BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

SCRABBLE

Average Rating 4
( 6220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3391)

4 Star

(1320)

3 Star

(462)

2 Star

(294)

1 Star

(753)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

369 out of 432 people found this review helpful.

Best app

So very addictive. Best app I have bought for my nook. Pass and Play allows you to play alone. Teacher mode is fantastic.

posted by sweetpixie on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

451 out of 518 people found this review helpful.

Fix the bugs for the Nook Tablet

Was working great. WAS. Now it just spins and spins. My wife tried everything to get it working again so she cold continue to beat me on every game we had going. About 25. She went online and read all the Faqs and forums and did everything they suggested. Updated to cur...
Was working great. WAS. Now it just spins and spins. My wife tried everything to get it working again so she cold continue to beat me on every game we had going. About 25. She went online and read all the Faqs and forums and did everything they suggested. Updated to current version. Archived then reinstalled. She does agree with quite a few others that they also tried everything suggested but still just get the never ending spinning. She did find that if a new game was started on this nook it would then bring up the list of ongoing games that should be already loaded if it ever got past the spinning. This is not how this game should be manipulated. Get the bugs out. For now we are going to Words with Friends.

I'd like to thank my wife for all the time and effort she has put into trying to get this scrabble working again on my nook tablet. And I want to thank her for writing this review.

posted by 11471443 on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1320 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 66
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    UNUSABLE

    First, why is this app rated 4? Because too many people review this app after using it for a few days before they see the unaddressed crashes and other problems. Most of those reviews say they love Scrabble and nothing about this particular app.

    Here's the deal: this app should not be in the catalog. B&N and EA should be ASHAMED of the bad product they've foisted on an unsuspecting public.

    The problem is that EA and B&N actually benefit from this situation -- thousands of people buy this game and don't use it because it's unusable. They get our money, but don't have to provide the server infrastructure for all those players. And, as long as the reviews are high, this ridiculous charade will continue.

    People have tried and have exactly zero effect on EA. My $3 purchase (most of which probably goes to B&N) doesn't lend my opinion much weight.

    B&N on the other hand can do something about it -- they can pull the app, and they should until the problems are fixed.

    No matter what happens, B&N should issue an immediate apology for letting this awful situation go on so long.

    Here's the list of problems:
    1. App crashes. often. Usually it crashes while doing network. But recently it started crashing while sitting on a game board.
    2. server often doesn't work. The biggest problem mentioned in the reviews is that the app spins and spins trying to get status of ongoing games.
    3. Every few weeks the server loses all or most of your games-in-progress. Highly annoying. The number of abandoned games is really high. It could be that people don't finish these games but I suspect that the server lost them.
    4. The flow of this app is really bad. Do anything you can to avoid going to main screen status update, which even under the best of circumstances is very slow, and at other times doesn't work at all (see #2 above). If opponent moves on the game you're viewing then you'll see the move, which is great. Why not notify me when other opponents move, so I can avoid the dreaded black hole of the main status screen?
    5. App logs me out randomly, and you won't notice until you want to message opponent with "great move!", which app doesn't let you do if you're playing as guest.
    5. Network connection rules are ridiculous. Why can't I play the computer when not connected? Well, I can but app will kick you out with network message randomly, and that game isn't always the same when you come back.

    As many others have said, I would give this app 5 stars if it wasn't unusable. B&N should hang its head in shame at the awful situation they've apparently done nothing about.

    52 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Love the game of scrabble but..........save your money and don't buy it!

    The game worked well for about a week! After a week i had nothing but problems. The game just keeps spinning and it says it is uploading, but it never does. You go and try to reset the game and it does not even tell you that the reset was done , you click okay and the same screen comes up so you don't eve know if the reset worked. You click on the app to play and the screen disappears. It log you off. This game is not worth bying. Save your money and buy words with friends at least you can play that game. A lot of issues with this game the developer needs to fix all these issues. Very disappointed!!!!!!!!! :-(

    37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Flower

    Great game me and my husband play pass and play. Its a great app.

    17 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No Longer Works

    The Scrabble app hasn't worked in months. Considering you're required to pay for it in order to use it on a Nook, when it's free in the android store, this is VERY DISAPPOINTING.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Nook Tablet constant updating.

    Not sure what happened recently, but this Scrabble game has been awesome up until a few days ago. My son has the Nook Color and the game has been working fine fo him. My Nook tablet has been in a constant state of updating. I had five games going with my son and it will no longer update. Please fix the issue. Thanks.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Great game, but very buggy.

    This is an amazing app when it works. The game OFTEN shuts itself down. My list of ongoing games hardly ever loads. The only way I can get to my other games is by starting a new game. We need patches. The sooner, the better. I'd have given this less stars for all the bugs, but I have been a Scrabble fan for many years and its great to have it on my Nook.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Was enjoying

    Now i am getting a message to upioad new version and then i am told i cannot upioad! I cannot play radom people and i was in the middle of severai games. You need to fix this. It is the second tome this has happened. I even deleted my app and bought a new one. No help. Same message.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Nice game

    Nice game but has its flaws. It does crash a bit but usually only after i start playing when angry birds crashes on me. Also what am i supposed to do when my online opponents just "disappear"? Forfeit? I don't think so! Still a nice job by EA.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Scrabble!

    Firstly, this game does have a solo game available against a computer, so do not believe the review below. However, the easy computer still kicks my butt, yet overall it is worth the buy. There is even a help button that teaches you how to play!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Fun

    Fun

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    EA Scrabble

    Great game, but too many problems keep occurring. As of now, I cannot play anything but the bot. I went to suggested website--nothing has fixed this problem. I have archived, then unarchived as well. EA, please correct all glitches--this game is worth saving!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Great game!

    I play all the time with my mom and dad and cousins. The only problem i had was that when i tried to play, the whole program shut down but it's still pretty fun after it was fixed. Over all, great game ang graphics.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Report this company to BBB

    Awful. Should report this company to the better business bureau. Any positive reviews are probably fakes padding this awful app's rating. PLAYING WORD INSTEAD! Cant get into this game to play it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    fun

    need a computer partner; one that plays fair and doesn't quit.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Hard to update!!!

    I have been trying everything to update scrabble. It was my favorite game until it said I couldnt play until I got it updated. I have a nook color. Any tips???

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Love the game but...

    Love playing Scrabble. Fun to compete againt others. But I haven't been able to play for a while. Iti s frozen because it needs an update but when I went to look forthe update it wasn't there. So frustrating

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Can't play/won't update

    App/game is great fun when it works well. Hope the update is fixed soon so it will load on the Nook Color. Updates for faster loading and better connecting with friends are definitely needed as these parts of the game have been problematic for a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Upgrade to Tablet HD

    I upgraded my nook color to Nook Tablet HD, but unfortunately scrabble is not compatible. I am so disappointed, I love this game.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Great

    My favorite game !! But why is it not available on HD?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Hh

    Um well it could be better if u got to pick a name u want.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1320 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 66