Customer Reviews for

SEAL of Honor

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Play hard, love harder! Very good and funny start to a new serie

    Play hard, love harder! Very good and funny start to a new series.

    Throwing a bunch of alpha males together to make up a team of bad-asses and send them on dangerous missions is bound to have their fair share of problems: insubordination, egos, toeing the line, being disrespectful and not following orders. That alone already has me hooked on this series. Each member has their own unique story and temperament. I can’t wait to discover more about each one of them. But let us start with the fearless leader, Gabe. Oh, I do love that name.

    Gabe was a Navy SEAL until a car accident forced him into medical retirement. Being a SEAL was his life. He lived and breathed it. The prospect of taking on a desk job at the Pentagon thanks to his father, the Admiral, has him sweating bullets, until his friend Quinn talks him into taking on the job as a mercenary and the new leader of Hornet. Piece of cake, right? Not exactly. Getting a bunch of strangers together to form a team and trust one another while making it clear that he’s in charge is just the beginning of his problems. His new team only has days to rescue kidnapped businessman, Bryson Van Amee. When it rains, it pours. Gabe never expected that he’d be dragging a civilian along in the form of a spunky and sexy Southern Belle package – Audrey Van Amee.

    Audrey is a struggling artist living in Costa Rica. She witnessed her brother’s kidnapping during their Skype session and ultimately headed to Bogota to do some reconnaissance of her own. Lucky for her that she bumped into the good guys first. How convenient that the team only had one member fluent in Spanish, and she was the other option. Naturally the impulsive, free-spirited, flighty, mouthy and capricious Audrey got paired with the leader who was so stiff (pun intended) that it would take all her feminine wiles to get him to cut loose a little. It didn’t take long before they were captured by a bunch of guerrillas, and Audrey got to see up close and personal just what it took to survive in the wild. It’s kill or be killed. But she let Gabe handle that part because her mama taught her that “violence breeds violence”. I half expected Gabe to say to her “If you want to live, do as I say”, but he never did. Instead he went soft when the water works came.

    I liked irritatingly adorable Audrey. I enjoyed her mouthy comebacks and her spunky attitude when it came to calling Gabe on his BS. I’m a straight-shooter like her in many ways, so I identified with that side of her. What I didn’t like about her was her tendency to be incredibly naive of the dangerous situations they found themselves in and how gullible she was in certain areas. There were many instances I wanted to gag her. Little to no sense of self-preservation.

    Overall, I loved the plot and all the action. It was fast-paced and rarely slowed down except for the sexy times. This story is told from multiple POVs, but it made me feel more connected to the story and the goings on when I was allowed in their heads. The majority of the dialogues between Gabe and Audrey are pretty funny.. I definitely thought they had chemistry together, even if Gabe was the one trying to fight the attraction the whole time.

    I can’t wait for the next book to come out. I hope there will be more of the same action packed suspense, humor and, of course, romance. Rating 3.75 rounded up to 4.

    Disclaimer: I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Pulse-Pounding Action!

    SEAL of Honor starts with an intense, pulse-pounding kidnapping scene that sets the pace for this action-packed novel of romantic suspense. Tonya Burrows draws you into her story of suspense with the ragtag members of a private hostage rescue team. The team members are from various government agencies—FBI and CIA—or have the skills needed to fill out the team. Leading this crew is Gabe Bristow, a former Navy SEAL. HORNET, as their team is called, takes on the mission of freeing kidnapped businessman Bryson Van Amee. The author realistically portrays these team members jockeying for position and respect with the other members, making me want to keep turning pages to see if these alpha males would figure out how to get along.

    While the team is trying to figure out where Bryson is being held, Gabe finds himself dealing with Bryson’s sister, Audrey. Gabe, a hardened military man, is attracted to Audrey from the instant he sees her. Audrey, to her dismay, is attracted to Gabe too. The sexual tension sizzles between these two characters while they are on the run. When Gabe and Audrey finally succumb to the heat that has been building between them, their bedroom scenes are downright steamy.

    If you are a fan of the KGI series by Maya Banks, then you will surely love SEAL of Honor and the men of HORNET! Both of these series contain similar elements that I just love—tight plots, strong heroines, and seriously delicious alpha male soldiers. By advancing multiple storylines and strongly developing the other members of HORNET, Burrows brilliantly sets the stage to highlight these personalities in future stories, creating the perfect beginning to what is sure to be thrilling page-turning series of romance and suspense. I cannot wait for the next adventure with the hot men of HORNET!

