Customer Reviews for

Rusty Nailed (Cocktail Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Wonderful!,

    When I began this book, I was nervous for the first thirty pages or so because it did not seem to be as good as Wallbanger. Just as I was feeling a bit sad and disappointed, the rythm and sass came back and I could not put the book down. Definitely all the attributes of the first and made me fall for the cast even more if that is possible. Excellent sequel. Love this author!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Great

    I was reluctant to read a sequel to the Wallbanger, concerned it would kill the great memory. But I could not have been more wrong. This is like a long epilogue where Caroline and Simon take their relationship to a new level, while still keeping the unconventional couple dynamics that made this story so unique. The dialogs are fresh and funny, and the story is entertaining from beginning to end. Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Loved Loved Loved it!!!

    Loved Loved Loved it!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    Bartender Rating: Top Shelf ┬┐Pure, naked joy.┬┐ < That would m

    Bartender Rating: Top Shelf “Pure, naked joy.” &lt; That would make a good band name!

    This and more reviews at The Book Bar.co

    Caroline and Simon are back and perfectly imperfect, just the way we left them. I love this couple and their hilarious real-to-life drama.

    I read Wallbanger Jan. 2013, and immediately fell in love with this author's writing style and her characters. I told Jen that we needed to move to San Fran. immediately because it sounded absolutely magical. Wallbanger and Rusty Nailed have a fantastic mix of smart humor, hot bedroom (and kitchen counter) scenarios, and food... ahhh the food. The food plays such an important role that Ms. Clayton actually gave away a Kitchen Aid mixer for her Rusty Nailed blitz!

    &quot;Need you, Simon - need you, please!&quot; I was ready to tear my hair off my head and throw it at him, if I thought that would get him inside any faster.
    Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author.

    What I love most about these books is that they could be a crazy phone conversation you are having with a best friend. You can feel the emotion and visualize the environment. You're there with Caroline as she's freaking out about her work load or walking into her first home that's in desperate need of a makeover. Details are not left out and everything is a beautifully painted scene.

    If I thought every candle in San Francisco was at the chapel, then every candle in the rest of the entire Bay Area was lit inside this ballroom. Add to that the golden chandeliers, the crystals dripping from every sconce, the mirrors reflecting and dancing back every flicker and twinkle, and the effect was not of this world.
    It was of the planet Money. Which was within the galaxy Ridiculous.
    Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author.

    Simon is not just a hot boy toy, he has great lines too (hip hip hooray for a smart, well thought out male character!). He and Caroline are truly two perfectly matched puzzle pieces. Simon has his own issues to work through as these two both embrace becoming 'grown-ups'.

    The way he looked at me. Like I was the prettiest girl in the room.
    &quot;Hey, babe.&quot;
    The man was a poet.
    &quot;Hey.&quot;
    I was too.
    Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author.

    Caroline's best girlfriends are just as supportive and outspoken as Caroline, and together they can conquer any issues with take-out, game-night, or a full bar. And it's not always about Caroline. She has great advice for her friends when they need it most.

    Damn. Powwow in the toilet.
    &quot;I'll be back; don't let them cut the cake without me.&quot;
    &quot;Yes, I'll be sure to explain to the bride and groom, as well as all these good people here, that they have to wait on cake because of chitchat in the henhouse,&quot; Simon responded drily.
    Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author.

    In Rusty Nailed, Caroline's boss lady, Jillian, is hosting the wedding of the century and Jillian needs Caroline's help beyond the wedding. Caroline is overcome with taking on a huge, new project all on her own, as well as running the office. This is a wonderful example of how you get handed the baton; not everyone feels like they are ready, it just matters if they step up to take it.

    She was always calm under pressure, always the cucumber when everything else was jalapeños.
    Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author.

    The Alice Clayton Cocktail series is bound to be a big hit based on these two books alone and I would highly recommend them to my friends when they are looking for a fun, fast, hot read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    She did it again

    Love this author's writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Holy Awesomeness Batman!!!

