Customer Reviews for

SEAL Team Six: Memoirs of an Elite Navy SEAL Sniper

Average Rating 4
( 567 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(265)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Amazing! This book brings honor to our SEALS!!!

This is an incredible story of Mr. Wasdin's life. Once you pick it up, it is difficult to lay it down. It reads well (and quickly) from cover to cover. It grabs you and does not let you go. I feel this book also brings honor to the SEALS. It corrects many misconceptions...
This is an incredible story of Mr. Wasdin's life. Once you pick it up, it is difficult to lay it down. It reads well (and quickly) from cover to cover. It grabs you and does not let you go. I feel this book also brings honor to the SEALS. It corrects many misconceptions that people have and really takes you inside of the type of individual it takes to become one of these elite. They aren't robots or gorillas. They are the most motivated, highly trained, cream of the cream. It makes me feel safer just knowing that we, as Americans, can depend on these guys to protect us (in addition to our other troops). But when the chips are down - they're your guys! I am not much of a military book reader, but this book was fabulous! The human interest side is amazing. The blocks that were placed in front of this person and the way he used them to advance in his life, it is a true inspiration. Makes me realize - I have nothing to complain about and everything to be grateful for! Enjoy!!!

posted by 8185247 on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fiction

All too often, an author will publish a book that "takes you imside the world of a *insert special operations unit here*." But other than one exception I know of, it's fiction. Because in spec opsl you don't evej JOKE about going public. If nothing else, it could risk t...
All too often, an author will publish a book that "takes you imside the world of a *insert special operations unit here*." But other than one exception I know of, it's fiction. Because in spec opsl you don't evej JOKE about going public. If nothing else, it could risk the lives of your yeam members. Secrecy is one of the few defenses such soldiers have. While this may be a great story, the author should make note somewhere that this was at least inspired by true evemts, not based upon them.

posted by 7269713 on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Amazing! This book brings honor to our SEALS!!!

    This is an incredible story of Mr. Wasdin's life. Once you pick it up, it is difficult to lay it down. It reads well (and quickly) from cover to cover. It grabs you and does not let you go. I feel this book also brings honor to the SEALS. It corrects many misconceptions that people have and really takes you inside of the type of individual it takes to become one of these elite. They aren't robots or gorillas. They are the most motivated, highly trained, cream of the cream. It makes me feel safer just knowing that we, as Americans, can depend on these guys to protect us (in addition to our other troops). But when the chips are down - they're your guys! I am not much of a military book reader, but this book was fabulous! The human interest side is amazing. The blocks that were placed in front of this person and the way he used them to advance in his life, it is a true inspiration. Makes me realize - I have nothing to complain about and everything to be grateful for! Enjoy!!!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Insight is unbelieable

    I watched an interview with Howard Wasdin as he was talking about his book, Seal Team Six, that is coming out on May 10th. I was stunned by the poise and effort that he put into writing this book. I plan on buying it as soon as it comes out, and I would also recommend viewing Howard's views on the attack of UBL and his insight of what to expect in the book.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENEDED The BEST of the BEST!

    Thanks to Howard, and the many others who stand proudly to fight for our freedom, we are free! Howard is family, and he is nothing less than the best! He is a most honorable man, and he has certainly been supportive to my family and myself! No matter where I am in this world, whether it is one day, weeks, or a year since I talked with him, I have no doubts if I call in need, he will be there in a moments time. Howard never changes. He remains the same person, inside and out! We are extremely proud of Howard, his representative of our family and community! He is the best of the best!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Fiction

    All too often, an author will publish a book that "takes you imside the world of a *insert special operations unit here*." But other than one exception I know of, it's fiction. Because in spec opsl you don't evej JOKE about going public. If nothing else, it could risk the lives of your yeam members. Secrecy is one of the few defenses such soldiers have. While this may be a great story, the author should make note somewhere that this was at least inspired by true evemts, not based upon them.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Do Not Buy!

