Customer Reviews for

STRIPPED

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    Stripped is your run of the mill contemporary romance. While




    Stripped is your run of the mill contemporary romance. While it is somewhat predictable it was still an enjoyable, quick read.

    The romance was what I would expect, while it wasn't epic by any means, it was sweet and hard won. I really liked Quinn and I really liked Torrin. I enjoyed riding along with them as they figured each other out and healed from their pasts. Their relationship seems very realistic even if it happened fast, though I'm not okay with their admittance of love just a week into i...moreStripped is your run of the mill contemporary romance. While it is somewhat predictable it was still an enjoyable, quick read.

    The romance was what I would expect, while it wasn't epic by any means, it was sweet and hard won. I really liked Quinn and I really liked Torrin. I enjoyed riding along with them as they figured each other out and healed from their pasts. Their relationship seems very realistic even if it happened fast, though I'm not okay with their admittance of love just a week into it.

    As far as the story goes, I enjoyed the idea. It was hard to witness the breakdown of a person/family following a suicide not to mention the scandal that has rocked Quinn's family. There are a few twists and turns that, while predictable, added excitement to the story.

    I really loved that it, I think (though there is a novella), is a standalone. It's really nice to come across those from time to time.

    If you're looking for a nice, no strings attached, fast read I suggest you pick up Stripped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review: Stripped #1: Stripped

    Stripped by Brooklyn Skye is a tale of struggle, loss and healing with a hot rowing God thrown in for good measure.

    Quinn's family has been through the wringer. Her sister committed suicide a year ago, her father, Dean of a nearby College, was involved in a massive scandal a few short months after that. Now the family is bankrupt and Quinn has to find some way to pay for college. The best paying job she can find that still leaves her enough time for school, nude modeling for a college art class. But not at her college, her dad's old place of employment so she doesn't end up modeling for people she knows.

    Torrin collides with Quinn, quite literally, on her first day of work and is relentless in his pursuit of her. He slowly breaks down the walls she has built around her heart in a determined effort to not become like her sister. Heartbroken and suicidal over a boy.

    As it often happens in life, these two fall in love with each other and then the universe steps in and throws them some wicked curveballs. Can they make it through the secrets and lies and come out the other side still in love AND together?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Hannah

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Shadow

    Sure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     It's been one year since Quinn Montgomery's sister Zoe killed h

     It's been one year since Quinn Montgomery's sister Zoe killed herself.  Her sister was her best friend, she idolized her, they told each other everything, or so she thought.  Without leaving a note, Quinn has made her own assumptions regarding her sister's reasons for doing what she did, which boils down to having her heart crushed by a guy.  So what does Quinn do?  She vows to never fall in love, to never put herself in a position where a guy can break her heart..........save yourself..........what she hears her sister tell her in her dreams, and what Quinn believes means save yourself from falling in love.  She is seeing Derek the douchebag who is a jerk and bully, someone she can't stand, her reason being that he reminds her that she doesn't want to fall in love and it keeps other guys from hitting on her.  On top of losing her sister, her father has faced a scandal that has caused him to walk away from his position as Dean of Pacific Rim University.  He hasn't found another job, money is short, Quinn has been having to come up with half of her tuition cost, and now finds out she is probably going to have to come up with the full amount if she wants to stay in school at Loyola.  The only job she can find where she can earn enough money to pay her tuition is modeling for a life drawing class at Pacific Rim......nude.  She figures that no one will really know her there, right.  What she doesn't count on is meeting Torrin.  Torrin is a complication...he makes her doubt everything she has convinced herself of.....he makes her feel things she doesn't want to feel.....he makes her question everything.....he makes her feel.......alive.  Torrin has a secret, Quinn has secrets, her family has been keeping even more secrets from her, especially regarding Zoe.  Just when things seem to be looking up in Quinn's life everything falls apart and she doesn't know if she is too broken to pick up the pieces and go on.
    Stripped is a very well written story and the plot was interesting.  I loved Torrin.  I would have liked to have seen more details about his life.  He was hot, he was patient, he didn't take Quinn's cramp, and he wound up being really chivalrous in the end.  Quinn was another story.  I just couldn't bring myself to like her, despite feeling sorry for her. 
     That doesn't mean the story isn't good, because it is a good story.  I just didn't care for the main character.  The romance between Torrin and Quinn was....different.  In my opinion, Torrin was a saint to put up with the things he did, and he had plenty of baggage and hurts he was dealing with himself.  I was satisfied with the ending and how things worked out, and it would have been even better to have an epilogue that went into a little more detail about where their lives went, though not necessary.  It just would have been a bonus.  Overall, Stripped is a good story that is emotionally driven and at times intense.  It personally didn't blow me away, though I have read quite a few 5-star reviews, so don't let my opinion deter you at all from checking this book out.  You just may love it.  




    What I did absolutely love was this quote which was on Quinn's sister Zoe's grave marker.
    "Perhaps our eyes need to be washed by our tears once in a while, so we can see life with a clearer view again."  
    I thought that was beautiful.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I will let you know up front that th

    I really enjoyed this book. I will let you know up front that this is not a light, fluffy read. Our main character Quinn, is dealing with the emotional aftermath of losing her older sister to suicide, as well as dealing with the financial problems of her family.

    Quinn was very hard to like as a main character. She is angry over her family's financial situation, hurting over losing her sister, and therefore numb to the world. She lets herself be used because in her mind being with a douche of a guy is better than falling for a good one. Because the good ones break your heart. So I don't personally think Quinn is supposed to win you over right away. In fact, it took most of the book for me to accept her and truly like her, once she starts having a few epiphanies and realizations about her life.

    Torrin, however, is probably my favorite in the book. He is funny, witty, charming, and really cares for Quinn. He knows she is hiding things, as is he. However, he tries to strike up a friendship and then later a relationship with her. But Torrin is an overall good guy. So naturally, self-destructive Quinn isn't going to surrender without a fight. He is stubborn and won't give up on Quinn, but he refuses to let her treat him like crap. (Woo!) He has enough sense that if walking away from her is the best thing to do, then he'll do it, no matter what the heart says otherwise. He harbors a few secrets himself, and tries to do the right thing by Quinn and come clean to her, even though he knows there will be repercussions.

    I did realize the plot twist pretty early on, but when it happened to our characters and certain truths were revealed, you couldn't help but feel bad for them and hope they get their happy ending.

    Skye does utilize flashbacks that segue perfectly into the novel's present- moments of Quinn and her older sister, that really impact the book and make you hurt that much more for Quinn and her loss.

    Overall, I would recommend this book because even through the brokenness of the characters and their flaws, comes a message of hope and finding peace.

    *I received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1