Customer Reviews for

SEAL of God

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book -- Highly Recommended

I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in.

SEAL of God is the autobio...
I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in.

SEAL of God is the autobiography of Chad Williams, an ex-Navy SEAL. In it, he tells about his decision to become a SEAL, his training, his years as a SEAL, and, most importantly, his acceptance of Christ as LORD of his life. He shares how his experiences as a SEAL helped him better understand Christ's love and sacrifice.

Chad did an excellent job in writing this book. He pulls you into his story. A good portion of the book shares his experiences during SEAL training, and that was absolutely riveting. He shares how his lack of feeling fulfilled once he reached the top of the ladder and became a SEAL led to his conversion to Christ, and eventually, to him entering the ministry.

This was an excellent book. It's most definitely worth reading, whether or not you have any interest in the Navy or the SEALS. I read the entire book in just two days because I couldn't put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

posted by Golden_Girl13 on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Good book, but it kind of jumps around a lot.

posted by 18755703 on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Excellent Book -- Highly Recommended

    I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in.

    SEAL of God is the autobiography of Chad Williams, an ex-Navy SEAL. In it, he tells about his decision to become a SEAL, his training, his years as a SEAL, and, most importantly, his acceptance of Christ as LORD of his life. He shares how his experiences as a SEAL helped him better understand Christ's love and sacrifice.

    Chad did an excellent job in writing this book. He pulls you into his story. A good portion of the book shares his experiences during SEAL training, and that was absolutely riveting. He shares how his lack of feeling fulfilled once he reached the top of the ladder and became a SEAL led to his conversion to Christ, and eventually, to him entering the ministry.

    This was an excellent book. It's most definitely worth reading, whether or not you have any interest in the Navy or the SEALS. I read the entire book in just two days because I couldn't put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Seal Of God is a wonderful book!

    This book has it all, good story, good writing, happy, sad, tension, and best of all redemption!

    I can not recommend this highly enough! Please read it for yourself! Read it out loud to the family! this is a great book. Chad Williams has a future as a writer!

    Bought the book myself, read it, loved it, shared it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    SEAL of God

    Chad Williams is an aimless kid - always on to the 'next' thing. Successful one minute and making horrible decisions the next. Going all out - and then burning out. He has excelled in a number of pursuits, but always moves on to something else....so when he tells his parents he is going to be a Navy SEAL, you can imagine their reaction. His dad finds someone to train him (US Navy SEAL Scott Helvenston), and Chad so respects their relationship that he takes the workouts very seriously and subsequently begins to change.

    Just before Chad is scheduled to begin basic training he turns on the television (to begin his workout!) and sees a newsflash that his mentor and friend has been brutally murdered - ambushed - in Iraq. Now more than ever, Chad is determined to become a SEAL and make Scott proud.

    Chad details the super-crazy-extreme-hard-really hard-life changing things one must go through to become a SEAL. He also shares his own complete life 180, committing to follow Christ which transforms him in so many other important ways.

    I loved reading Chad's life story. This is a world I don't have much experience in and I just found it fascinating, as well as inspirational. Please read this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    The path toward salvation is never the same for 2 people. Chad

    The path toward salvation is never the same for 2 people. Chad Williams shares his path that took him through teenage rebellion, SEAL training, serving our country, and now full time ministry.

    More than half the book is about SEAL training. It is not until the second half of the book that Chad starts to think about God and his relationship with Him. I enjoyed both halves of the story and wonder where God is leading Chad now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    SEAL of God is an excellent story of how a wandering, wayward li

    SEAL of God is an excellent story of how a wandering, wayward life can be transformed completely and when least expected. The author uses the first 2/3 of the book to paint a vivid picture of how his life was self-destructing all the while he was experiencing success and achieving his personal and ever-changing goals. In the final 100 pages though he describes how a single night, set out for his own selfish purposes, came to be the turning point in his career and his aspirations. Mr. Williams is able to tell openly of his highlights and failures, each of significance, and lead the reader to turn the page looking for more of what happens next in his journey. SEAL of God is an autobiography of sorts, a personal tale of survival in many respects, and always a story of a young's dreams coming true ... sometime of his world, and ultimately of His world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Best book ever

    This is the best book ever by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    ? Is it a good book?

