Customer Reviews for

Sackett

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Best Western Author I've ever read!

    If you like westerns (or, maybe, if you don't really care for them) you won't want to put these stories down. If you're like me, you will want them all. I really enjoy the Sackett series, but they are all great. L'Amour has lived most of these stories himself, and does a fantastic job of researching his locals and people of the time. I've been to several of the places he writes about and know what he is describing in his books. I've read most of his work years ago, but it is worth a second or third time around. Hope you will give one a try even if you don't care for the western genre just to see if you won't take time to read through his entire collection.

    Jim Cowan

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Excellent Story!

    William Tell Sackett has become one of my all time favorite fictional characters. A man of great strength and integrity, struggling through life yet never compromising the virtues he believes in. Very inspiring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Reommend highly

    A great read, you need to read before the Sackett Brand to better understand the history of Tell Sackett and his wife.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    ONE OF THE BEST

    You will love the Sackett series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    If you like western, you will like this book

    The title of the book is called, 'Sackett.' The author of this book is Louis L'amour, and the publisher is Bantam Books, and the date of publication is May 1961, and the place of publication was in the United States and Canada. My thesis of the book is that the book was really well-writen, and was an interesting story. It had very good detail, and imagery. Some of the stories character were very interesting to read about. For instance, the main character, William Tell Sackett. He was a very intelligent person, and he was a well-built man. He always had something going wrong for him, and he was always part of the action parts of the story. For instance, the gun fights, and fist-fights. Also, another important character was Ben Hobbs. He was a young man that would seem like he was harmless, but really, he was a man to be watched.A few times people would underestimate him, and messed with him. They would soon end up hurt, or even dead.For example, in the story, Ben was getting messed with by a man and what the man didn't know was that Ben was a cook in the bar the man was about to eat in. Ben was a really good cook, and he ended up poisoning the man in his food. Also, another main character was Cap. He was an elderly man, and he kind of kept to himself, unless he knew the person. He basically stayed around Tell Sackett and Ben Hobbs the whole time. The setting of the story was a mix of different places. It started out in the mountains, then it went to Texas, then it went to the desert, and then it went to the beaches of California. The plot of the story is about a young man who is trying to find himself and his true calling. Some of the things that I like about the story was the good descriptions of the characters and the setting was well described also. Some of the things that i disliked about the story was that it kind of got boring when there wasn't enough fight scene's in the chapter. I had also liked the gun fight's. The writing style overall was just right for a western. It wasn't funny at all, it was a more enjoyable, serious kind of story. The book did give me a sense of place that was set. The narrarators voice was a serious tone. Some of the good points of the book was when the author had use good description of imagery in the story. For example 'The sudden crack of ice...the breaking of a tree branch laden with snow?' This example shows how good of a job the author did in writing good imagery. If you love reading western's, then you will really love reading this book. I really enjoyed reading this book because of the good use of imagery and description used in the book. I would recommend this story to anyone who likes reading westerns.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Very good

    Probobly the best family saga iv'e ever read. Do yourself a favor and start at the begining with to the far blue mountains. I reread this series every 5 years or so, never gets old.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    A Great Book

    This is a must read novel for any Western reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3