    What a fantastic book! I love Caroline and Simon (mmmm, Simon) are together. It's the kind of funny, easy going relationship everyone wants to be in that can only be told by Alice Clayton. Can't wait to hear the rest of their story, and so glad that Clive finally got the lovin' he deserved :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    You know what to read now? No? Rusty Nailed, of course! If n

    You know what to read now? No?




    Rusty Nailed, of course! If not for our wallbanger, then do it for Clive. He really needs to for us to read his story... ahem... Simon and Caroline's story. 
    So... this is the second instalment  in Alice Clayton’s contemporary adult Cocktail romance series that began with Wallbanger. Girls... seriously, don't miss it, because it has everything you want to find - romance, witty banter, hotsot neighbor, ex-master of THE HAREM. This is the man who can make you drop your panties in a second with his hotness and charm. But most importantly, he's a man who wouldn't suffocate you, but also be with you in a heartbeat if you need him. Sounds like the perfect prince charming of our modern times, right?




    Well... he is... until he's not. But let me explain... Carolines working crazy long hours to keep the interior design company running, especially since she's also the lead designer for the renovation of a gorgeous old hotel on Sausalito. So with her hotshot photographer boyfriend photografing the world for his job, she and Simon are heavy-duty into 'absence makes the heart grow fonder' mode and for her this is the perfect relationship. This was an aspeect I could easily relate to, because God knows how some of my relationships has ended because of my priorities, so I had known from the first moment when Simon decides to be home more, that this was going to be a problem for them.




    But like always, Alice Clayton's writing makes you forget about the drama in the instant you reconnect with the group, because  Neil and Sophia, Ryan and Mimi, and  Jillian and Benjamin are here. And Clive. Of course there he is. Sincerely it's the first time when I go nuts everythime a cat is in the scene. Of course, it's not just any  cat... he is Clive... hilarious, badass, smart-meowing Clive- like always I ADORED him and laughed at the antics and dinamics of our group. But, how could I not?




    Because this time, one of the guys does something wrong in the eyes of our girls, and now we have another World War on our hands (and prepare yourself of battle girls, because they don't give up easily). More than that... like I anticipated, pur favorite couple finds themselves facing dificult times with Simon being more home than far away, and Caroline has to find a way to cope with this situation. If it was me in her place... I don't know if I would find my way in his arms again, and not thrown him to the curb, but then again that's Simon that we're talking about, so after all their history (and how sweet, caring and gorgeous Simon is) I did wanted her to chose him over everything and everyone... and she did. 




    I'm not going to lie... sometimes I hate dramas with all my heart, but this wasn't the case. My opinion on this matter is that if you combine the angst and fury, resentment with humor and do it well... then you have a golden mind on your hands, and Alice Clayton delivers that...




    Obviously, we don't have Simon's point of view, but for a man who had a harem at his disposal, he is the perfect boyfriend a girl could want, and  I didn't expect that. I thought that I would myself being disappointed about him, but I'm more than happy that it wasn't this case. More than that, Simon and  Caroline's chemistry is sizzling hot with witty banter and scenes that it makes you laugh and hot in the same time. And even though that I would've wanted more Simon and Caroline's time, after everything I'm more happy that she dedicated a good portion of this book to the other characters, because in the first book I wanted more about Neil and Sophia, Ryan and Mimi.




    Final  Decision- If you want a book about hot neighbors, or a book about sexy photographers, or about witty and crazy designers, or about crazy couples, or about wars between members of the opposite sex, or about a cat named Clive who wants to find true love. Or if you want just a really good book, then you're in the right place. Run, don't walk and buy it! Do it for Clive!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Alice Clayton has become one of my favorite authors, ever since

    Alice Clayton has become one of my favorite authors, ever since Wallbanger, well Rusty Nailed was an amazing surprise, I thought it couldn’t beet the first book, but this one got me on edge the whole book until I finished it. It is just that good.




