Customer Reviews for

S is for Silence

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Rue

    Raced in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    THAT'S THE END?!?!

    The only difference between page 1 and page 384 is that the killer is identified. If that was the author's only intention then this should've been written as a short story(one paragraph long). The author spends a lot of time developing each character involved with the victim I guess to establish a motive/alibi for each person in this small town. And some of those details are really unnecessary and irrevelant to the story. The daughter of the victim hires a pi after 34 years and the only thing she discovers is who did it. There's no how, no motive, no real closure. This is book even has an epilogue that serves no purpose whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    SO-SO

    I'm a big fan of sue grafton's alphabet mysteries but this one was a letdown. I didn't like the 50's flashbacks and it was hard to follow. I hope t is better than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    A disappointment!

    After reading all of Sue Grafton's books, I found this one to be a disappointment, The constant going back to the past made the book hard to follow. The story just didn't flow well. I hope the rest of her books will be more exciting and back to the way she wrote the previous A - R series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    I used to anticipate Sue's novels but not anymore.

    I love Sue Grafton's novels but I'm beginning to lose that loving feeling. Where are all the characters that we like and what happened to the sassy and humorous Kinsey? S is for So-So as far as I'm concerned. Please, return to the tried and true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    S For Slow

    I have read all of Grafton's books and had to force myself to finish this one. Unlike many reviewers I didn't mind the fact there wasn't much about Kinsey's personal life in this book, I find her same old life gets boring book after book, so that didn't affect my opinion. This book seemed to drag and hard to keep track of who was who! I skipped over a good number of pages in the 'flashback to '53' chapters and it didn't have any affect on my following the story! As much as most of the story dragged on the part from finding the dog breeder to the end seemed like it could have used more detail. A lot of people's lives seemed to have been affected by Violet it would have been nice to know how they were effected if at all in the end. Just not one of my favorites by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Not as good as usual

    I have read all of the previous Grafton novels, and couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. Unfortunately, this book was sorely disappointing. As noted by a previous reviewer, the lack of references to previous characters takes away from the joy of reading a series. I had hoped that Kinsey would begin developing her relationship with Cheney, however outside of a couple phone calls, no interaction takes place. I had figured out the culprit early on, but never understood the motive, or events leading up to the murder. I felt like a couple of chapters had been left out of the book, that would have explained the thought processes of the murderer. I even went back to earlier chapters to see if I had missed something, but still didn't find anything. I hope the author will return to her previous story lines when 'T is for...' hits the shelves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    A very disappointing book!

    I am about 190 pages into this book and it is like pulling teeth to get me to pick this book up and read it. I've ready every single Grafton book and this one is just plain awful to me. Far too many details and so many characters I cannot keep up with them. I like this series because of Kinsey's personality. I've gotten very little of that so far. It is just her telling the story as it unfolds. Very little of the usual sarcastic observations from her in this book. I am so very disappointed. Sue, this book is painful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    Not a Bestseller in My Eyes

    Found S is for Silence to be disappointing and lacking any highly charged atmosphere to induce the reader to finish the book. Certainly did not contain the humor and appeal of her previous Kinsey Milhone's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    Marilyn-an avid detective suspense reader

    I have read all of Sue's books and this one I figured out before page 100. I completed the book thinking that I wasted a few days time reading it. I thought it was predictable myself, but maybe I should be writing suspense novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    what a letdown

    I just finished this book and I feel really letdown. Suddenly it ended, without any explanation about what happened and why. And I agree that Kinsey was really flat in this book. What happened to the humor?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    Where Is The Kinsey I Know and Love?

    I have been a huge Sue Grafton fan for years, but I was terribly disappointed in this book. The story is okay -- just okay -- but there is very little Kinsey in the book, and no Henry or Rosie at all. Part of the reason I enjoy this series so much is that Kinsey seems to keep growing and evolving with each book. In this book, when Kinsey does appear, there is none of her usual feistiness and vigor. This Kinsey is strangely flat and distant, not the Kinsey I have grown to know and love. This is not a Kinsey Millhone mystery, it is simply a generic mystery story with Kinsey hovering in the background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1