    I received an eBook copy from the publisher for purpose of an honest review for The Jeep Diva. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    Tonya Burrows is an awesome new voice in (Military) Romantic Sus

    Tonya Burrows is an awesome new voice in (Military) Romantic Suspense!!
    The story had me at word one and kept me on the edge of my seat with anticipation over what was going to happen next! It certainly lives up to the tag of being full of suspense and danger and of course romance! The characters are real and you can't help but love them all! They just "fit" together and work well together too!

    I'm really looking forward to more books to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Great book!

    Great book........action, suspense, romance......what's not to like? Loved the characters and their individual personalities. Will buy more of this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    This book seems to be lacking something. Although I really liked

    This book seems to be lacking something. Although I really liked Audrey and Gabe as the main characters, the spark just wasn’t there. Also, I sure wouldn’t want to bet my life on this team to save me. It was an ok read, but nothing special.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Really good read

    Really enjoyed the story. LOVED the characters. Lots of suspense. Looking forward to reading the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Ethan ti bailey

    Bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Good

    ## I enjoyed reading this book for the most part. The action and suspense were really good and I loved the banter between the teammates. What was lacking was the romance. Big time. I couldn't make myself like the heroine. Oh I tried, but to no avail. SPOILER ALERT: She kept throwing herself at the hero even after he kept telling her no. He leaves for a month without so much as a goodbye or a call and she instantly forgives him and bullies him into marriage. I found her to be way too needy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Very enjoyable read. So glad I found the author. Looking foward

    Very enjoyable read. So glad I found the author. Looking foward to the next Hornet novel and any other works she has. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    SEAL of Honor is book one in the HORNET series by Tonya Burrows.

    SEAL of Honor is book one in the HORNET series by Tonya Burrows.  Equally hot and exciting, there’s not a dull moment to be found in this book. Gabe Bristow is disgruntled and trying to figure out where to go with his life now that a car accident left him unfit for duty as a SEAL. Reluctantly he agrees to a private sector job in a unit that’s just starting up, and the team find themselves under a trial by fire when they are called in to rescue a hostage in Colombia.
    The victim’s sister, Audrey Van Amee, is at her brother’s apartment in Colombia searching for clues herself when both Gabe’s team and the villains show up at the same time. Gabe and Audrey end up separated from his team and on the run from different guerilla factions.  The bullets fly as fast as the heat flashes up between Audrey and Gabe.
    It was refreshing to have a heroine who was not military or law enforcement but managed to take care of herself and the hero as well. That’s not to say she didn’t make mistakes, but she and Gabe were pretty evenly split on taking care of one another. If you like your romances filled with action and suspense and surprise twists at the end, pick up SEAL of Honor.
    ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    The start of this new series is captivating, addictive it¿s thri

    The start of this new series is captivating, addictive it’s thrilling but then again men who are Seals makes everything better.

    Audrey Van Amee is a talented artist and is upset with her brother, Bryson, because he is not able to make it to her art show. Now speaking with him on the phone he breaks her heart by telling her that he can’t attend because of his work. In the middle of her conversation she notices something happening to her brother, he needs help. Then all of a sudden she hears a man’s voice telling Bryson that he needs not to fight what is happening and that he would not hurt him because he is worth to much money.

    Gabriel “Gabe” Bristow has just been forced into medical retirement from the Navy Seals because of his injury to his leg that has left him using a cane. He can’t believe that he will no longer have his team to command but someone has just given him the perfect opportunity to lead again. Travis Quinn has given Gabe a second chance to do what he loves to do but with a different group taking personal contracts. He knows that he doesn’t want to be sitting behind a desk in Washington D.C. So he agrees to command the new group that Quinn has put together and there first job has already come through.

    Bryson Van Amee has been kidnapped and held for ransom by a Colombian guerrilla group. Of course they have contacted his wife and are asking for a huge ransom and somehow they know that he has it and more. Audrey goes from her home in Costa Rica to Bogotá, Colombia to try to find clues of who has her brother but what she finds is a man impersonating a police officer so she does what needs to be done to protect herself.

    Gabe and his men are doing there best to see who has taken Bryson but instead come face to face with his sister. Now she wants to be part of the rescue team especially since she is fluent in Spanish and Gabe is not. Only that is not all from the moment that they both saw each other there is chemistry between them and they both can’t seem to shake off their feelings. Only once Audrey speaks with the real limo driver do things get real interesting. There is a militia group that is taking people out of their cars and taking anything that is of value and once they get to Gabe and Audrey there is a distraction. Only that she does something stupid and tells them that they are looking for her brother that was kidnapped. So guess what they are captured and are dragged through the jungle. Only once they think they have escaped they are captured by another group but this group has some information that actually might bring them closer to Bryson. Only that something awful happens just when Gabe is talking to Quinn and giving him the intel.