    Terrible book. A few, maybe 70 pages, of SEAL Team stuff. The rest is all about this guys dislike of his step-father. It really is the worst Ebook I have ever purchased. This clown is making money on the success of SEAL Team Six getting Bin Laden. This book is a waste. The rules say I had to give it a star. This guy should have to give me the star back.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    inside americas battle group seal team six

    "seal team 6" is very hard to put down. this is the inside memoirs of one of americas top seal team snipers and for the first time I got an inside look at what it was like from training to the battlefield from the perspective of a sniper who has one of the toughest jobs and whoose life is in danger the most cause the enemy is looking out for for the sniper. I found this bestseller fasinating cause these are the people who are if it werent for them many battles would be not be won and many hostages would not be free great gift idea for a friend or family member

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Authentic?

    Sure would like to know if this is a novel or for real before i purchase it. Aren't these guys supposed to be silent about their work?

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Very dry

    Monotonous read, almost like reading not very well written news story. Didn't hold my attention well and I gave up on it after 160 pages. Not worth the price.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Exciting Book

    "SEAL Team Six: Memoirs of an Elite Navy Sniper" by Howard E. Wasdin and Stephen Templin is a memoir of Mr. Wasdin time as a Navy SEAL. This book just happens to come out after SEAL Team Six took out Bin-Laden. The book was not rushed to print because of the operation. I thought this was an important point to make.

    The book is a behind the scenes look at SEAL Team Six, a unit which specialized in counterterrorism, hostage rescue, and counterinsurgency. Howard Wasdin writes about the grueling selection process, Basic Underwater Demolition/SEAL (BUD/S) and sniper school.

    After going through the selection process, Mr. Wasdin faced combat operations in Desert Storm as a member of SEAL Team Two and got selected for SEAL Team Six. He was sent to Somalia on a mission to capture or kill Somalian warlord Mohamed Farrah Aidid.

    "SEAL Team Six: Memoirs of an Elite Navy Sniper" by Howard E. Wasdin and Stephen Templin is a well written memoir which walks the reader through Wasdin's childhood, Navy SEAL training, several missions and Mr. Wasdin settling down with his beloved wife and children.

    This is an exciting book, an easy and fast read. While the authors cover a lot of ground, the book kept my attention throughout.

    Especially poignant, for me, were the chapters about Somalia and the Battle of Mogadishu. I read a lot about that battle and Mr. Wasdin's point of view is raw, honest and different from anything I read before. I am familiar with most of the people he mentioned and reading about them, the tactics and the battle from a different, on the ground perspective were an amazing experience for me.

    I appreciated the chapters about the rough training and the reasons for it ("the more you sweat in training, the less you bleed in battle"), it is amazing the mental fortitude of these warriors which helps them go through, what seems to me, almost superhuman tasks.

    At the beginning I thought there were a lot of product placement in the book, which I found disappointing, however the more I read the more I realized that it is not product placement (even though it's hard to tell) but simply telling the reader about the equipment being used - the best of the best - and why.

    A bit disturbing were the chapters about Mr. Wasdin's childhood and the abuse he suffered by his step father. Mr. Wasdin credits that abuse with his ability to withstand pain and attention to detail, which I gathered he truly believes.

    I don't want anyone who read this book to think that if you beat the living hell out of your child he'll turn out to be a Navy SEAL or an elite warrior. Mr. Wasdin does make that point very clearly in the book, but I didn't feel he made it strongly enough or often enough.

    During my service I have met many people from the special forces including the most elite units and the one thing common to all of the was the simple fact that this is what they were born to do.
    You cannot learn or acquire the characteristics, capabilities and fortitude to become an elite warrior.
    You either have those or you don't.
    Period!
    You can hone your skills, find the hidden talents, sharpen them and practice to become better but you have to be born with them to begin with.

    At the end of the book there is a section about the "Special Operations Warrior Foundation" founded in 1980 as a college scholarship fund for children of special operations warriors who have been killed. Please take some time to visit them and make a donation if you can.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    5 Stars!

