Customer Reviews for

Sabriel (Abhorsen Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 531 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(426)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book loved it!

it was an excellent read from start to finish. although there could have been another book on sabriel and the romance between her and touchstone also the aftermath of the huge battle and what happened to the students and teachers at wyverly college. it was still an exce...
it was an excellent read from start to finish. although there could have been another book on sabriel and the romance between her and touchstone also the aftermath of the huge battle and what happened to the students and teachers at wyverly college. it was still an excellent book. it had me hooked from the first page and i couldn't put it down.

posted by 876756 on February 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sabriel (Abhorsen Trilogy Series #1)

Its okay, but a lot of violence and strong love parts. (involves the birds n bees) I reccomend this for ADULTS!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 426 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Drags you in

    And you can't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Amazing

    Was a real gem of my childhood, and continues further to be a gem of my adulthood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Favorite book

    This is a fantastic book, and series. An absolute must read trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    One of my favorite

    These books are some of the best books i love love love them it has been years since i read them and they still have a soft spot in my heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Amazing

    Love this book so much i have reread it three times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Memorably Unique

    So good. This book has a pulchritude not often seen in it's genre. Memorable characters, well developed characters andunique systems of magic are just some qualities of this work of art. It has the ability to rival some of the classics such as THE LORD OF THE RINGS & THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Fantastic book!

    A great read, highly recommend! Fast paced action packed page turner! Reading part two now. I agree this series is as good as all the more popular ones, ie harry potter, etc. Read this book you wont be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Addictive!

    While the beginning of this book is a bit hard to grasp what is going on it becomes addictive fast and book 2 and 3 are just as good edge of my seat good. Be open to it once the confusion is gone its replaced by awe. Garth nix is a genius

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    One of Garth Nix' best works.

    I love Garth Nix but seriously, this is the best novel he's ever written. Hands down. Believe it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Wonderful

    I am currently in fifth grade and read it in 4th. Garth Nix is one of the best authors as I highly recomend it to ages 8+..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    I love this book! Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Astounding

    One of the best books that i have ever read hands down. The trilogy concludes with abhorsen which is on its own amazing. At first i didnt know who Garth Nix was but once i read this series it put him on the map for liturature in my brain!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Really great read.

    One of my favorite fantasy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    If you love fantasy at its purest.

    The first book in the Abhorsen trilogy is phenomenal. Nix has the uncanny ability to create entirely new realms of magic without missing a beat. You will not find any of the familair Tolkeinish themes here. MY all time favorite universe to visit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Good damn book

    Its a wonderful book full of suspense. However, the action doesn't pick up until the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    READ IT!! AS IN NOW!!

    This book simply knocked my socks off! Literaly and metaphoricaly! It's amazing! Garth Nix packs a punch in the form of Sabriel! It's got adventure, it's got scary stuff, its got humor after Sabriel is joined by Mogget! It's good for anyone who loves a good adventure, action, fantasy, or creepy story! SO YOU NEED TO STOP READING REVIEWS AND BUY IT!! AS IN NOW!! BE GONE!!!
    5 STARS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    Finally something that is not totally predictable. I love fantasy, and how this was not just unexplained magic. It has a method.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    totally wicked!

    This book is so good. It is dark and scary and i love it. I read all of the series and bought them too. But this one is the best. I wish i could find more books like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    this is definately one of the best books i have evver read! i need to read the next book in this amazing series! although, it is very complex...it takes a while to understand but the thought put into it is way worth it. i wouldnt recommend it as a book report read because i tried to do that and it was probably at least a 30+ min report because it is almost a whole new language you have to learn. its one of those 'you have to read it to understand it' type of book. BUT DEFINATELY WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!'!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    fave for five years

    ive loved this book for five years, as said above. its absolutely timeless. i got the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 426 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 22