Customer Reviews for

SEAL of God

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book -- Highly Recommended

I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in.

SEAL of God is the autobio...
I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in.

SEAL of God is the autobiography of Chad Williams, an ex-Navy SEAL. In it, he tells about his decision to become a SEAL, his training, his years as a SEAL, and, most importantly, his acceptance of Christ as LORD of his life. He shares how his experiences as a SEAL helped him better understand Christ's love and sacrifice.

Chad did an excellent job in writing this book. He pulls you into his story. A good portion of the book shares his experiences during SEAL training, and that was absolutely riveting. He shares how his lack of feeling fulfilled once he reached the top of the ladder and became a SEAL led to his conversion to Christ, and eventually, to him entering the ministry.

This was an excellent book. It's most definitely worth reading, whether or not you have any interest in the Navy or the SEALS. I read the entire book in just two days because I couldn't put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

posted by Golden_Girl13 on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Good book, but it kind of jumps around a lot.

posted by 18755703 on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Excellent Book -- Highly Recommended

    I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in.

    SEAL of God is the autobiography of Chad Williams, an ex-Navy SEAL. In it, he tells about his decision to become a SEAL, his training, his years as a SEAL, and, most importantly, his acceptance of Christ as LORD of his life. He shares how his experiences as a SEAL helped him better understand Christ's love and sacrifice.

    Chad did an excellent job in writing this book. He pulls you into his story. A good portion of the book shares his experiences during SEAL training, and that was absolutely riveting. He shares how his lack of feeling fulfilled once he reached the top of the ladder and became a SEAL led to his conversion to Christ, and eventually, to him entering the ministry.

    This was an excellent book. It's most definitely worth reading, whether or not you have any interest in the Navy or the SEALS. I read the entire book in just two days because I couldn't put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Seal Of God is a wonderful book!

    This book has it all, good story, good writing, happy, sad, tension, and best of all redemption!

    I can not recommend this highly enough! Please read it for yourself! Read it out loud to the family! this is a great book. Chad Williams has a future as a writer!

    Bought the book myself, read it, loved it, shared it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    SEAL of God

    Chad Williams is an aimless kid - always on to the 'next' thing. Successful one minute and making horrible decisions the next. Going all out - and then burning out. He has excelled in a number of pursuits, but always moves on to something else....so when he tells his parents he is going to be a Navy SEAL, you can imagine their reaction. His dad finds someone to train him (US Navy SEAL Scott Helvenston), and Chad so respects their relationship that he takes the workouts very seriously and subsequently begins to change.

    Just before Chad is scheduled to begin basic training he turns on the television (to begin his workout!) and sees a newsflash that his mentor and friend has been brutally murdered - ambushed - in Iraq. Now more than ever, Chad is determined to become a SEAL and make Scott proud.

    Chad details the super-crazy-extreme-hard-really hard-life changing things one must go through to become a SEAL. He also shares his own complete life 180, committing to follow Christ which transforms him in so many other important ways.

    I loved reading Chad's life story. This is a world I don't have much experience in and I just found it fascinating, as well as inspirational. Please read this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I found this book to be a wonderful read. I've read a little ab

    I found this book to be a wonderful read. I've read a little about the training special forces personnel like Navy SEALs go through, but not a personal account such as this. Chad is very open about so many experiences in his life I'd probably be uncomfortable sharing about mine. The way he bares his heart, and lets you see things through his eyes is quite compelling. Even if you are not interested in the military, but just want to see the difference Christ can make in someone's life, SEAL of God would be well worth the read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    The path toward salvation is never the same for 2 people. Chad

    The path toward salvation is never the same for 2 people. Chad Williams shares his path that took him through teenage rebellion, SEAL training, serving our country, and now full time ministry.

    More than half the book is about SEAL training. It is not until the second half of the book that Chad starts to think about God and his relationship with Him. I enjoyed both halves of the story and wonder where God is leading Chad now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Good book

    Good book, but it kind of jumps around a lot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    SEAL of God is an excellent story of how a wandering, wayward li

    SEAL of God is an excellent story of how a wandering, wayward life can be transformed completely and when least expected. The author uses the first 2/3 of the book to paint a vivid picture of how his life was self-destructing all the while he was experiencing success and achieving his personal and ever-changing goals. In the final 100 pages though he describes how a single night, set out for his own selfish purposes, came to be the turning point in his career and his aspirations. Mr. Williams is able to tell openly of his highlights and failures, each of significance, and lead the reader to turn the page looking for more of what happens next in his journey. SEAL of God is an autobiography of sorts, a personal tale of survival in many respects, and always a story of a young's dreams coming true ... sometime of his world, and ultimately of His world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Best book ever

    This is the best book ever by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    ? Is it a good book?

    Is it a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Good

    I am a christian girl and I love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I heard about this book from a high school boy who was in a clas

    I heard about this book from a high school boy who was in a class about which I was writing a news story. After reading it, I felt it was a good book for almost anyone. It did not contain any bad language, and it shared a man's view of the world as he grew and matured. It would be a sort of example for what a young man today might face and have to make decisions about in his own life. The parts about being a Navy SEAL were interesting as well as the thoughts and situations that led to his entering the ministry.

    The book is definitely worth reading. It describes the situations a man faces and how he made choices for his own betterment as well as those around him. It was well written, and I would be pleased to have a son who turned out like Williams did, or even mostly like that. Learning to face the future and make positive decisions, regardless of the circumstances, is probably the most difficult task a person faces in their life and this particular story is one positive example that young people can draw from.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Strong story

    Great meaning worth the time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly recommend

    One of the best books I have read lately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    This is a very fast read. I have never read a book in 3 days, bu

    This is a very fast read. I have never read a book in 3 days, but I couldn't put it down. Would give it 10 stars if I could. God Bless

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Different perspective

    I thought it was a good book. I enjoyed reading it, but I just didn't leave the book thinking "WOW". Wonder if he wrote the book only to get in on the Seal craze.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Great Read!

    I found this book to be very engaging. I didn't want to put it down and, in fact, hardly did before finishing it. I came to read this book at a time in my life when I needed a boost, a dose of inspiration. This story did that for me. I felt like I was right there with them in Seal training! Great read, great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Recommended

    It's a good book and Chad does a good job but he gets kinda stuck on himself and about his changeing into a person of God.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    A very inspirational tale of growing up in American and learning

    A very inspirational tale of growing up in American and learning what it takes to make adult decisions. The challenges Chad experiences is not far from those the majority of American youth experience. He makes a lot of bad choices in his journey and then shows how that with the right choices you can over come anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    enjoyable read

    I did enjoy this book despite a few issues that I have. With the exception of the parts concerning SEAL training, the story was disjointed, jumping back and forth with little cohesion. The writing style is simple which actually helps in keeping the story rolling. Chad's story is uncommon at least from what I have seen. Most people do NOT pour everything into whatever it is they are trying to do, so I think quite a few people will have trouble relating to the author. His conversion and subsequent studies are also uncommon. Most Christians take years to read the Bible if they do at all. All in all though, "SEAL of God" is an enjoyable and easy read. You will find inspiration in Chad's story even if you, like me, have trouble relating to him as a person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Not a good military book

    First half was great the last half was pathetic and a borimg read about a bible thumper id assume the author of this book is not liked by the seal community

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2