Customer Reviews for

SEAL of God

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book -- Highly Recommended

I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in.

SEAL of God is the autobio...
I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in.

SEAL of God is the autobiography of Chad Williams, an ex-Navy SEAL. In it, he tells about his decision to become a SEAL, his training, his years as a SEAL, and, most importantly, his acceptance of Christ as LORD of his life. He shares how his experiences as a SEAL helped him better understand Christ's love and sacrifice.

Chad did an excellent job in writing this book. He pulls you into his story. A good portion of the book shares his experiences during SEAL training, and that was absolutely riveting. He shares how his lack of feeling fulfilled once he reached the top of the ladder and became a SEAL led to his conversion to Christ, and eventually, to him entering the ministry.

This was an excellent book. It's most definitely worth reading, whether or not you have any interest in the Navy or the SEALS. I read the entire book in just two days because I couldn't put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

posted by Golden_Girl13 on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Good book, but it kind of jumps around a lot.

posted by 18755703 on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    enjoyable read

    I did enjoy this book despite a few issues that I have. With the exception of the parts concerning SEAL training, the story was disjointed, jumping back and forth with little cohesion. The writing style is simple which actually helps in keeping the story rolling. Chad's story is uncommon at least from what I have seen. Most people do NOT pour everything into whatever it is they are trying to do, so I think quite a few people will have trouble relating to the author. His conversion and subsequent studies are also uncommon. Most Christians take years to read the Bible if they do at all. All in all though, "SEAL of God" is an enjoyable and easy read. You will find inspiration in Chad's story even if you, like me, have trouble relating to him as a person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Not a good military book

    First half was great the last half was pathetic and a borimg read about a bible thumper id assume the author of this book is not liked by the seal community

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    A quick summer read

    Seal of God chronicles the life of Chad Williams, a Navy Seal who served from 2004-2010 and is now in full-time ministry. The book is basically Williams’ testimony of how God changed his life.

    This was an easy, enjoyable read – a great summer book (I read it in about 6 hours over two days). The first 2/3′s of the book focus on Williams’ life before Christ got ahold of him, with some extraordinary stories of his life before Christ. I suppose that was my only criticism of the book: while his transformation was dramatic and incredible, I found myself wondering why I had to read so much to finally find evidence of what God had done in his life. That’s really the only reason I’m not reviewing this book more highly. Williams said throughout the book that he was very self-centered and proud of his own accomplishments, and that was clearly echoed in the first 180 pages of the book. There was a dramatic change after the story of his conversation, but I was just hoping to see that sooner rather than later.

    I will report that once the transformation happened in the book it was incredibly dramatic and inspirational. Perhaps one of the most moving parts to read was when he told the story of the abuse he underwent by others after becoming a Christian – it’s hard to believe behavior like what he chronicled still exists in our country, but I know it does. It’s also a confirmation that Jesus’ words are true that we will be persecuted for our faith.

    In conclusion, I’ll give this book 3/5 stars. If you’re looking for an inspirational, quick read this summer then check out Seal of God, but don’t be surprised if at times you walk away from it focused more on the author of the book than the Author of Changed Lives.

    For the record, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest (though not necessarily favorable) review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What feelings are stirred in your heart when you hear about o



    What feelings are stirred in your heart when you hear about our military and their heroic actions? Is there a particular branch of our military that you have a heart for more than the others? In the book, Seal of God, you will be introduced to a man who was raised in a Christian home, but wasn’t following God’s path. In fact, he will tell you that having reached what he thought was the pinnacle of success as well as fulfillment, Chad learned it was anything but.
    Chad shares his journey through the various stages of his life and accomplishments, spending most of the book on how God touched him while he was serving in the Navy SEALS. Chad loves adventure, excitement, and to push himself to the utmost limits. Now he loves showing others the way to God. Chad is able to share transparently what he went through for SEAL training; although some of his experiences he cannot share because of putting other mens lives at risk.
    Parents will be encouraged by Chad’s testimony. He was rebellious and hard-hearted, caused his parents pain and didn’t care, but God reached down and touched his heart. Chad’s life has never been the same since nor has his wife’s, and that too is included in this memoir. This story was so captivating that it didn’t take me long to finish the book.
    Grab a cool drink, sit in the sun, and read one man’s journey with God.
    My rating is 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Can't put it down!

    This book is amazing! I found it very informative and interesting about what it takes to become a Navy SEAL. Chad's story is inspiring and offers hope to others whose lives may be going down the wrong path. His story testifies that God definitely has a plan for each of our lives and now he is using Chad to share the message of salvation. You have to read this story of perseverance and determination then pass it on to someone else. It is too good not to share!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is one of the most inspiring and awesome books to come

    This book is one of the most inspiring and awesome books to come along today in a world of greed, narcissism and down right attitude of “I don’t need anyone’s help, I can do it myself” as my 5 year old tells me all the time!

    The story is about a young man that accomplished many things growing up: he was an outstanding little league player, a professional skateboarder during his teenage years, deck hand on a sport fishing boat, made commercials on television, each of which (except little league) made him a good deal of money for someone so young. He tried going to college which didn’t work and then made up his mind he would become a US Navy Seal.

    Williams tells how an ex Navy seal inspired him, and taught him what it would take to complete this next challenge in his life. Then just before going into the Navy to become a Seal, his mentor and good friend was ambushed in Iraq, while working with the civilian security forces there. This event only fueled his desire to become a Navy Seal. During his training he worked hard to complete this task, knowing that out of a class of 173 only 17 or so would finish, and become a Seal. He completed his training and did indeed become a Seal.

    Then it hit him again, “I’ve done this and is this really what I wanted?” This had become a pattern in his life, I’ve done this or that but still something is missing. His life as a Seal was getting out of hand. He lived the party life, as was expected of him, and still he didn’t understand what was missing. As time went by his loving parents told him he had to settle down, or don’t come home anymore. Knowing they were serious about not being able to come home anymore, he tried to get on their good side and go to a church meeting with them. After telling his girlfriend to go with him and not doing anything, so they could go party later that night, it happened.

    Greg Laurie spoke that pivotal night and aroused a feeling in Williams, that caused him to accept Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior. He then goes on to tell how badly he was treated by his fellow Seals, for no longer wanting to party with them, but instead tell the world about Jesus. I could go on and tell you how this turned out, but you will have to read this great book to see the power of God, and what happened next!

    I highly recommend “Seal of God” to everyone. On a scale of 1 to 10, if I were the one to do so, I would give it a 15. It is well written and well stated, and a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Highly Recommened a Must Read!!!

    The book was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Awesome book

    I loved reading this book writen very well. I had a hard time putting it down. At frist when Chad tells of his life as a teenager I was thinking that's the kind of kid no Mom would want thier kid to be around. But now he is someone you would love your kids to hang out with. I highly recommend this book for everyone men and women both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2