    Great read, great story. The Navy Seal training was intense but the combat was surreal at times especially in Mogadishu. I can only Thank Mr. Wasdin for his service to his country and am truly grateful for what he did. Again politic's didn't let the job get done but that doesn't diminish what the troops did in Mogadishu. To those doubting the credibility of Mr. Wasdin I suppose you also believe Bin Laden is alive too. This is a must read you will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    totally sucks!

    This book reads like a journal by a 10 year old. He may be a SEAL but has no honor. Even though he was beaten as a child, he continued the tradition by beating his boy. Did he not learn anything? He tortures an innocent cat and massacres a bunch of kangaroos and that makes him a man? I thought SEALs protect and defend, not bully and kill the innocent. I put the book down half way through it and went to a Tom Clancy novel. The measure of a true man is not to use his strenght against the weaker and those who have no voice. This guy may be a real SEAL but he is a disgrace as a human being. I have read quite a bit about SEALs and felt honored that these brave men put their lives on the line for me and country. This guy makes me sick. I propably will never finish the book. A first for me. Truly, a waste of money.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Disenchanted reader...

    I was a little disappointed. I expected to hear great stories about heroes and while there was some of that, it was mostly detailed descriptions of ammunition and weapons, sprinkled with some animal cruelty and immature machoism.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    AWFUL!!!

    While I have the utmost respect for our military heroes, this guy acts as if being a SEAL is equivalent to some kind of bad fraternity party. It now appears as though much of what is written in this so called book is fabricated. At least I can take solace in the fact that I won't have to buy toilet paper for a while as this book will suffice.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Wasdin Nails It !!!

    Howard Wasdin is one deadly chiropractor. What a great read, fast paced and full of great details and incredible stories. We follow Wasdin from BUD/S to SEAL team 2 and Desert Storm to the elite SEAL team 6 and his sniper training. When Wasdin goes to Mogadishu... so do you! You can almost feel the recoil of his Win Mag and later feel the agony as AK-47 bullets rip into his flesh! And then we learn about the hardest thing all true warriors must face at some point... walking away from the teams and the bonds that the men of elite operations units share with no one else. Then he is forced to decide what to do with the rest of his life. Security contractor, Police officer, nope after being free from the pain of gunshot wounds and fast-paced life of elite operations by a chiropractor he decided that he wanted heal others. It's no wonder every boy in America wants to be a special operator and Howard Wasdin's book may just be a special operations recruitment tool... if you can hang with the BIG BOYS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    Author sells out his Family and his team!

    This book should be listed as Fiction. The family has been misrepresented by Howard in the book ¿SEAL Team Six¿. Many of the childhood accounts written, have either been embellished or falsified. He was not abused by his stepfather. Not only was he not abused as he has claimed in the book, he failed to state why he has been ostracized by his fellow Team members. Mr. Wasdin was indeed a SEAL but has disgraced his family and his Team by this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Not as good as the ratings

    I was really looking forward to this book but found it disappointing. It seemed to jump around at times and I would have liked more details about the training. As far as the author, I found it somewhat disingenuous when he would almost take blame for not being able to do more and then other times when he would brag forever about how skilled he was. I'd rather he just adopted one way of telling the story (e.g. either bragging or humble but not back and forth). I was able to read the book to the end and it wasn't terrible but I wouldn't be inclined to read another book by this author.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Seal Team Sniper

    A very entertaining read on the life and experiences of an American hero. His accounts of the Seal team experience and Somalia deployment and Mogadishu battle are gripping with detail that puts you in the action. I highly recommend it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Odd

    Good read, but its odd how the memoirs of someone who helped kill Osama have come out so close to his death.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    I am Carla Carter.

    hello I know Dr. Howard Wasdin.I'm actually used to be 1 of his patients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Amazing

    Inspiring book we should all apreciate our soldiers...its very unfortunate through tht the man they talked about in this book killed himself at a shooting range with one of his buddies a year or 3 ago...hats off to him and all SEALS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29