Customer Reviews for

SEAL Target Geronimo: The Inside Story of the Mission to Kill Osama bin Laden

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

WOW! What a war story.

Excellent! A really good narrative of the operation that did in Osama bin Laden. And more than that, it¿s a cogent summary of the trajectories of SEAL Team 6 and bin Laden toward their fatal convergence in Abbottabad the night of 1 May 2011. I think I finally underst...
Excellent! A really good narrative of the operation that did in Osama bin Laden. And more than that, it¿s a cogent summary of the trajectories of SEAL Team 6 and bin Laden toward their fatal convergence in Abbottabad the night of 1 May 2011. I think I finally understand what is going on in the Muddle East,
The tone of the narrative is conversational, like face-to-face over coffee. Easy reading. Fast paced. Minute-to-minute you¿re a fly on the wall of the planning cell, rehearsal, mounting out for the mission, in the assault helo and action at the objective. Fine grained enough for a military man doing his professional reading yet presented so well that we all can understand it.
The author explains how, in this kind of warfare, equally as important as winning each engagement is winning the battle of the narrative. With this book USA won this one both ways.

posted by lonesailor on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Its Crap

Not enough about the actual raid - onlt about 30 pages. Too much bin laden history.

posted by 8039706 on November 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    WOW! What a war story.

    Excellent! A really good narrative of the operation that did in Osama bin Laden. And more than that, it¿s a cogent summary of the trajectories of SEAL Team 6 and bin Laden toward their fatal convergence in Abbottabad the night of 1 May 2011. I think I finally understand what is going on in the Muddle East,
    The tone of the narrative is conversational, like face-to-face over coffee. Easy reading. Fast paced. Minute-to-minute you¿re a fly on the wall of the planning cell, rehearsal, mounting out for the mission, in the assault helo and action at the objective. Fine grained enough for a military man doing his professional reading yet presented so well that we all can understand it.
    The author explains how, in this kind of warfare, equally as important as winning each engagement is winning the battle of the narrative. With this book USA won this one both ways.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    Truly one of the most exciting books I've ever read. Great work by the author. God Bless our Military and God Bless Seal Team SIX!!!! Gotta love our Jedis

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Its Crap

    Not enough about the actual raid - onlt about 30 pages. Too much bin laden history.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    A great Historical Documentary

    Way more than just the raid to get Osama bin Laden. For a relatively short book it is an excellent history of middle east problems and how our great Navy SEALS have met many challanges. I highly recommend this book. You will be very proud of our military and it's dedicated men and women.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    I love this book

    I lovd this book becuase it is really discribtive about tje war and things so i really love this book.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Worth your time

    I felt this book was an excellent read. It provided significant insight into the events leading up to and the actual raid which killed Bin Laden. Definitely worth a reread as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am a Navy brat and wife and actually live in a house that face

    I am a Navy brat and wife and actually live in a house that faces Seal Beach in California, so this book hit home for me. I was so eager and enthralled to receive this book for review and am absolutely glad I did. We all know our government is never honest with us – from monetary to militia – they have their own agenda and we the people are to blindly follow and without question. I give much kudos to Chuck Pfarrer for having the courage to write about the Bin Laden mission and with so much detail. He has a natural flair for writing and easily takes military lingo and puts it into laymen terms for civilians (non-military folk) to understand. Lets face it, after 34 years, I still get baffled by all of the abbreviations.

    “The SEAL Teams were created with another mission in mind— direct action against the enemy.”

    Chuck takes readers through the entire Bin Laden raid and killing mission, what went wrong, what was altered, what information seems sketchy or missing, and meshes it with information from those people who were actually there on the ground (people from the community), as well as from tech sources (documents, Twitter, Facebook, etc.) and puts together a case that is far more convincing than what our own government would have us believe. While it is always important to be free thinkers and come to our conclusions, Pfarrer, enables us to better come to our own decision.

    *You can view the original review at City Book Review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great

    Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book!! The title should actually be changed to The Th

    Excellent Book!! The title should actually be changed to The Things You Thought You Knew The Truth About, But Were Wrong". This does cover in detail Operation Neptune Spear that ultimately killed Osama Bin Laden, in addition it covers other acts of terrorism from the past & the reality of who was really behind it. i.e.: the bombing of the Marine barracks in Beruit was really assembled/planned by the Iranians & the bomb was transported by the Syrians through the Bekka Valley, there are WMD's in Iraq & they have been used against our troops by Bin Laden's crew.

    This book details the training involved to become a Navy Seal & how only the very best of the best are invited to join Seal Team 6. There's no doubt about it that American's should rest easier at night knowing that there are teams such as the Seals out there, doing the really tough, not so glamorous, dirty work that really keeps this country safe! To all the unsung true heros out there - Thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Too Much "backstory"?

    Lots of background about the middle east and its history, which seemed to drag on a bit too long. Interesting information about SEAL training and Bin Laden's life history, though. Interesting read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    It's ok

    I'm usually skeptical about books that are published shortly after an event. I'm glad there's the preview option.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing but an exceptional, informative look at history. This b

    Nothing but an exceptional, informative look at history.

    This book was excellent and may have been the best nonfiction book I have ever read regarding the military.  The background of the SEALs and first-hand knowledge about their mental and physical truing was wonderful.  It gave you a feeling of how elite these warriors were and how important they are to the military.  I was extremely surprised to get the description of the struggles in the Middle East.  Most news outlets give you information, but compared to this book, it was nothing.  It talked of how the media only tells you what they want you to know, like the government, or whatever increases their numbers.  The history of the struggle in the Middle East from both perspectives significantly increased my understanding of the conflict.  It was an easy read and not confusing with all the military lingo of some other books while reading like a fiction thriller.  A wonderful insight into history and a wonderful read.  Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Fascinating

    Liked it a lot! Could have been a little less background on SEAL training. Get to the target sooner...

    JTV...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome booooooook

    Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Awesome book

    I really liked this book :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Excellent book about our SEAL teams

    I highly recommend reading this book if you are interested in the mission to kill Osama Bin Laden. Also includes the TRUTH about WMD's in Iraq and in the hands of Al Quida.

    Some reviewers complain there is not enough details about the raid. The author explains WHY. Some things must remain unsaid for OPSEC purposes. I think the author did a great job of telling us what we wanted to know without giving away non-essential details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Interesting read

    Gives a good brief history of Bin Laden and Navy SEAL. Discussion of SEAL training is interesting. Actual discussion of raid on Bin Laden's compound very brief. Book is not does not portray politicians in best light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    amazing!

    what a great book! i couldnt put it down! great background on the navy SEALS and all they have to go through...definately a must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Not enough about the actual raid

    This book was good and worth reading but contained too much history on Osama's life and the history of Al Qaeda vs. the actual raid itself. I was looking for more information on the raid and maybe even some interviews with the seals themselves (identities concealed of course). If you're looking for a book about the raid, there are maybe 30 pages dedicated to just that. If you're looking for a book that contains some history in terms of how Osama rose to power, then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5