    Seal of Honor was an amazing read about second chances. Gabe and Quinn both got second chances to do something they both love only Quinn was not much of a leader but he was a great drill sergeant. I really enjoyed all of the men that formed “HORNET” there were different personalities that kept Quinn and Gabe on their feet. Only those men were the best, going into a foreign country to rescue a man with limited supplies and also limited retraining. Most of all I loved the brave Audrey because she rocked during the rescue mission. This story is well written, with a storyline that will have you wanting more. It’s the perfect length with perfect detail and the pace of the story was good. There are two characters that I would love to know more about and that would be of course Quinn but also Ian. I thought Ian was interesting and a jerk but there is just something about him, a dark side I think.

    The love scenes in this story are sizzling hot. The chemistry between them is felt in every touch, every stare but especially when they finally hit the sheets. Then once Gabe gets a taste of Audrey he knows that he is not going to be able to stop. Only when he does he runs. They are written in satisfying detail, sexy, steamy.

    I am so ready for more of these Seals and can’t wait for more. Pick up this book today and relax and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are some great characters in this book. Gabe is so serious

    There are some great characters in this book. Gabe is so serious and doesn't know what to do with himself how that he's not a SEAL anymore. His brother Raffi is a great contrast. Then he meets Audrey. There was a line in there that I thought summed up their differences pretty well. He was fighting and she wanted to help and it said something along the lines of, "What was she going to do, paint an unflattering picture of his attacker?" She is very flighty and artistic and forces Gabe to lighten up a bit. Overall this was a great read. Action, suspense, steamy romance, and some humor.In this book we are introduced to the other guys on the newly formed HORNET team. (Gabe hates that name, by the way.) They are an interesting group and they each have their own story and set of quirks. As a set up to the series, it was very effective. I can't wait to read more about these guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    What a good story. Very different from other special ops type bo

    What a good story. Very different from other special ops type books. The group is different. The hero and heroine are different. Fun story. Along with nail biter parts. Sweet love story. Hot and spicy sexy reading. I will enjoy following this series. At least I hope there will be a series. It would be a shame to leave these people without more stories.
    A couple of fun parts....
    "I was born and raised in the South, honey, but I'm not a southern belle. I shoot what I aim at," she said......"But its stil up in the air whether I'll aim at you or not."

    She...."Of course, we'll have to get married to make it official."
    He sputtered. "Married? But- but- I thought living together was enough."
    With an indulgent smile, she patted his cheek. "It was. Now it's not. I'm flightly like that, so you'd better get me to the alter before I change my mind again."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I must say that I have the utmost respect for anyone who writes

    I must say that I have the utmost respect for anyone who writes deep books about Police and Military stories. There is so much info you need while not giving anything away. I like to read these stories but they really get to me and it doesn't take much. Tonya did a great job developing her characters . It was fun watching them develop farther as the  book went along. I read a real good story line. I am scared of Mexico and South America simply because of the drug problems. I would say this book was a less dangerous story than I was expecting. Gabriel, the lead hero, had a lot of issues. Audrey, the heroine, had to worry about Gabriel and her brother who was kidnapped. There wasn't a true end to the story so now I am looking forward to other books. Tonya,you have been added to my favorite authors list. Readers, it's now up to you to add her to yours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    What can I say about SEAL of Honor that would do it justice? 5 s

    What can I say about SEAL of Honor that would do it justice? 5 stars speak pretty highly, but it was so much more than that. I personally enjoyed Tonya Burrows’ book because of the military and government aspect of it. With my husband working towards being on the police force, I would get excited when I recognized the different guns and lingo used. But that is just a side note. Everything from the characters to the action to the outcome had me on my seat and not wanting to put this book down.
    I loved Gabe and his determination to not disappoint anyone, his commanding persona and the change he undergoes. The whole HORNET team stole my heart with their drastic personality differences, their constant clashing and arguing, yet, at the end of the day, their need and desire to get the job done. But my favorite character of all was Audrey.
    I aspire to be the strong, free-spirited person that she is. With her drive to save her brother, and not back down when things go to Hell, yet keeping her loving and caring nature, she is someone to be admired.
    When a book involves men from different career paths (FBI, CIA, Navy SEAL) and no longer being on those paths, but desperately wishing they were, you can imagine how things would go from bad to worse when trying to rescue a hostage worth over 62 million dollars from guerilla territory. Oh, and they aren’t even supposed to be there. Gabe must lead his six men, who have never trained together on a mission to save Audrey’s brother. With his badly injured, never fully recovered foot, and the distraction of Audrey, nothing goes right for Gabe and he must figure out a way to keep all of them alive while still completing their mission.
    Tonya weaves an amazing story that will keep you riveted from beginning to end. She is incredibly knowledgeable in regards to everything military and government used in her book. I cannot wait to see what happens in the next HORNET book!
     
