Customer Reviews for

SEAL Team Six: Memoirs of an Elite Navy SEAL Sniper

Average Rating 4
( 567 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(265)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Amazing! This book brings honor to our SEALS!!!

This is an incredible story of Mr. Wasdin's life. Once you pick it up, it is difficult to lay it down. It reads well (and quickly) from cover to cover. It grabs you and does not let you go. I feel this book also brings honor to the SEALS. It corrects many misconceptions...
This is an incredible story of Mr. Wasdin's life. Once you pick it up, it is difficult to lay it down. It reads well (and quickly) from cover to cover. It grabs you and does not let you go. I feel this book also brings honor to the SEALS. It corrects many misconceptions that people have and really takes you inside of the type of individual it takes to become one of these elite. They aren't robots or gorillas. They are the most motivated, highly trained, cream of the cream. It makes me feel safer just knowing that we, as Americans, can depend on these guys to protect us (in addition to our other troops). But when the chips are down - they're your guys! I am not much of a military book reader, but this book was fabulous! The human interest side is amazing. The blocks that were placed in front of this person and the way he used them to advance in his life, it is a true inspiration. Makes me realize - I have nothing to complain about and everything to be grateful for! Enjoy!!!

posted by 8185247 on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fiction

All too often, an author will publish a book that "takes you imside the world of a *insert special operations unit here*." But other than one exception I know of, it's fiction. Because in spec opsl you don't evej JOKE about going public. If nothing else, it could risk t...
All too often, an author will publish a book that "takes you imside the world of a *insert special operations unit here*." But other than one exception I know of, it's fiction. Because in spec opsl you don't evej JOKE about going public. If nothing else, it could risk the lives of your yeam members. Secrecy is one of the few defenses such soldiers have. While this may be a great story, the author should make note somewhere that this was at least inspired by true evemts, not based upon them.

posted by 7269713 on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Not as good as the ratings

    I was really looking forward to this book but found it disappointing. It seemed to jump around at times and I would have liked more details about the training. As far as the author, I found it somewhat disingenuous when he would almost take blame for not being able to do more and then other times when he would brag forever about how skilled he was. I'd rather he just adopted one way of telling the story (e.g. either bragging or humble but not back and forth). I was able to read the book to the end and it wasn't terrible but I wouldn't be inclined to read another book by this author.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    The news teams report

    Last night ashclan was told to leave to a new camp when a few people left a elder told them to move camp back. a new warrior quillspick was sleeping next to to kits she refused to leave the sleepie heads in the cold.so the elder sparkfire blamed her for the move.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Amazing

    These guys are incredible. It's amazing what they will endure to become some of our most strategic and elite figters in the war on terror. Not as well written as other books on the subject but these guys never fail to make me feel like getting up and knocking out a few push ups!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    the real thing

    A tough childhood in poverty, neglect, and violence Wasdin found a home in the military and comfort in the challenges he met. A surprisingly moral character developed in this professional, trained killer.

    There is also of glimpse of other similar national and foreign forces These are the guys that put it on the line, often in secret, for their nation's interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Good added persrpective of Operation Gothic Serpent

    Though not as compelling as Lone Survivor (Marcus Lutrell/Operation Redwing), the early parts of the formation of Howard's psyche, resolve, and training are a great read. I was most intrigued at the involvement of SEALs in Somalia and got a good taste of that as well as a better feel of some of the coordinated task force efforts with Delta. Howard also provides an honest feel both during and after his active duty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    All true.. All true??

    Some of this sounds a tad "embllished" and the author's own family apparently disputes a good deal of his background. Nonetheless, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Needs more SEAL action

    I bought this book for the implied action in the title. It was a disappointment to get into the book and have many chapters ramble on about the author's early years before he entered the Seal Team. Not counting this, the story is interesting. Thanks to the author for his time spent serving our great country, but next time you write, let's see more action and less early-life background!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Pretty good book that is worth reading

    I would say that if you get into military stuff, snipers and black ops, this book is worth reading. I would really give it three and a half stars, but that isn't an option. I am not sorry I purchased and read the book, but it didn't have my reading for hours at a time either. Pretty solid overall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Clear easy read for anyone interested in the Seals

    H. Wasdin's story is interesting but not fascinating until he joins the Navy. Seal Team Six is a book I had to have, and I can say I am not disappointed. If your looking for memoirs full of war and battle scenes this is not the book. Overall though the book is good and I think its one everyone should have in their library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Liked+it%2C+but...

    This+memoir+reads+more+like+a+disjunct+daily+journal.+I+enjoyed+the+subject+matter+and+content.+There+needed+to+be+more+of+it+but+presented+with+better+descriptive+and+connective+language+for+better+readability.+They+could+have+bumped+it+up+a+couple+of+notches.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5