BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sacré Bleu: A Comedy d'Art

Average Rating 4
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Christopher Moore's latest novel SACRE BLEU is an extremely well

Christopher Moore's latest novel SACRE BLEU is an extremely well researched off the wall romp through Paris' art nobility, taking place immediately after the death of Vincent Van Gogh. And some time before that. And during the time period shortly after the dinosaurs die...
Christopher Moore's latest novel SACRE BLEU is an extremely well researched off the wall romp through Paris' art nobility, taking place immediately after the death of Vincent Van Gogh. And some time before that. And during the time period shortly after the dinosaurs died...

No, I'm not crazy. What starts as two friends (one a baker, the other a drunk, whoring aristocrat) trying to solve the death of their friend and fellow painter Vincent Van Gogh turns into a delving into the supernatural as the two meet a model (Juliette) and her odd, surly, dwarfish companion known only as "the Colorman." Along the way, the two interact with many from Paris' art scene, as well as numerous art patrons, prostitutes, a donkey named Etienne, and a genuine mad scientist.

Anyone who has read Christopher Moore knows he has a wickedly warped sense of humor, and that shines through almost from the start in this book. But this book isn't just funny, it's so well researched it's almost educational. I am non-artsy, don't care a bit about Monet or Impressionalism, and still feel like I learned a ton about painters and styles of the day. On top of that, I had a pretty great time doing it!

Some of Moore's other stories took place in a world he created. But here he proves his ability to paint on someone else's canvas (wow, I learned more than I thought!), and in doing so adds another dimension to his work.

Christopher Moore fans, indeed fans of the comic novel in general, will thoroughly enjoy this book.

If you do not find this review helpful, please leave a comment so that I know how I may improve my reviews.

posted by Rob_Ballister on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I'm a HUGE, HUGE Chris Moore fan. I've read this entire collect

I'm a HUGE, HUGE Chris Moore fan. I've read this entire collection and love most of everything he's ever done. However, this book really let me down. I'm not sure if I just don't get it or it just isn't funny. This is not his usual biting sarcasm and wit. It has st...
I'm a HUGE, HUGE Chris Moore fan. I've read this entire collection and love most of everything he's ever done. However, this book really let me down. I'm not sure if I just don't get it or it just isn't funny. This is not his usual biting sarcasm and wit. It has started so slowly I just gave up.

posted by LeftOfSean on April 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Christopher Moore's latest novel SACRE BLEU is an extremely well

    Christopher Moore's latest novel SACRE BLEU is an extremely well researched off the wall romp through Paris' art nobility, taking place immediately after the death of Vincent Van Gogh. And some time before that. And during the time period shortly after the dinosaurs died...

    No, I'm not crazy. What starts as two friends (one a baker, the other a drunk, whoring aristocrat) trying to solve the death of their friend and fellow painter Vincent Van Gogh turns into a delving into the supernatural as the two meet a model (Juliette) and her odd, surly, dwarfish companion known only as "the Colorman." Along the way, the two interact with many from Paris' art scene, as well as numerous art patrons, prostitutes, a donkey named Etienne, and a genuine mad scientist.

    Anyone who has read Christopher Moore knows he has a wickedly warped sense of humor, and that shines through almost from the start in this book. But this book isn't just funny, it's so well researched it's almost educational. I am non-artsy, don't care a bit about Monet or Impressionalism, and still feel like I learned a ton about painters and styles of the day. On top of that, I had a pretty great time doing it!

    Some of Moore's other stories took place in a world he created. But here he proves his ability to paint on someone else's canvas (wow, I learned more than I thought!), and in doing so adds another dimension to his work.

    Christopher Moore fans, indeed fans of the comic novel in general, will thoroughly enjoy this book.

    If you do not find this review helpful, please leave a comment so that I know how I may improve my reviews.

    31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Fourth fave

    This is my fourth fave C Moore book after Lamb, Dirty Job ad Fool. Love the characters and as always the mystical female. This bastard is such a genius at dialogue and my jealousy of his talent grows with each new book


    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Worth a read

    Would recomend for highschoolers or others taken by the idea of the parisian art scene

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sacre Bleu: A Comedy d’Art By Christopher Moore Vincent v

    Sacre Bleu: A Comedy d’Art
    By Christopher Moore

    Vincent van Gogh has been murdered; Lucien Lessard is a painter/baker/rat catcher once he learns of van Gogh’s demise he immediately heads to the Moulin Rouge in search of his closest friend Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec. The two of them spend a great deal of time together until Lucien’s ex-lover whom broke his heart returns and Lucien finds himself lost to Juliette and he even begins to loose large chunks of time not knowing where or what he was doing. Lucien’s family Toulouse Lautrec’s help in rescuing Lucien from the woman, once Henri tries to intervene he begins to uncover a shocking truth that not only effects Lucien but all painters.

