Customer Reviews for

The Sable Quean (Redwall Series #21)

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Redwall series Rocks!

As usual, another great book from Brian Jacques!

posted by Laterose on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Sable Quean- another sputtering candle of the Redwall Series.

First off I've been a huge Redwall series fan since the late 1990s. I have all 21 books in different formats proudly displayed on shelves and they even have a special moving box I use when I relocate every couple of years. These books have brought great joy to me over t...
First off I've been a huge Redwall series fan since the late 1990s. I have all 21 books in different formats proudly displayed on shelves and they even have a special moving box I use when I relocate every couple of years. These books have brought great joy to me over the years, will continue to be a staple in my library for years to come and someday will be passed down. I recently purchased the nook, and to be honest I wanted The Sable Quean to be my first book on my nook and the first e-book I ever purchased. At the time early February I received my nook, and pre-ordered The Sable Quean-which didn't release until the end of February. When I finally received notification in my e-mail that The Sable Quean was ready for downloading, I was so excited. For the next 2 days I sat entranced by my nook and the latest saga of Redwall. The illustrations showed beautifully on my nook and even the map in the beginning of the book showed (it was small and lightly sketched but you can clearly read all the locations) The story started out wonderful, introductions to charming characters, familiar scenes and places. Perfect formula to another Redwall classic, but as I got further into the book, holes in the plot started to show and I tried to ignore them but they just kept nipping at my brain. I kept finding myself saying "well wait, how did they?...(I will not spoil the story) shouldn't they?..oh come on, this isn't right?" on and on the holes opened. Plus I noticed the lack of creative names, the evilness of the main "baddy", and silly plan of the main "baddy". In the middle, the story sort of fizzled out, and I found myself really concentrating thinking "it has to get better, oh please get better"-this frustrated me, and it reminded me when I first read Loamhedge, Triss or Doomwyte. So I continued out of respect for Mr. Jacques work, thinking the story would magically jump alive again, it did for a brief time then fizzled out again. I finished all 365 pages (on the nook it's 365 instead of 368 pages for some reason) sighed sadly and returned to the real world. All in all, The Sable Quean isn't the worst of the Redwall series and it isn't the best either-it's just on the lower end of the middle sadly. I still plan to purchase any new or upcoming releases (and hopefully Barnes & Noble is listening and will allow e-book formats of ALL the Redwall Series for the nook) in the future. I highly recommend the whole Redwall series-the older releases (1980s-late 1990s) are the most enjoyable and treasured tales.

posted by -LadyinWriting on March 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sable Quean- another sputtering candle of the Redwall Series.

    First off I've been a huge Redwall series fan since the late 1990s. I have all 21 books in different formats proudly displayed on shelves and they even have a special moving box I use when I relocate every couple of years. These books have brought great joy to me over the years, will continue to be a staple in my library for years to come and someday will be passed down. I recently purchased the nook, and to be honest I wanted The Sable Quean to be my first book on my nook and the first e-book I ever purchased. At the time early February I received my nook, and pre-ordered The Sable Quean-which didn't release until the end of February. When I finally received notification in my e-mail that The Sable Quean was ready for downloading, I was so excited. For the next 2 days I sat entranced by my nook and the latest saga of Redwall. The illustrations showed beautifully on my nook and even the map in the beginning of the book showed (it was small and lightly sketched but you can clearly read all the locations) The story started out wonderful, introductions to charming characters, familiar scenes and places. Perfect formula to another Redwall classic, but as I got further into the book, holes in the plot started to show and I tried to ignore them but they just kept nipping at my brain. I kept finding myself saying "well wait, how did they?...(I will not spoil the story) shouldn't they?..oh come on, this isn't right?" on and on the holes opened. Plus I noticed the lack of creative names, the evilness of the main "baddy", and silly plan of the main "baddy". In the middle, the story sort of fizzled out, and I found myself really concentrating thinking "it has to get better, oh please get better"-this frustrated me, and it reminded me when I first read Loamhedge, Triss or Doomwyte. So I continued out of respect for Mr. Jacques work, thinking the story would magically jump alive again, it did for a brief time then fizzled out again. I finished all 365 pages (on the nook it's 365 instead of 368 pages for some reason) sighed sadly and returned to the real world. All in all, The Sable Quean isn't the worst of the Redwall series and it isn't the best either-it's just on the lower end of the middle sadly. I still plan to purchase any new or upcoming releases (and hopefully Barnes & Noble is listening and will allow e-book formats of ALL the Redwall Series for the nook) in the future. I highly recommend the whole Redwall series-the older releases (1980s-late 1990s) are the most enjoyable and treasured tales.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Vilaya Regina Skelton, esq

