Customer Reviews for

S is for Silence

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    What the heck???

    S is for Silence was a real page turner and a far better read than R is for Richochet. Nice to know Sue Grafton hasn't lost her touch. Unfortunately, the ending left me thinking, 'huh?'. The guilty party made absolutely no sense at all --no compelling motive and certainly no motive for the ultimate brutality to Violet. What the heck was Grafton thinking and where was her editor??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Bit challengng

    Great as always....though a hard start moving from prsent to past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Can't wait for the rest of the alphabet.

    I Recommend this book, not just because of the author, but because of the writing style. It's good insite into the characters and the story, and it flows well. I have a police officer son who will on occasion look into cold case files. It's amazing what one finds by going back in history and files. By writing the book the way she did, Sue Grafton has made it easier to understand past and present. I read everything from the sublime to the rediculous and a book that I just finished, Christopher Moore's 'Lust Lizard of Meloncoly Bay,' is written in a very similar style. Good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    ending was terrible!

    This was my first Sue Grafton book, and I enjoyed it tremendously... until the end. I actually had to check the page numbers to make sure my copy wasn't missing pages at the end. There is no description given as to how Violet came across her killer, or why he did it. The needed closure was definitely not there. However, I will continue to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    Good entertaining reading.

    No more than I would expect from Sue Grafton. A good mystery with a familiar character in Kinsey Milhorne, what is different though, is the switch from the first person to the third person in the past. Grafton carries this off well and it doesn't detract. All in all a good entertaining book. A couple of other good ones With a strong woman main character which I Recommend: MARY MARY by JAMES PATTERSON and FUSION by BRUCE HUNTLY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    'S' if for surprising!

    I have read all of the Kinsey mysteries and have to say I enjoyed this one the most! I really appreciated Grafton's departure from her old formula and loved the new format of her writing. The flashbacks were an awesome way for the reader to learn much more about the case than simply seeing it through Kinsey's eyes. Usually I can solve the mystery before it is revealed in the novel, but this time Grafton had me fooled! I agree with the reviewer that missed Henry and Rosie, but overall, I feel that this is Grafton's best writing to date. I can't wait for 'T.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Something is Lacking

    I really enjoyed this book, however my daughter thought it was missing the last chapter. It should have explained what really happened to Violet, how,why and how much money did she have???? Such a gruesome murder, buried alive,was that really necessary? It seemed like the author's heart was not really in this story. It is worth reading, not as good as her last couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Not enough Kinsey!!

    This was a good book with a great story line but that's all it was. There was NO personal story about Kinsey.You only saw Henry ONCE. I hope the next book will include more of her life story.That's what so great about any series. I still read the book in a day but was just left wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    A Suspenseful Read

    If you like thrillers and mysteries check out this book. I was hooked from start to finish. The characters are believable, the plot intriguing and the writing well done. Great read. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2