    I have always been a fan of impressionism so I had worried that Christopher Moore may not be able to capture some of the paintings that I love, but he not only managed to make each artist outrageously funny and interesting but he brought to life some of the world’s most precious pieces of art. I have read a few of Christopher Moore’s novels before and I always end up laughing, if you have a crude sense of humor and can’t help but giggle at idiotic things then this will surely keep you enthralled if not then you may want to move on quickly. My favorite scene was Lucien as a boy in a graveyard trying to catch snails, when he spots one he says “Ah Ha” and in turn the snail says “Ah Ha” to which the young Lucien starts to run away screaming, that isn’t the entire scene of course you will have to actually read the book to find out more but it is a glimpse into the absurdity and childish humor I so love from Christopher Moore.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    I'm a HUGE, HUGE Chris Moore fan. I've read this entire collect

    I'm a HUGE, HUGE Chris Moore fan. I've read this entire collection and love most of everything he's ever done. However, this book really let me down. I'm not sure if I just don't get it or it just isn't funny. This is not his usual biting sarcasm and wit. It has started so slowly I just gave up.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Are you SURE Christopher Moore wrote this? Usually one can alway

    Are you SURE Christopher Moore wrote this? Usually one can always count on him for refreshingly quirky
    characters
    and hilarious (if deeply bent)

    plots.But Sacre Bleu is just not funny.Perhaps his mistake is in taking the subject too seriously. I realize that not every book can be a gem, but this one is a real letdown after "Fool". Moore should stick to what he does best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    I have read everything that Christopher Moore has written and lo

    I have read everything that Christopher Moore has written and loved them all, till now. The story line in Sacre Bleu is so slow and tiresome that I almost gave up finishing it. Which is a shame, the author is so worried about including so many historical facts the the story seems to go on forever. I just didn't find this book as witty and spell binding as his other works. If you haven't read a Christopher Moore novel before don't start with this book. His other works are much better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Linda

    Quirky, but I loved it. Great incite into life in that wonderfully creative time. Don't know how he could weave artists from past to present in such a creative, funny and very unusual way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Totally disappointed - loved all his other books, I mean loved t

    Totally disappointed - loved all his other books, I mean loved them.
    This one was hard to read, and disappointing.......I will give it one star
    just because it's Christopher Moore

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Ready to buy

    The sample reads as another great book. I would like to know if all photos in the book are in the E-book. The story of van go is a best start.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Sacre bleu!

    Usual christopher moore wit. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    love his books but this one sucked

    love his books but this one sucked

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Great Author, Great Book.

    I always enjoy Christopher Moore's humor and writing. He reminds us that we don't have to take the world so seriously and can laugh, most often, at ourselves. I would recommend any of Moore's books, including this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    Big fan or Moore's, but this one was not up to par with the rest

    I am a BIG FAN of Christopher Moore's books and have bought and read every one of them. I have loved every single one - up until this one. Sacre Bleu lacks the wild imagination and irrverent humor that Moore had made me accustomed to. For one thing, I typically read his other books rather quickly - usually less than a week - because I didn't want to put them down. It took me two months to read Sacre Bleu. It was a difficult slog until Part III, when I finally felt like I wanted to pick up the book and see what would happen next. Parts I and II seemed like a tedious art history lesson that wasn't going anywhere. If not for my previous experiences with Moore's books, I would have tossed the book and looked for something else to read. However, I persevered - hoping the story would somehow come together - but I was very disappointed. Part III got better and closer to Moore's typical writing, but it just didn't achieve the brilliance of his other stories. The pace picked up, but it lacked punch. The chuckles that came were also few and far between. The two stars I gave it were because it was just okay as a standalone book. Unfortunately, compared to the rest of Moore's catalog, it surely deserved 0 stars. Sorry Christopher, but I buy your books for what they make me feel. This one let me down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Wonderfully Original

    For any Christopher Moore fan this book is a must read. It can be a little dry at times but it is ultimately an engaging novel featuring a series of multidimensional characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    CHRIS CRACKS ME UP AGAIN

    I absolutely believe that Chris is the funniest writer of our time. This one had me laughing out loud. If you haven't read any of Chris Moore's books you should check them out. If you end up not liking them you may want to give serious thought as to why you are my friend. Just saying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    If you love early "modern art" and dark fantasy

    This was my least favorite Christopher Moore book. It had his usual absurd, irreverent tone, but it just seemed esoteric to me, like I wasn't really getting most of the novel because I was unfamiliar with most of the artists who were characters. If you love and are very familiar with early modern European artists (Van Goh, Whistler, etc.), especially those in the Parisian scene where most of this novel takes place, and don't mind irreverence & the macabre, I suspect you will absolutely love this novel.

    If you're a fan of Moore's other work, but not an art afficionado, then I suggest you give this one a pass; it's a lot more dense and obscure than most of his other books. I found it overall entertaining (with my small knowledge of modern art), but at times frustrating or even boring as he delved into different artist stories. The character development is not very strong as he seems to be relying on readers to understand and know the historical characters that he is referencing. It has humor, but is very dark (much darker than the other books I've read by him).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    This is the best of Christopher Moore. I've reread this book sev

    This is the best of Christopher Moore. I've reread this book several times now and still laugh at all of the quick wit. Historical fiction is a great genre and he serves it justice with Sacre Bleu. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Not great

    It really lacks the humor that is normally in his books. It reads quite like a funny book without any humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    As usual with Moore, the writing and fantasy are top notch, but

    As usual with Moore, the writing and fantasy are top notch, but Sacre Bleu is far from the funniest book in the authors cannon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5