Customer Reviews for

Sabriel (Abhorsen Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 524 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(419)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just begun but loving it!!

I just began reading this book a few days ago and usually its really hard for me to get through books but Sabriel has really been a blast to read and i am really enjoying it!

posted by MadeyeMoody on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sabriel (Abhorsen Trilogy Series #1)

Its okay, but a lot of violence and strong love parts. (involves the birds n bees) I reccomend this for ADULTS!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 525 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Awesome book loved it!

    it was an excellent read from start to finish. although there could have been another book on sabriel and the romance between her and touchstone also the aftermath of the huge battle and what happened to the students and teachers at wyverly college. it was still an excellent book. it had me hooked from the first page and i couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just begun but loving it!!

    I just began reading this book a few days ago and usually its really hard for me to get through books but Sabriel has really been a blast to read and i am really enjoying it!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Very well done

    Sabriel is definitely a masterpiece. I have read this book probably 9 times now. No kidding! I first picked the book up in 2001 when I was in high school. I can honestly say that this was the first book I actually "read" straight through without hardly putting down. The character development is very well done. Specifically with Sabriel coming into her own as The Abhorsen. Mogget, the cat, is a very funny comic relief, where as, Touchstone the sworn sword for her, is the strong silent type. All three characters blend together to make a wonderful fantasy novel. It's full of action adventure, suspense, comedy little romance. Everything a good novel should be. I would suggest to anyone who is a fantasy fan, read this book and the entire series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Finally!

    Finally! Something that I could get hooked on again! I haven't been this excited about a book, or book series, since last year and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows. Contrary to a few others, I personally think that the beginning moved quickly, but gave the background details through the book. It was wonderfully written and the characters developed, even if not as much as I've seen. Can't wait to read the next ones! Plus the love! Oh the love!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Sabriel (Abhorsen Trilogy Series #1)

    Its okay, but a lot of violence and strong love parts. (involves the birds n bees) I reccomend this for ADULTS!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Could Not Stop

    I came across this book when I was looking for things to read on Vacation. So, I got bunch of excerpts on the EBOOK library and this book, after that small little thing I just could NOT put this book down! I had to read more! It's captivating, sweet, and adventurous. Definitely not a story line I expected, but it was so good. Sabriel is such an interesting character, I was intrigued to the very end. I can't wait to read the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it!! :)

    I read this book a few years ago and just absolutely fell in love. I can't admit much more than that because it's been too long since I've read it to remember it in detail. I do remember the story line being unique and intriguing, and I really admired Sabriel's character. I misplaced the book during 1 of my many moves, so I actually ordered it through Barnes and Noble so I can read it again. I am so excited. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I read this book MANY years ago when it first came into the high

    I read this book MANY years ago when it first came into the high s hool library where I taught. At that time, there was only the one book, no series yet and I remember thinking what a shame it was when the story just ended. I was truly pleased to see it listed as the daily find and even more pleased to see that the  book.has grown into a series at last. If you enjoy authors like Tamora Pierce or even the Graceling books, you will mostly certainy like this series as well. Thanks for bringing back an old friend, BN! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Treasure

    I found this treasure of a series in high school. I loved it and shared the books with who ever would take me up on my offer. It is such a creative series, dark, magical... i am now inspired to read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Ok

    Well written, but I thoroughlydisliked the bossy weakling "heroine."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    I bought this book in search for something new in the fantasy ge

    I bought this book in search for something new in the fantasy genre and boy did this deliver. Great characters, mythology, world building and conflict. Though it was hard to follow at some points, it was an amazing adventure and I'm looking forward to the sequel Lirael. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Might be called a Young Adults book but...

    Go ahead pick up the series, You find yourself reading it and turning each page catching up the magic Garth Nix, has woven so masterfully through the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    This Book Changed my life. it was essential in my development in

    This Book Changed my life. it was essential in my development into a young woman. it is a wonderful read and the next two books are wonderful but this one will always hold a special spot in my heart. it's worth every second to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Loved the unique magic system

    I love you," he whispered. "I hope you don't mind."

    I think that was my favorite quotes in the book. Strangely touching.

    But, to the review I would say more of a 3 1/2 star:

    I enjoyed this book a lot. The story telling was great. There was nonstop action from the start all the way to the end, so scene was wasted. Right away I was able to relate to Sabriel, she was so in over her head. But she did things because there was no other choice....and yeah she may want to curl up on the floor and hide/cry....but she had to go on and go on she would. That is what bravery is...not really the big flashy moments of heroics, which this book had plenty, but in just the decision by someone to keep going because they had too, because there is always a choice. It is easy to give up and sit and say something is too hard, but doing something, that is brave. And she messed up and her plans failed sometimes, but she did something. We all have a choice and she choose to be a hero.

    The magic. Oh my...so different. So unique. When you read as much fantasy as I have over the years, the magic systems become kind of boring and predictable. But this magic system was definitely unique. I admit I still have not fully grasped how it all works, even after reading the whole book! How is free magic different from Charter magic, what is the slit? Why is free magic so feared? But it was all so alien, that it fascinated me and made me want to learn more. I am sure many of these questions will be answered in other books, but the only other book that the magic system was so interesting that I have read was the Mistborn Trilogy. I like that I can still find surprises.

    And finally I loved the slow reveal of the plot and the many mysteries around certain characters, and the various motivations and secrets of the characters. Mogget...is still a mystery. Where did he come from? Why was he trapped in that manner? And Touchtone....there is obviously more there with him...but first...what is his actual name. I like that they still left some mystery for us. Not everything is answered and tied in a nice bow.

    I would say my only complaint is the romance aspect. I think it was a bit rushed. Frankly I always feel put off when people are declaring their undying love after a few weeks. I would have liked a bit more buildup for that. So I did not really buy it/feel it…..yet anyway.

    But all in all... great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Not only is the book incredible, but you'll never find a better

    Not only is the book incredible, but you'll never find a better narrator than Tim Curry. I've listened to this nearly five times. It never gets old!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Exceptional writing, pacing, and characters. It's a unique idea

    Exceptional writing, pacing, and characters. It's a unique idea and a beautifully described world. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    I read this book for the first time right as it came out, when I

    I read this book for the first time right as it came out, when I was in high school. The writing is fantastic, and it really pulls you in. I've read the whole series probably once a year, when I'm trying to clean out my bookshelves, and it never gets old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Minus two for two out of three writers

    Same old but if this is your genre choice better than nothing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Will read again

    Book is so enchanting that i will read again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    This has been the first book in my favorite trilogy/book series

    This has been the first book in my favorite trilogy/book series for years. I don't know how many times i've reread it in the past 5 or 6 years but it is just... AMAZING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 525 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27