    This was one of my favorite Redwall books but as always it was formulacic and anthology. It lacked character development as well; and especially with Vilaya's. ****** 's death was definitely a letdown and very poorly done.

    Older Redwall fans, look elsewhere. If you're tired of same old same old then this book may not be for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great book, but it has some problems

    The plot of the book is perfict, every thing sets into place in just the right way to keep you reading. The annoying hing is the dumb tipo that bkeacs up the words like t his, it happens at lest 12 times in the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Villains have invaded Mossflower again, but this time the leader

    Villains have invaded Mossflower again, but this time the leader is trying a different strategy. Instead of an out and out assault, the Sable Quean is hiding herself away and commanding her creatures to kidnap the infants and children of the land while avoiding any open warfare against the famed abbey. Little does she know the abbey and the forest are inexorably bound together for the good all all inabitants. When you mess with one, you mess with all.

    I have been reading the Redwall books for ages now, and I am aware [and freely admit] that they are formulaic. Spunky youths, wise elders, kind monks, engage in epic battles against nasty, evil scheming baddies. Soem die, but in the end, good does always triumph. Because of this some stop reading.

    I don't.

    I won't.

    Brian Jacques was a part of my childhood [or at least youth], and I love the familiarity of the world he has given me [aside from geography, but oh well, right?]. I love the garrulous hares, the humble molefolk, the augmentative shrews and all of the many species he has filling the realm. I love the friendships forged and hardships overcome. I love the joy, laughter and honest sorrow shared by the characters. I will never tire of the strange foods they make and enjoy. And I will always, always love my happy endings.

    I don't know if you've read any Jacques, but I will heartily recommend it. If you read too many back to back, you may tire of the echoes heard throughout, but if you save them for that rainy day when you've tired of the world at large, the stories of Redwall will bid you welcome and offer you a place of peace by a roaring fire.

    And The Sable Quean is no bad place to start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    :)

    Brian is dead! Nooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Redwall the sable queen

    Awesome book i think that it was very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Redwall is wonderful

    It is a wonderful story like always, and we are grateful for Brian Jaques for writing this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Amazing

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Loved it

    Ii seriously loved it. It was amazing..........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Love Redwall!!!!

    One of my favorite series in the world!!! I also love buying them on the Nook instead of having to pick through the small choice at the library and only being able to read so many in such a short time! Can't wait for number 22 to come out on here!!!! Although I wish there was a bigger choice on the Nook, too..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Love this author!

    Jaques' writing is outstanding, and his stories never grow old. i loved this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    Another Success

    This was a great redwall book! I loved it! Read this if you are a redwall fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Easily one of my favorite of the series.

    I have to say, the storyline for this book is simply amazing -- I was completely absorbed in it, even more so than usual when I read Redwall books. Once I finished the last word, it was immediately apparent that this would go onto my top five Redwall books list -- a must-read for all Redwall fans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Redwall series Rocks!

    As usual, another great book from Brian Jacques!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    great book

    If you're familiar with the Redwall series, you'll like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    Can't wait!!!

    I've read all the Redwall books so far except Doomwyte, and I know this one's going to be really great like all the others! I recommend ALL Redwall books. (A note: Some people say that Jacques's books are getting worse. THEY ARE NOT!! They are all wonderful, captivating books!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Alright!! Awesome book!

    It is sooooooooo maddening to hear prople talk bad about BRIA JAQCUES!!!!!! Im a biiiiiiiiggggg fan o fhis and get really worked up when people talk bad about him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    This book is worth a trillion million billion dollars!

    Yeah!!!!
    Redwalllllllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Linger

    Nothing much...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Kova

    Hey!!!!!!! ^~^ What's up?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5