mystery in the same package as humor, you had to settle for Evanovich. Don't get me wrong -- I still love Evanovich when I'm in the mood for some brain candy, but it is a bit unfulfilling. Jack brings me the suspense and terror of Thomas Harris with the intelligent, twisted humor of the Farrelly Brothers. On top of it all, being an ex-Chicagoan, I get to visit home with Jack. Also in favor of the books, my wife, the lifelong South Side Chicagoan, actually got physically ill during one of the scenes in Rusty Nail. Now THAT is good entertainment. If you haven't already done it, do yourself a favor and buy all of Konrath's work. You won't be disappointed . . . unless, of course, you are a no-humor stiff. Even then, at least Konrath will have a bit more money to go towards entertaining me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    If I can figure it out, it's probably not a big mystery

    While I enjoyed the writing, the characters, and the wit, I had figured out who the mysterious murderer -who had police in two states and the FBI baffled- was a quarter of the way into the book. Trust me, I'm not that good, so it all had to be pretty obvious. Throughout most of the book I had that feeling that suspense-thriller movie watchers get before they yell DON'T GO IN THERE at the blundering fool on the screen. After everything started coming together in the plot, it all slowed down to the point where it felt like a slow-mo replay of what you already knew was going on. Overall, the book was good, but could have been faster, at least as to the last half, less obvious, and not quite so graphic as to gory detail. But it was still a pretty good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Flawed plot

    I started reading this author recently, starting with his first, and am now early into his third. I, as a devotee of mysteries, have read extensively and widely, books by many and varied authors. Mr. Konrath does write well and the chapters with his character Lt. Daniels, can be very humorous. But why, why, why do all of Mr. Konrath's killers target his character? Do all serials target the investigating detectives? Do any of them target the detectives? I can see it happening once, but three times? As a reader, I find this a flaw and it disrupts my concentration of the plot. The female (in this case) detective is constantly in jeopardy. She does break the sterotype by getting herself out of the jams, but it gets old, fast. This plot device takes precedence over procedure and detecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    RICH WITH LAUGHTER AND ROGUISH CHARACTERS

    If Whiskey Sour and Bloody Mary are on your favorites list, add one more - Rusty Nail. The third in Konrath's series featuring Chicago policewoman J. A. 'Jack' Daniels is another thriller laced with laughter and rich in roguish characters. No question that narrators Susie Breck and Dick Hill are on the favorites list of audio book listeners. They're among the best voice performers and they enliven Rusty Nail with perceptive readings delivered with gusto. As is her wont Jack is in a fix, which all began when she received a snuff video from that good ol' standby - anon. Said video and the ones that follow brings to mind the Gingerbread Man, a serial killer long caught and cuffed. However, when Jack begins to look into this guy's relatives she finds that the apple doesn't fall too far from the tree, If she thought he was sick, well. There's no one to help her track down these psychos as Herb, her partner, is laid up. So, off Jack goes on a chilling chase that leaves her almost all out of breath and listeners gasping. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    A great crime caper

    Chicago police lieutenant Jacqueline 'Jack' Daniels receives an anonymous snuff video that appears to be the classic work of serial killer the Gingerbread Man, Charles Kork. The only problem with holding the Gingerbread Man culpable is that he is already a guest of the state. Jack assumes it is copy cat with insider information. Since her partner Herb Benedict is hospitalized, she decides to go it alone looking closely at Kork¿s relatives and friends.------------------- However, though she finds perversion, insanity, criminality and worse as the norm, Jack fails to get any closer to identifying and catching the killer. Instead the unknown murderer seems to target those related to the beleaguered cop who leaves taunting clues like toes in the cookie jar for Jack insisting he is back. Jack knows she must stop this brilliant but psychopath copy cat killer before he toasts the deaths of her loved ones because he seems to be fixated on her.--------------------- The killer ironically is obvious to the reader early on while Jack remains clueless as the culprit outplays her at every turn in their cat and mouse encounter. As always with a Jack Daniels police procedural (see WHISKEY SOUR and BLOODY MARY) gore and humor are mixed together often in the same scene. Fans will laugh and groan as Jack battles against a diabolical lethal lunatic, who seems always one step, make that multiple steps, ahead of her.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Jack is back !!!

    Leaves you hanging on for more. Quite graphic and yet so funny. It's relatively easy to figure out who the killer is but you will be so wrapped up in the story,it won't matter.Very enjoyable. I can't wait for 'Dry Martini' and 'Fuzzy Navel'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2