    Simon and Caroline relationship is strong but has it’s struggles with Simon traveling all over the world. But this made them grow as individuals and couple. I love Alice’s humor and this book has it.




    What I loved the most is that we get to see more about other characters life and struggles.




    The story plot is excellent; the flow of it all is perfect. You just fall in love with all the characters and will be looking forward for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2015

    I enjoyed Rusty Nailed ( 2nd in the Cocktail Series ) just as mu

    I enjoyed Rusty Nailed ( 2nd in the Cocktail Series ) just as much as Wallbanger.   Following Caroline, Simon and Clive around
     SanFran was just a joy to read.   I love that the author gives me descriptions to die for in her books.   From the city to the cozy homes
    or the clothes, she makes it sound beautiful.   This had just as much humor, you laugh and cry with the characters. I can't wait to read
     the 3rd in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    Another fun read

    Loved the continuation of caroline and simon's story. Romantic, funny, sexy an overall great read. 237 pgs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    To the savior

    You sound like my mother just shut up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    The Person

    "Petty fools... Aroused by such disgusting things. Abuse and harm to a female is dispicable."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2014

    El

    "Hi there"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    Great

    Great book and sweet romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Cocktail #3: Rusty Nailed

    Rusty Nailed by Alice Clayton is the second book in her Cocktail Series. This is the continuing story of Caroline and Simon. To me it was like a behind the scenes all access to pass to what happens AFTER the happily ever after in romances, in this case, after Wallbanger.

    Things are still going strong between these two lovers. Caroline's boss Jillian is leaving her in charge while on her honeymoon and she is already anticipating being busy but throw in house-sitting in Sausalito and these two are busy at playing house. We slowly learn more about Simon's past and we get to see these two move from new to comfortable in their relationship and we also get a whole lot more of Clive, bless his little cat soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    5 stars = I freaking LOVED this book In Rusty Nailed we get to

    5 stars = I freaking LOVED this book

    In Rusty Nailed we get to catch up Caroline, Simon and the gang. Because this is a sequel and we’ve already been through a lot with Caroline and Simon through the relationship they developed in Wallbanger, this book is a lot like catching up with and hanging out with old friends. And because they’re fabulous old friends, it makes it hard for me to write a review. 

    Seriously, I love this book and it is an excellent sequel to Wallbanger but it’s difficult to articulate just how much I enjoyed the book while refraining from specific details because so much occurs that I would hate to ruin the reading experience for potential readers. And regurgitating the blurb is a waste of time as you’ve likely read it already – I mean, why would you bother reading my review if you hadn’t read the blurb? So, I’ll go with my rollercoaster ride of emotions I experienced while reading. I laughed (A LOT and LOUDLY), I teared up, I cringed, I got frustrated, I just got that warm fuzzy feeling you get when you spend time with great friends, and I got turned on – seriously, Simon is HOT and he knows how to work his and Caroline’s body. 

    If you loved Wallbanger, you’ll love Rusty Nailed. Getting to spend more time with a great cast of characters while they navigate new stages in their relationships and new hurdles – both professionally and personally – what’s not to love? Ms. Clayton’s writing kept me engrossed from beginning to end and my only regret is that I’ve finished the book and now must wait for the next book in the Cocktail series. 

    I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. 
    Reviewed by Angela at Crystal's Many Reviewers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    highly recommended

    really enjoyed. cant wait for the next installment of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    neighbors who. you love to not hate

    This is one of the most hilarious new stories I love. Plus you have cat humor highly recomend anyone get this its funny for men and women alike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    So gooood

    Loved Wallbanger and this book. Author is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    i love love love this book!!! simon and caroline....im in love w

    i love love love this book!!! simon and caroline....im in love with them, oh and i cant forgt clive. i cant wait to read more about their story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3