BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sacred (Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    Dennis Lehane...why haven't I read you before???

    I read Sacred after a friend passed the hardback to me. She bought it on a bargain table at a local bookstore and highly recommended it. I LOVED IT.... found out it was #3 in a series of 5 to date and rushed out to buy all the others! I am almost through 'Darkness Take My Hand' and resent every second I have to be away from reading it. Dennis, your books are wonderful! Keep this series going. I feel like I know the characters and I want to know what is next!! I recommend all of these books to anyone who reads the crime/mystery/thriller type books. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    Another Solid Hit For Lehane!

    Sacred is another terrific mystery in the series featuring Patrick Kenzie and Angie Gennaro, the team you'd want on your side if you needed a private investigation -- if only they were real people. Lehane describes these characters in such realistic detail and uses such crisp dialogue that you forget that they are only fictional characters. Nonetheless, they are characters you want to get to know better, and Lehane successfully evolves the personalities of Patrick and Angie in each of the five books in the series. Thus, it's best if you read the series in chronological order. Sacred is very fast-paced and loaded with surprising plot twists, which forces you to read on non-stop. While you can see I am very high on Sacred, it -- believe it or not -- is not the best book in the series. Of the four I've read so far, I enjoyed Darkness, Take My Hand and Gone, Baby Gone even more. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to all of Lehane's books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Excellent

    First book I have ever read by this author. Glad there are others of his to read. Well paced and well plotted. Interesting characters and strong sense of place reminiscent of the Florida of Travis McGee. Also had nor realized that some excellent movies have been made from some of Lehanes other work. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    I winner

    You fall in love with Kenzie and Gennaro as they first fall in love with each other. Great suspense and action on the shoot out on the bridge between them and the bad guys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    I am still enjoying this series very much. The chemistry between Kenzie and Gennaro is very entertaining and the story line is very interesting. Not all is what it seems in this story and you find yourself not trusting any character. This was not as good and Darkness Take My Hand but it was still a very good read and I enjoyed it immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sacred

    Before I started this book, I read the reviews on B&N and I read many negative reviews from readers. After reading Darkness, Take my Hand, I figured many people felt that Dennis Lehane didn't bring his A game for Sacred. Well, I thought that Sacred was just as good as the first two novels in the Patrick Kenzie/Angela Gennaro series. this book was so good. Lehane is an amazing writer of crime, I think he is the best modern crime-noir writer. His books are funny and violent, and you can't stop from thinking about Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett when reading this series(especially Sacred, so far, it most closely resembles classic noir novels). If you are looking for crime novels when you get tired of stuff by James Patterson, I would recommend Lehane, Michael Connelly, George Pelecanos, Richard Price, and HBO's the Wire.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another good read by LeHane.

    Lehane's style of writing is interesting down to the last page. The book becomes a psychological thriller with the main characters Patrick and Angie caught in the middle. I found this book to be my least favorite of the series, however, compared to the other four that still speaks highly for this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2004

    Sunshine Skyway Bridge

    After reading Shutter Island (great book) I decided to try another book by Lehane. Well I found this book even better. If you ever been to Tampa or St. Pete¿s in Florida your gonna love this book because it makes you feel like your there again and you might think twice about the Sunshine Skyway Bridge. This book has it all - Great characters, witty dialogue, plot twisting, suspense, action, romance, etc., who could ask for anything more? One of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    A NEW FAN

    I picked this book upu at the bargain table and I fell in love with the characters as well as the writer. His imagery is wonderful and I felt like I knew the characters first hand. It has taken me several months to find a writer that is passionate and takes time to embrace his characters, but he has proved that his writing style is a welcome treat to new readers as well as avid readers. Don't miss the opportunity to discover his work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Pu<_>ssy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Goldpaw

    Um hello.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Silverstreak

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Dawn

    Paded to a diffrent result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Sacred

    He looked at the other she cat and dipped his head,"hello there."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Sacred

    He smiled at all the she cats, "okay each of you go to seperate results. But after the one that is filled."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Stream

    A white she-cat padded in. "Um, hi," she mewed shyly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Dennis, give us more of this series, please!

    Read the #5 of this series first, and went back and bought all the other 5 in the series. Kept me entertained for a month! Loved this series, and the other Dennis Lehane books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    good read

    another good one from a favorite author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    All his books are good!

    Enjoyed this very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Recommend

    Good read, good mystery, good humor. Dennis Lehane books are always good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7