Customer Reviews for

Sabriel (Abhorsen Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 538 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(430)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very well done

Sabriel is definitely a masterpiece. I have read this book probably 9 times now. No kidding! I first picked the book up in 2001 when I was in high school. I can honestly say that this was the first book I actually "read" straight through without hardly putting down...
Sabriel is definitely a masterpiece. I have read this book probably 9 times now. No kidding! I first picked the book up in 2001 when I was in high school. I can honestly say that this was the first book I actually "read" straight through without hardly putting down. The character development is very well done. Specifically with Sabriel coming into her own as The Abhorsen. Mogget, the cat, is a very funny comic relief, where as, Touchstone the sworn sword for her, is the strong silent type. All three characters blend together to make a wonderful fantasy novel. It's full of action adventure, suspense, comedy little romance. Everything a good novel should be. I would suggest to anyone who is a fantasy fan, read this book and the entire series.

posted by Kamui_Hitokiri on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Sabriel (Abhorsen Trilogy Series #1)

Its okay, but a lot of violence and strong love parts. (involves the birds n bees) I reccomend this for ADULTS!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 539 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Awesome book loved it!

    it was an excellent read from start to finish. although there could have been another book on sabriel and the romance between her and touchstone also the aftermath of the huge battle and what happened to the students and teachers at wyverly college. it was still an excellent book. it had me hooked from the first page and i couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just begun but loving it!!

    I just began reading this book a few days ago and usually its really hard for me to get through books but Sabriel has really been a blast to read and i am really enjoying it!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Very well done

    Sabriel is definitely a masterpiece. I have read this book probably 9 times now. No kidding! I first picked the book up in 2001 when I was in high school. I can honestly say that this was the first book I actually "read" straight through without hardly putting down. The character development is very well done. Specifically with Sabriel coming into her own as The Abhorsen. Mogget, the cat, is a very funny comic relief, where as, Touchstone the sworn sword for her, is the strong silent type. All three characters blend together to make a wonderful fantasy novel. It's full of action adventure, suspense, comedy little romance. Everything a good novel should be. I would suggest to anyone who is a fantasy fan, read this book and the entire series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Finally!

    Finally! Something that I could get hooked on again! I haven't been this excited about a book, or book series, since last year and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows. Contrary to a few others, I personally think that the beginning moved quickly, but gave the background details through the book. It was wonderfully written and the characters developed, even if not as much as I've seen. Can't wait to read the next ones! Plus the love! Oh the love!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Sabriel (Abhorsen Trilogy Series #1)

    Its okay, but a lot of violence and strong love parts. (involves the birds n bees) I reccomend this for ADULTS!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Treasure

    I found this treasure of a series in high school. I loved it and shared the books with who ever would take me up on my offer. It is such a creative series, dark, magical... i am now inspired to read it again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Could Not Stop

    I came across this book when I was looking for things to read on Vacation. So, I got bunch of excerpts on the EBOOK library and this book, after that small little thing I just could NOT put this book down! I had to read more! It's captivating, sweet, and adventurous. Definitely not a story line I expected, but it was so good. Sabriel is such an interesting character, I was intrigued to the very end. I can't wait to read the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it!! :)

    I read this book a few years ago and just absolutely fell in love. I can't admit much more than that because it's been too long since I've read it to remember it in detail. I do remember the story line being unique and intriguing, and I really admired Sabriel's character. I misplaced the book during 1 of my many moves, so I actually ordered it through Barnes and Noble so I can read it again. I am so excited. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2014

    "Sabriel" is a fantasy novel set in a well fleshed out

    "Sabriel" is a fantasy novel set in a well fleshed out world, and it puts a new spin on the classic tale of necromancy. It made in interested in a genre of fiction I had never previously given a chance due to stereotypes. In addition to having a captivating story, the novel features one of the best written female characters I have ever had the pleasure of reading about. Sabriel is easy to sympathize with, and she is thoroughly developed as a character. The book is worth reading simply to follow the development of her character. Readers who care more about the plot than they do about the main character, however, won't be disappointed by the story either. The author, Garth Nix, has also written other successful fantasy series, such as the "Keys to the Kingdom," series. He is skilled at world creation, and is good at using figurative language to immerse the reader into the world he is developing. I would recommend "Sabriel" because of its story, its fascinating setting, its main character, and its style. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I read this book MANY years ago when it first came into the high

    I read this book MANY years ago when it first came into the high s hool library where I taught. At that time, there was only the one book, no series yet and I remember thinking what a shame it was when the story just ended. I was truly pleased to see it listed as the daily find and even more pleased to see that the  book.has grown into a series at last. If you enjoy authors like Tamora Pierce or even the Graceling books, you will mostly certainy like this series as well. Thanks for bringing back an old friend, BN! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    Stunning

    A total immersive world full of creative writing and wonderful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2015

    Magic. These books are for those of you who just love magic. N

    Magic. These books are for those of you who just love magic. Nix, in some ways, is an excellent writer of adventure, tension and pace. First class. However, by the second book I was fed up and annoyed with all the magic. Every situation, good or bad, dire or minor is solved, resolved, developed or renewed by more, you guessed it, more magic. How will this terrible problem that can not be resolved by even the most powerful magic be resolved? New magic. Revealed magic. Magic by the cat, magic by the dog. Magic out of the past, magic from the future. For me it just ceased to be interesting because you know what is coming next. More magic. There just is not anything magic can not do. So, if that is what you want, this will be great for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    It was okay. I can see the potential but it wasn't reached.

    See headline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Amazing!

    One of the best books i have ever read. Following sabrial through some of the most facinating events in her pursuit to find her father will introduc you to new magics, monsters and on of the coolest depictions of death i think there is. I strongly encourage reading this book an its following books; Lirael and Abhorsen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    Great tale

    Well paced, and an exremely imaginitive take on the undead. Oddly, it also reminds me of a Studio Ghibli film. Excellent story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Fantasticw ! Fantastic!

    One of my favorites for years! Such a talented author! The world Nix creates iunique and so well thought out, the dtory had a good momentum, and the charcters are all so real

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2014

    This book has a very special place on my bookshelf; it's the fir

    This book has a very special place on my bookshelf; it's the first book on the shelf I have set aside as a shelf for my all time favorite books. And for good reason too! Garth Nix creates and writes fantastical worlds that are fully fleshed out and beautiful, and the characters that act within it do it in a way that is believable and are a joy to read about. There are not enough words to express how much this book means to me. I never tire of recommending this book to everyone I meet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    This Book is great for those who want to stray from the path of

    This Book is great for those who want to stray from the path of rainbows and butterflies and walk the borderline between the two worlds of life and death. Walking between the two worlds is what Necromancers do, Raising the dead for they're own nefarious plans. There is one though that walks the fine line and calls for the dead to sleep eternally, Abhorsen. With Bells of silver he binds the dead to his well and sends them back through the gates of death. But at last, he is only mortal and soon his duty will be passed on to another.
    Greatly recommend this book (and the rest of the series) as it is a great twist on a topic that very few authors like to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Excellent read

    Fantastc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Ok

    Well written, but I thoroughlydisliked the bossy weakling "heroine."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 539 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27