    (I received an ARC for my review and this is my honest-to-goodness, straight from the heart review!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    What a way to start a book series and debut your first novel! I

    What a way to start a book series and debut your first novel! I didn't know what to expect when I purchased the novel, but the cover certainly intrigued me. SEAL of Honor by Tonya Burrows grabs a hold of you from the first page and doesn't let go until the last, and then leaves you wanting more! The characters are well developed and the journey with the men of HORNET does not disappoint. The chemistry between the hero, Gabe, and the the heroine, Audrey is undeniable! The sexual tension has your cheering them on to just give in to it! I can't wait to read the next book in the series. I highly recommend SEAL of honor to readers of all genres!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I jumped at the chance to review Seal of Honor because of its pl

    I jumped at the chance to review Seal of Honor because of its plot and the fact that I’m always drawn to characters who are involved in dangerous, military-style covert operations.  Add romance to the story, and it’s a must read for me.  Tonya Burrows’ debut novel shows a promising start to this new series. 

    Lieutenant Commander Gabe Bristow and his close friend Travis Quinn are newly retired Navy SEALS due to a car accident that left them with permanent injuries, ending their careers. 
    Travis wants Gabe to work with him in the private sector doing security work, but Gabe is reluctant to pursue this career avenue until Travis introduces him to Tucker Quentin, who is funding a private hostage rescue team that he wants Gabe to lead. Compared to the desk job, Gabe’s father, the Admiral has lined up for him with the Pentagon, this seems like a more appealing option, and thus the HORNETs are born.

    Quentin needs a team assembled immediately for their first mission: to rescue American entrepreneur, Bryson Van Amee, who has been kidnapped by a notorious terrorist group while conducting business in South America. The terrorists demand a ransom in exchange for Van Amee’s release. While the FBI is officially in charge of the case, Van Amee’s insurance company has hired the HORNETs to go in undercover and rescue Van Amee.

    Travis has already organized a haphazard team of men who have never met, but who have experience in this type of work: ex-CIA, former FBI negotiator, Delta Force medic, a linguist, and an explosives expert. The team members officially meet on the flight to Columbia, and it becomes abundantly clear that this group is going to have problems trying to work together. Although everyone brings a vital skill to the group, Gabe realizes their lack of discipline, along with their diverse personalities and attitudes will be a barrier to the success of this mission.

    As leader of the group, Gabe tries organize the group by integrating some of the tactics he learned to be part of a successful SEAL team. However, throughout the story, their clashing personalities, plus the emotional baggage each is carrying around lead to disagreements and minor conflicts that further complicate the plot.  

    During their search for Van Amee’s location, they find Bryson’s sister, Audrey Van Amee also in the area conducting her own search for her brother. When she meets the team, she’s not quite sure what to think: “Such an odd assortment of men. She wasn’t sure whether to cheer, laugh, or cry that they were apparently her brother’s only hope since the FBI wasn’t doing jack to save him.”  However, once Audrey learns Gabe, their leader, was a SEAL, she begins to gain confidence that they can succeed in their rescue mission.  

    Audrey is strong-willed and determined to be involved in finding her brother. Although Gabe doesn’t want her involved in the mission, he reluctantly concedes when the rest of the team supports her involvement since she is fluent in Spanish and can translate information.  Deep down, he knows he’s also very attracted to her and worries she will be a distraction for him.

    Gabe partners with her to help get information from someone who works for Van Amee, and, while on the way back to their base of operations, they are kidnapped by guerilla soldiers and taken hostage into the jungle. From this point, the story’s pacing picks up and is full of non-stop action and suspense.  Now that their leader is missing, the team is forced to put aside their differences and form a cohesive group to find Gabe and Audrey so they can continue with the mission.  I enjoyed watching these alpha characters get to know each other and begin to bond.  

    In the midst of all this danger, Gabe and Audrey are unable to resist the strong attraction between them. I was surprised they could let their guard down in this ongoing crisis to become intimate with one another. The entire time, Audrey worried and cried over her brother, yet, when alone with Gabe, she seems to easily put her worries aside and flirtatiously teases him into giving in to her seduction. I can’t say this was unrealistic because the direness of their situation may have pushed them to make the most of every moment they could, but the timing of these romantic scenes just seemed incongruent with the precariousness of their situation.  