    Is it a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Good

    I am a christian girl and I love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly recommend

    One of the best books I have read lately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    This is a very fast read. I have never read a book in 3 days, bu

    This is a very fast read. I have never read a book in 3 days, but I couldn't put it down. Would give it 10 stars if I could. God Bless

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What feelings are stirred in your heart when you hear about o



    What feelings are stirred in your heart when you hear about our military and their heroic actions? Is there a particular branch of our military that you have a heart for more than the others? In the book, Seal of God, you will be introduced to a man who was raised in a Christian home, but wasn’t following God’s path. In fact, he will tell you that having reached what he thought was the pinnacle of success as well as fulfillment, Chad learned it was anything but.
    Chad shares his journey through the various stages of his life and accomplishments, spending most of the book on how God touched him while he was serving in the Navy SEALS. Chad loves adventure, excitement, and to push himself to the utmost limits. Now he loves showing others the way to God. Chad is able to share transparently what he went through for SEAL training; although some of his experiences he cannot share because of putting other mens lives at risk.
    Parents will be encouraged by Chad’s testimony. He was rebellious and hard-hearted, caused his parents pain and didn’t care, but God reached down and touched his heart. Chad’s life has never been the same since nor has his wife’s, and that too is included in this memoir. This story was so captivating that it didn’t take me long to finish the book.
    Grab a cool drink, sit in the sun, and read one man’s journey with God.
    My rating is 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Can't put it down!

    This book is amazing! I found it very informative and interesting about what it takes to become a Navy SEAL. Chad's story is inspiring and offers hope to others whose lives may be going down the wrong path. His story testifies that God definitely has a plan for each of our lives and now he is using Chad to share the message of salvation. You have to read this story of perseverance and determination then pass it on to someone else. It is too good not to share!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is one of the most inspiring and awesome books to come

    This book is one of the most inspiring and awesome books to come along today in a world of greed, narcissism and down right attitude of “I don’t need anyone’s help, I can do it myself” as my 5 year old tells me all the time!

    The story is about a young man that accomplished many things growing up: he was an outstanding little league player, a professional skateboarder during his teenage years, deck hand on a sport fishing boat, made commercials on television, each of which (except little league) made him a good deal of money for someone so young. He tried going to college which didn’t work and then made up his mind he would become a US Navy Seal.

    Williams tells how an ex Navy seal inspired him, and taught him what it would take to complete this next challenge in his life. Then just before going into the Navy to become a Seal, his mentor and good friend was ambushed in Iraq, while working with the civilian security forces there. This event only fueled his desire to become a Navy Seal. During his training he worked hard to complete this task, knowing that out of a class of 173 only 17 or so would finish, and become a Seal. He completed his training and did indeed become a Seal.

    Then it hit him again, “I’ve done this and is this really what I wanted?” This had become a pattern in his life, I’ve done this or that but still something is missing. His life as a Seal was getting out of hand. He lived the party life, as was expected of him, and still he didn’t understand what was missing. As time went by his loving parents told him he had to settle down, or don’t come home anymore. Knowing they were serious about not being able to come home anymore, he tried to get on their good side and go to a church meeting with them. After telling his girlfriend to go with him and not doing anything, so they could go party later that night, it happened.

    Greg Laurie spoke that pivotal night and aroused a feeling in Williams, that caused him to accept Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior. He then goes on to tell how badly he was treated by his fellow Seals, for no longer wanting to party with them, but instead tell the world about Jesus. I could go on and tell you how this turned out, but you will have to read this great book to see the power of God, and what happened next!

    I highly recommend “Seal of God” to everyone. On a scale of 1 to 10, if I were the one to do so, I would give it a 15. It is well written and well stated, and a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Highly Recommened a Must Read!!!

    The book was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Awesome book

    I loved reading this book writen very well. I had a hard time putting it down. At frist when Chad tells of his life as a teenager I was thinking that's the kind of kid no Mom would want thier kid to be around. But now he is someone you would love your kids to hang out with. I highly recommend this book for everyone men and women both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1