Customer Reviews for

Ruthless Heart (Heart Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great buy!!!

    this was truely a great book , i loved it:) i wish it was longer i so hated to see it end... i read it in one day just couldnt put it down .. i foind myself laughing out loud through it at things they said to eachother and the love sences were perfect the kinda love every woman longs for.. i felt i was there im telling you a great read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not So Ruthless!

    Eliza is determined to save her younger sister from certain death at the hands of bounty hunter Grady Wolfe. When Grady is hired by Eliza's brother-in-law to track his runaway wife, Angeline, Eliza follows him to protect her. Grady can't believe she learned to track from reading books.

    This is a touching story about two sisters who are reunited. There are also some funny moments between Eliza and Grady because she is so academic and he doesn't always understand what she says. It's a wonderful read as Eliza and Grady soon discover that Grady isn't so ruthless after all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Debut! Ruthless Heart has lots of heart & soul

    Grady Wolfe is a dangerous, cynical and world weary bounty hunter/assassin for hire. He's lost all hope in humanity and himself and feels that he is doomed to the life of a ruthless killer so he embraces it with a callous and cold heart. At least that is until he meets the tempting, and sometimes frustrating, yet intriguing Eliza Hunter. Eliza is a subjugated soul yearning to break free from the restriction life that is dictated to her by her father and a religion that she no longer believes in. Tutored as a young woman by an elderly scholar, Eliza's inventive and curious mind is stifled in her environment, but that doesn't suppress her yearning inquisitiveness. However, until she joins Grady on his search for her runaway sister she's only learned though books, not life. Grady enlightens her in more ways than one, and makes her feel alive.like a woman with value and beauty. Their journey across the American West is full of adventure, danger, enlightenment (for both of them) and passion. Though Eliza keeps the reason for her trip hidden from Grady, an unlikely bond forms between the two as they get to know and trust one another. Both Eliza's and Grady's characterizations felt so real, and I think a lot of it has to do with the dialogue between the hero and the heroine. One of the things that struck me when reading the book was not only how different these characters were, but how they complimented each other in unexpected ways. Opposites attract stories don't always work for me because sometimes it's not always apparent why the characters end up together...what they see in the other that makes it all work. That's not the case with Ruthless Heart. It worked for me in a big way and it was such a pleasure to read this story. I loved that Eliza was the woman to show Grady how to love and be loved, especially considering how unlikely their pairing was at the beginning. He's redeemed through his love for Eliza, and through Grady's love Eliza becomes the woman she has hidden from the world all of her life. She's always had strength and determination, but through his love she finds the courage to become her true self. Eliza becomes the person she's always wanted to be because of Grady's love, and Grady becomes a man he never thought he could be because of her love. Ruthless Heart has both heart and soul. I highly recommend it and can't wait for Eliza's sister's story in Restless Heart due out early 2011. A great debut by author Emma Lang and one of my favorite historical romances this year! Ratings: Overall: 4.5 stars Sensuality level: 3.75 (hotter and more frequent love scenes than your average historical romance, but wouldn't quite classify it as an erotic romance)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Loved It!

    I throughly enjoyed her "new" work with her "new" pen name! I Loved the Historical aspect of the book and the next book is tooo long in coming! I wait with baited breath! This book is in my Library and will remain there...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    superb Americana romance

    In 1872 reticent intellect Eliza Hunter worries about her sister Angeline as her Papa has accepted a marriage offer from twice married Josiah who is also older than their dad. Being members of the Latter Day Saints, Angeline must obey her Papa though her heart belongs to Jonathan who is on his mission. Heartbroken Eliza knows crossing the powerful Josiah is dangerous, but vows to do something though she is unaware what she can do as within her community and family she is considered an outsider and her foe is a very important leader.

    Several months later a married Angeline runs away from her brutal spouse. Eliza knows she will do anything to insure Angeline is safe, but hired bounty hunter Grady Wolfe is a bit taken aback when she follows him in the Utah Territory wilderness while he searches for her sibling. Grady is unhappy that Eliza is on his trail, but for her safety takes her with him. He has no idea the meaning of what she says verbally and her obsession with her books that she drags across the territory, but somehow their nonverbal communication starting with kisses tells him what he needs to know. However, Grady has a secret that he must tell the woman he loves but fears how she will react; ironically she concealed her relationship to his target and now fears how he will react.

    This superb Americana romance stars two wonderful lead characters who are pariahs in their respective circles. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the intrepid bookworm totes her favorite books with her while trailing after Grady. Fast-paced but character driven, fans will relish the entertaining taming of the Wolfe historical romance.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1