    Overall, though, I enjoyed Gabe and Audrey’s growing relationship. Audrey is brave and assertive, facing confrontation head on, instead of shying away. Gabe’s calm, commanding presence is complementary to her sometimes impulsive behavior. Gabe is a man with honor and integrity. He wants to do what is right, and he feels that it is unprofessional to get involved with Audrey. His feelings for Audrey are a constant emotional battle that he fights throughout the story. 

    I enjoyed reading this story and found the mystery and suspense behind the rescue thrilling. Just when I thought the story had reached its resolution, an unexpected twist emerges creating one final, climatic conflict. Burrows ties all lose story ends together in a satisfying outcome. 

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher to provide an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This romance is heavy with suspense. You have the rescue of Audr

    This romance is heavy with suspense. You have the rescue of Audrey's brother that starts the whole ball rolling but you end up with the snowball effect. Because, pretty soon the guys are in over their head and you are left with one huge snowball full of chaos.

    I liked that the guys had to learn to communicate and work together in order to complete their mission. You see, they were all thrown together based off of their skills, not their compatibility. So they pretty much all butt heads and have their little squabbles right from day one. Towards the end they start working together as a team and become a tight knit family. The whole transition to that point, I felt, was very important. You got the see the men grow together as one cohesive unit. One thing I wasn't overly thrilled with were the stereotypes. For instance we have a southern cowboy (stetson and all), a bad ass leather wearing tough guy, the computer geek decked out in glasses and a drunk "ragin' Cajun"... you get my point. I would have liked to have saw some originality, maybe have the Cajun wear a cowboy hat simply because he likes the style. Or a guy who just wears jeans and a t-shirt and is normal. But that's just my personal opinion.

    The suspense was probably my favorite of the whole story. Yes the romance was sweet but a lot of times in these types of stories, the threat is all but forgotten in the romance. However, we jump between Gabe and Audrey (who happen to get captured early on), the team at the safe house who are scrambling to find and save Audrey's brother as well as figure out what happened to Gabe, Audrey's brother, and the kidnappers. Even when things got a little hot and heavy with Gabe and Audrey, we were thrown back into the action with the other characters in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Navy SEAL, turned private hostage rescuer, and a free spirited

    A Navy SEAL, turned private hostage rescuer, and a free spirited artist walk into the jungle, love blooms amongst flying bullets.  

    The story was fast paced, well written and kept my attention throughout the whole story. I cheered on Gabe and Audrey, as they battled their way through the jungle. Gabe Bristow and Audrey Van Amee have chemistry off the charts. Watching Audrey not fall apart under some seriously crazy situations for a civilian and the way these two clung to each other and fell in love made this a new favorite book for me. 

    The newly formed HORNET team is crazy, fun, and full of interesting characters that I can’t wait to have their own stories. Gabe, is the perfect man to lead this team of misfits and with Audrey by his side, I can only imagine the future this team will have. I not only fell in love with the team and the characters, I fell in love with this author’s writing style and will be picking up more of her books in the future. 




    I received a copy in exchange for my honest review, I was not paid for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The good, the bad, and why I did not finish SEAL of Honor

    The good, the bad, and why I did not finish SEAL of Honor….. Well the cover is nice, but that’s not what convinced me to read the romantic suspense novel, SEAL of Honor by Tonya Burrows. In actuality, the title caught my attention, because I love stories about Navy SEALs/ men in uniform. There were some characters that I loved and some characters such as Rafael that seemed a bit extraneous. He was Gabe’s flamboyant brother and direct opposite, but he wasn’t essential to the plot. As indicated in the synopsis, Audrey is “…determined to help rescue her brother.” However, her role in resolving her brother’s hostage situation was surreal. Audrey’s lies and presence appeared to be a bit of a distraction. Audrey and Gage would even become intimate at inopportune times when they should have been developing a plan of action. Yet their irrational behavior was kind of intriguing because it created harrowing situations that called for action. Although, the action fell flat at times because Gage did not always make the best use of his weapons. When they came under attack and he had fair warning, I couldn’t understand why he wasn’t prepared to fight. As for Audrey, she was too afraid to hurt anyone in the beginning and she had to deal with inner conflicts prior to taking action. The adrenaline-charged action started after Gage was inspired to keep Audrey safe at all cost, but the high powered action was only short lived. Audrey was amusing when she thought that Gage was in trouble. The fire started burning in her, and she became creative with developing an unconventional weapon as she planned to defend her man or “stupid alpha male” (145). At this point, I still thought that the book was okay. However, when I arrived at page 216, I found some of the content distasteful, which influenced my decision to not finish the book.

    Rating-DNF

    The publisher provided me with an e-ARC of SEAL of Honor for an unbiased review, thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2