Customer Reviews for

The Saboteurs (Men at War Series #5)

Average Rating 3
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    tired

    Griffin's 'upper crust go to war' formula is usually fairly entertaining, but in this work it is just plain dull. The plot is of the 'one thing lead to another and then the story ended' school, and the 'things' themselves are just not very interesting. I fear the old man is losing it and the son isn't up to the task of assuming his mantle. Read the first five 'Corps' books and skip this pale imitation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Crap

    I've read the previous books in the series and while they aren't the best books I've ever read, they at least had some sense of going somewhere. This one was all over the place and, as usual with the series, doesn't end, it just stops. It's as though the authors had to write a minimum number of words like a high school essay and when they reached the minimum they stopped. Too many plot lines are left hanging in mid-air. To those who wrote that they've 'loved' the previous books, I recommend Ludlum's 'Borne' books as a much better alternative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Very Disappointing

    In addition to poorly developed plot lines and wooden characters, the book contains some errors in research. For instance, J.Whit Stevens, a Philadelphia blueblood, worked in Philadelphia and ate 'gourmet' meals at the Union League of Philadelphia. In addition, Mr.Stevens and his relatives were supposed to have worked at Mellon Bank in Philadelphia (pp.115-116). This could not have been possible. Mellon was a Pittsburgh bank that only entered the Philadelphia market in 1982 when the State of PA authorized multi-bank holding companies and Mellon bought the Philadelphia-based Girard Bank.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Trial Venture Did Not Work

    Very disappointing to see Mr. W. E. B. Griffin's name shown as one of the author's. At the very best, this is a poor mimic of Griffin's style. I hope it the last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Worst Ever

    I have put this book down less than 100 pages in and will likely never pick it up again. And this from a guy who has read the Brotherhood of War, Corps and Presidential Agent series at least twice each. The inane level of detail is mind-numbing and would distract from even a good plot, which this book does not have. Clearly, Griffin lent only his name and not his talent or expertise to this undertaking. The subtle nuances Griffin uses to make his characters likable were missing and I didn't even recognize characters I had spent the previous 4 books getting to know. I am extremely disappointed and hesitant to even try to finish out the series - will I discover my friends from the first 4 books or more of the same from this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    The Saboteurs (Men at War Series #5)

    First read within series; received as gift being a fan of W.E.B. Griffin's Presidential Series ... pleasantly surprised ~ couldn't wait to get back into it ... hated to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not So Bad

    Having read several of the Griffin novels, I found this one to be reasonably in keeping with the style of the others- an interesting story, told in a rather unique way. I do agree that the ending was abrupt.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    A very disapointing 'adventure', page after page of meaningless detail. I kept waiting for the story to begin and it was over. By the way the South Capitol bridge did not exist in 1943.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    Dissapointing

    Fist effort to include Mr. Butterworth fails badly. Storyline is just plain boring. Details lead nowhere over and over again. It was painful to read from someone who has loved Mr. Griffin's previous work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Rediculous

    This was so bad. I threw my copy in a river -- just so I could have some enjoyment with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Disappointed

    I looked forward to reading this book for so long. What a disappointment it was. There is a lot that was left out. Were all the terrorists apprehended? What happened to the Sicily connection? This is definitely not one of W.E.B. Griffin's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    A NEW LOOK AT WW 2

    Nice to have a look at the events that took place in the US during WW2 and also to enjoy old heroes from previous books. I hope that there will be sequels to this book and welcome the second generation of the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Somebody call Jack Higgins

    I have so enjoyed this series until now. Ken McCoy USMC and the Pickerings would be hugely disappointed. Also, read Jack Higgins' Luciano's Luck. This plot has already been done. Please do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    What happened Mr. Griffin

    I have always thought that Mr. Griffin's work was great until this book. There should have been more about the Sicily invasion or the prep for the invasion and a better chase of the German saboteurs in the U.S. Maybe if there is another installment in this series it will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Good read, lousy ending

    The read was well paced and interesting, however the ending felt rushed, and inconclusive. Not one of his better efforts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    A GREAT START WITH A LOUSY ENDING

    I have waited expectantly for this continuation of the 'Men At War' series. Unfortunately, this book fell far short! The theme of America in the 40's was interessting, but the plot fell off a cliff when it came to Major Canidy's mission in Sicily. What could have taken the writters at least 40 pages was covered in 14 and not that many words per page at that. I recommend it for those addicted to the series and none others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Parrtially Interesting, Hugely Disappointing

    The word pictures of the Mafia and the OSS vs. FBI, and life in the early '40s were interesting. However, the '40s picture included a cab with an automatic transmission which was 'put in Park' (a chronological error)and triple deadbolted steel doors where Fulmar could see the deadbolts from outside. The dispositions of missions by Cadidy and Fulmar which the book was essentially about, came about suddenly, mysteriously, unbelieveably, and mostly disappointingly. The jaunty Canidy and Fulmer characters I had learned to know in earlier books are now just pedestrian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    A disapointment

    As an avid W.E.B. Griffin fan, I was greatly disappointed. The ending was just as if the publisher called and said 'I know you are not finished with the book but send me what you have. We have to go to press.' The end of the book (you cannot call it an ending) almost stops midsentence. There is no resolution of the book's immediate plot as most of Griffins books have done along with with leaving a desire to get the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    What happened to the editor?

    Where was the editor at the publishing house? Isn't he/she supposed to read manuscripts even if authors are well known? The Saboteurs, as it is, is just half a book. Can we get half our money returned? Just when the book gets started, it ends. There was very little about the invasion of Sicily. This book should have been the first half of a much more intense, exciting story about the invasion itself. This is my first book by this author. It was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    A good return to an old series

    Despite the 20-year gap 'The Saboteurs' is a good return to the Men at War Series, and thus to OSS heroes Richard Canidy, Eric Fulmar and the others, all of whom became known to W.E.B. Griffin fans when he wrote, in the 1980's, the first four books of this series under the pen name Alex Baldwin. The Saboteurs, co-authored by Giffin's son, William E. Botterworth IV, begins prior to the invasion of Sicily. And, as usual with Griffin's books, weaves often little known historical events into the stage for adventures of his fictional heroes. Because this book deals in Sicily Mafia mob bosses in the U.S., as well as many other real and fictional personalities, become players in the adventures of our fictional OSS heroes. I hope this is not the end of this series. Ed Evanhoe, Antlers, Oklahoma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3