Customer Reviews for

Sacajawea

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This will be my 4th order for this book

I bought this book when it came out back in 1984 I beleive. I was a bit hesitant at first, not only because of its size, nearly 1500 pages, but the typeset was soooooo tiny,...but I never in my life read a book so rapidly and so completely obsessed. I have read and re-r...
I bought this book when it came out back in 1984 I beleive. I was a bit hesitant at first, not only because of its size, nearly 1500 pages, but the typeset was soooooo tiny,...but I never in my life read a book so rapidly and so completely obsessed. I have read and re-read my copies so much they are falling apart, and am ordering yet again to just have a copy that is intact. If ever this had come out in Hardcover, it would have been well worth the investment.

posted by BanbaOir on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Safe?

Is this book safe for children to read?Please answer honestly!

posted by ama1396 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This will be my 4th order for this book

    I bought this book when it came out back in 1984 I beleive. I was a bit hesitant at first, not only because of its size, nearly 1500 pages, but the typeset was soooooo tiny,...but I never in my life read a book so rapidly and so completely obsessed. I have read and re-read my copies so much they are falling apart, and am ordering yet again to just have a copy that is intact. If ever this had come out in Hardcover, it would have been well worth the investment.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    BEST READ EVER!

    Don't let the length of this book scare you off. It is wonderfully written and a very fast read. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. History in novel form is a fantastic way to learn something without being dry. The character development, the style of writing is wonderful. The true journal entries at the the beginning of each chapter hook you into reading all night long. Don't miss this one. I read this back in the 70's and have now read it again 30 years later. This is on my top 5 of all time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Wonderful insight into one of Americas' native heroines!

    I loved this book! I read it many years ago and could never find my hard copy, so I got it for my Nook. That too is a delightful way to read a book! It is hard to comprehend that Sacajawea was only about 14 or 15 years old when she made this trek to the Pacific Ocean. The story moves well and I stayed very interested.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Incredibly well written story...

    Like some of the others who reviewed this book, I was a bit hesitant when I first decided to read it because of how long it is....but I'm so glad I did not let that stop me. I only wish we could really know for sure how her life ended because of the historical uncertainty that has never been absolutely determined....but I prefer to chose the version where she lived to be a wise old woman with loving family around her in her final days... This is one of the finest novels I've ever had the pleasure of reading. By all means, buy it and take the time to read it, I feel very certain you will be glad you did....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    The story of a true American heroine

    I became interested in learning more about Sacajawea after seeing the movie Night at the Museum. It is evident that much research and leg work
    went into the writing of this novel....so much history! Like other reviewers, I too was intimidated by the length of this book at first but
    the writer keeps you captivated all the way through. All young Americans, especially girls should know the story of Sacajawea and how important she was to the expansion of this country. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2001

    A Must Read!

    This book will change your life. I love to read and no other book I have ever read has compared to this one. I first read this book in 1989 and have read it at least 4 times since then and I just ordered a new one because the old one was falling a part. Sacajawea is my hero and an American Hero. She does not get the credit she deserves. I guarantee you will not be able to put this book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    ok, I may be young, but his book ROX!!

    I am 13 and it took me 4 days to read this book. I loved it, and i reccomend it to everyone!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Safe?

    Is this book safe for children to read?Please answer honestly!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Highly recommended - a "classic"

    I was so excited to see this book available in e-book form. I have the original paperback. It's too fat to hold open so I have never been able to read past the first couple hundred pages. A fascinating book that I can now read comfortably.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    A-M-A-Z-I-N-G

    I loved the Book!!! It was a great story and captivated me the whole time I read it Don't let size discourage you!!! All the time I spent reading it was worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    my favorite book!

    i also i have read through this book about 4 or 5 times, and i am going to order a new one because mine is falling apart also.. i can't stop reading it. a very inspiring book. i'd love to see a new movie based on her life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    a definite must read -should be required for 'higher learning' schools

    I absolutely loved this book! It has given me a whole new perspective and respect for all those Americans-native and *****wise-who explored, charted and settled this beautiful land of ours. Yeah, sounds corny? But thats the kind of awe and respect this book actually inspires.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    Don't be intimidated...

    ...you will get so wrapped up in this book, you'll wish it were longer. I read this one years ago and became completely engrossed in anything to do with Native Americans. I am so happy to see that this one is still in print. Too many great historical fiction novels I read years ago are out of print. I'd love to have this one in hardcover, but it would probably weigh 20 lbs! BUY IT! READ IT! Be amazed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    Read this, you'll love it!

    At first, I was a little indimidated by the size of the book, but once I started it, I got into it so much, I had little else to think about.. I read it at school, read it while the tv was on.. I read it all the time. If you want to read it, I'm warning you, you'll get hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    OPEN THIS BOOK AND YOU'LL NEVER RETURN THE SAME

    WHEN I OPENED THIS LARGE WRITTEN BOOK, I THOUGHT NO WAY WILL I FINISH IT. PAGE 1, I DISSAPEARED AND APPEARED AGAIN 4 MONTHS LATER WITH TEARS IN MY EYES. YOU ARE CAPTIVATED THROUGH OUT AND NOT BEING ABLE TO COMPREHEND HOW SHE SURVIVED SUCH A LIFE SHE LEAD.the sad part was, the book ended. i wish sacajawea was here now among us, what a great women who cared so much of others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    Hard to beat

    I enjoyed this book so much, although it took me a little longer to read it, It was always very hard to put down. I also found strengths I could relate to and enjoyed reading about the voyage of the Lewis and Clark expedition, because it hit so close to home (literally). I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    I read all 1408 pages in 6 days!!

    This book was outstanding!! Even though the length is usually a turn off to a student who needs to spend ample time studying, not reading non-required books ;), I loved this book so much I could not put it down! I would reccomend this book to anyone; everyone can relate to the heroine in some aspect throughout the course of this book. I also like the way the author referred at the beginning of each chapter to the historical references, and I enjoyed her version of the ending of Sacajaweas life, where she used what information she had, and her imagination. An excellent, excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    I Loved this Book of My Heroine--Sacajawea

    I have read many books in my 54 years, and I can say this is the very best one I've ever read. I have read it over and over again. I'll say maybe 6 or 7 times. Everytime I do read it, I find something I missed the previous times. I Recommend it highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Read

    This book is such a great read its so easy to get lost into it and to lose yourself into the book. I don't think anyone else can do a better job of writing wbout this wounderful historic lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    The story of Sacajawea is historically documented throughout, yet written as a novel that has kept me up several nights! It is longer than I had expected but when we come to the end I will be disappointed to leave this very interesting lady behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3