Customer Reviews for

SELF

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Magazine for Nook Reading

I was a pretty disappointed with other magazines--it was annoying to zoom and move to see things well, and I didn't like the "article view". So I thought I would just stick to books, but seeing Jillian on the cover made me buy this magazine, and I've really enjoyed it!...
I was a pretty disappointed with other magazines--it was annoying to zoom and move to see things well, and I didn't like the "article view". So I thought I would just stick to books, but seeing Jillian on the cover made me buy this magazine, and I've really enjoyed it! The layout is made specifically for e-readers and you don't have to do a lot of zooming or moving. There are embedded videos with demos of the exercises, and lots of little extras to tap. HIGHLY recommend, especially if you thought you didn't like magazines on your Nook. I will subscribe.

posted by rdavis207 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love this magazine!

I have been an avid subscriber to this magazine for years!

I was so excited to be getting a nook tablet, but when I looked for it... it wasn't available! I sure did email them! Luckily when I opened it after Christmas they had added it for the nook! I love the layout...
I have been an avid subscriber to this magazine for years!

I was so excited to be getting a nook tablet, but when I looked for it... it wasn't available! I sure did email them! Luckily when I opened it after Christmas they had added it for the nook! I love the layout of the magazine. I love that I can see the workouts in mini videos! This is one subscription I will be keeping!

posted by Happywitch on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Great Magazine for Nook Reading

    I was a pretty disappointed with other magazines--it was annoying to zoom and move to see things well, and I didn't like the "article view". So I thought I would just stick to books, but seeing Jillian on the cover made me buy this magazine, and I've really enjoyed it! The layout is made specifically for e-readers and you don't have to do a lot of zooming or moving. There are embedded videos with demos of the exercises, and lots of little extras to tap. HIGHLY recommend, especially if you thought you didn't like magazines on your Nook. I will subscribe.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Designed for Nook

    Love the layout designed for Nook - easier to read than other magazines - and you can jump to articles- video content is embedded - I will keep this one !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Bookmarks

    I like the mag. The content is interesting, the UI is fun and useful but once you close it and reopen it you are back on the cover page and there are no bookmark options or at least the ease of beginning where you left off. The slimming all the body stuff as well is a bit overated. Say, toned arms etc would give space for more content instead of every issue having a full body miracle workout. Whatt i mean is leave some for later. And seriously, the bookmark problem should get fixed. I liked the dynamic content as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Why not on iPad/iPhone apps?

    I adore this magazine and would gladly pay the subscription fee, but I'm not going to buy a new nook tablet to do so. Poorly played, Conde Nast. Poorly played.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    I love this magazine!

    I have been an avid subscriber to this magazine for years!

    I was so excited to be getting a nook tablet, but when I looked for it... it wasn't available! I sure did email them! Luckily when I opened it after Christmas they had added it for the nook! I love the layout of the magazine. I love that I can see the workouts in mini videos! This is one subscription I will be keeping!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Subscription cancelled

    Cancelled my subscription due to the tutu runner shaming.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    time to cancel

    #tutupride

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Love It

    I really enjoy reading SELF!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    awkward!

    Self is not good on Nook. :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    slows down nook

    this magazine slows down my nook and kills my battery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Cancelling now

    I used to enjoy this magazine until I read this most recent issue. Any magazine that claims to be health and fitness related, should not be giving people the ok to smoke pot! It is still illegal unless for medical reasons, very irresponsible and I am cancelling now.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Guy are so cute and hot

    Aka brb lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Self Mag, true self help!

    Very good info, interesting up to date!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Great!

    Very informative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Self august

    Great mag, great tipd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Good source

    I like the tablet version of this magazine because for most exercises, there is a tab you can press to see the exercise performed. The video clip is short, only a few seconds, but it really helps. You can also "flip" through the magazine easily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Great magazine

    I have always appreciated the subjects that this magazine offers, and now it is very nice to be able to read it on my e-reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Meant for the 20ish

    Good magazine and well done on the Nook, but meant for a much younger group.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    One of the best for the Nook

    Try it out! This magazine is really set up for tablets. It has some amazing features. =) I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great!

    So good on the nook tablet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7