Customer Reviews for

Sacred Contracts: Awakening Your Divine Potential

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I read Anonymous posted June 4, 2010 and was baffled. The perso

I read Anonymous posted June 4, 2010 and was baffled. The person ranted about politics and Caroline Myss and this book has nothing to do with politics. I don't know why that post is still up. I read this book without having read Anatomy of Spirit and I loved it. Eve...
I read Anonymous posted June 4, 2010 and was baffled. The person ranted about politics and Caroline Myss and this book has nothing to do with politics. I don't know why that post is still up. I read this book without having read Anatomy of Spirit and I loved it. Even if you weren't interested in doing your archetypel wheel there was still so many interesting information in it. I was brought up Catholic, as she was, but I am not in to any religion and you don't need to be to enjoy this book. I learned many things that will never go away. Thank you Caroline!

posted by Duffy52 on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Caroline a spiritual teacher now turn into a political partisan sharp tongue columnist

I've love her very early works, before she became this world famous spiritual teacher. You can sense from her voice, a humble, gentle person who had inspired millions of people including myself! Especially her "Spiritual power & spiritual practice". But ever since las...
I've love her very early works, before she became this world famous spiritual teacher. You can sense from her voice, a humble, gentle person who had inspired millions of people including myself! Especially her "Spiritual power & spiritual practice". But ever since last year presidential election, Caroline has changed to this sharp tongue, partisan, opinionated political person who writes articles on HuffingtonPost.com and their news paper, criticizing all Republicans parties, candidates or anyone who is not supporting the democrats party because their political views is not the same as hers. I feel that she is not living what she preach! You are an spiritual teacher! You should rise above all these political madness and use your power and inspirational words to bring people together! Especially during this trouble time, instead of clam people's anger & differences on the health care bills that just past, she writes many articles to add the oil into fire to make people more partisan and angry! Caroline, I am so disappointed by the direction you took. I think you were a wonderful spiritual teacher when you just started many years ago, maybe your success and ego has finally got to you! Please bring back the old Caroline Myss we love! Not this political driven, sharp tongue partisan columnist! If you are republican, or not agree with the health care bills that just passed or the direction of our country is heading, go to HuffingtonPost.com and type in the search section of Caroline Myss you'll see what I am talking about! ( http://www.huffingtonpost.com/caroline-myss/are-republican-right-wing_b_516467.html ) Caroline, please stay out of the politics! And use your wisdom and spiritual insights to bring people together not dividing them!

posted by 3310068 on June 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I read Anonymous posted June 4, 2010 and was baffled. The perso

    I read Anonymous posted June 4, 2010 and was baffled. The person ranted about politics and Caroline Myss and this book has nothing to do with politics. I don't know why that post is still up. I read this book without having read Anatomy of Spirit and I loved it. Even if you weren't interested in doing your archetypel wheel there was still so many interesting information in it. I was brought up Catholic, as she was, but I am not in to any religion and you don't need to be to enjoy this book. I learned many things that will never go away. Thank you Caroline!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    Caroline a spiritual teacher now turn into a political partisan sharp tongue columnist

    I've love her very early works, before she became this world famous spiritual teacher. You can sense from her voice, a humble, gentle person who had inspired millions of people including myself! Especially her "Spiritual power & spiritual practice". But ever since last year presidential election, Caroline has changed to this sharp tongue, partisan, opinionated political person who writes articles on HuffingtonPost.com and their news paper, criticizing all Republicans parties, candidates or anyone who is not supporting the democrats party because their political views is not the same as hers. I feel that she is not living what she preach! You are an spiritual teacher! You should rise above all these political madness and use your power and inspirational words to bring people together! Especially during this trouble time, instead of clam people's anger & differences on the health care bills that just past, she writes many articles to add the oil into fire to make people more partisan and angry! Caroline, I am so disappointed by the direction you took. I think you were a wonderful spiritual teacher when you just started many years ago, maybe your success and ego has finally got to you! Please bring back the old Caroline Myss we love! Not this political driven, sharp tongue partisan columnist! If you are republican, or not agree with the health care bills that just passed or the direction of our country is heading, go to HuffingtonPost.com and type in the search section of Caroline Myss you'll see what I am talking about! ( http://www.huffingtonpost.com/caroline-myss/are-republican-right-wing_b_516467.html ) Caroline, please stay out of the politics! And use your wisdom and spiritual insights to bring people together not dividing them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    A sad summary of great philosophies and religions

    I read Anatomy of the Spirit and liked it very much. However, Sacred Contracts is so superficial and lacks content that it was painful to read it. The author uses examples such as movies and actors stories to make her point, but misses the real objective. She does not go deep into the theories and uses her ¿intuitive¿ excuse to justify things, when actually there are theories that support that. This book is a mix of pop culture with philosophy and does not contribute with something new, useful or interesting. I was pretty disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Cannot put this book down!! Cannot wait to read the others. Than

    Cannot put this book down!! Cannot wait to read the others. Thank you Caroline :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Borrowed book from library to read prior to purchasing as i do w

    Borrowed book from library to read prior to purchasing as i do with all self help non fiction books and........WOW love this book and am begining to cast my wheel. Have my archetypes that resonate with me and begining to explore them more deeply. This book is a je

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book for the Ages

    Have you ever wondered what your life purpose was? Caroline Myss's books "Sacred Contracts" is a powerful book for rediscovering your own unique talents and gifts. One of the first steps towards wisdom is self-knowledge. You can begin to understand more by reawakening to your own dreams and passions and then redirecting your valuable time and energy towards your highest potential. I highly recommend this book and the exercises. Completing a sacred contract 12 house wheel is tremendously helpful for inner guidance and life choices now and into the future. I created my own archetypal wheel in 2004 and I have it near my calendar as a regular reminder and map of where I am heading in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    T had enjoyed reading Caroline Myss Sacred Contracts

    I feel Sacred Contracts is an informative and thorough book which explores archetypes. It puts us in touch with the human psyche and is creative genius. I have been following Caroline for years and this is the first book I ever hear of hers on audio cd. I believe we all come to earth with a purpose and mission to help others reach their full potential. Caroline addresses the different types of archetypes in which we will encounter on our life's journey. I truly identified with some of her religious references alongside her spiritual tone which invited me into a mystical world. We are all mirrored reflections of eachother, and Caroline so eloquently expresses this in her work. It is very detail oriented and I feel should be digested in more than one read. I have read this book a few times and have walked away more empowered regarding my life's purpose. I recommend this book for beginners who question the validity of why we incarnate upon earth and what our mission is exactly. This book will narrow down your search for meaning in a world filled with various choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Awareness and Awakening

    With the use of archetypes and symbols as metaphors, Carolyn Myss has unlocked the secrets of helping people find their true pathway in life. I would recommend it for every human being that is on our Mother Earth, for she spins light and compassion for all people, while she is healing us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    A BOOK WITH DEPTH

    Finding your purpose in life and attaining personal spiritual renewal is what this book is about. It is a wonderful guide to accomplishing just that. Thankyou to the Author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    Absolutely Outstanding

    Caroline Myss touches a deep place in all of us who believe that life is more than just a series of random chances and that we are indeed here for a purpose. This book will be appreciated by people of every religious tradition and by those from no tradition. A must read for all truth-seekers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    What an amazing mind!

    Carolyn Myss has done it again! Her book, Sacred Contracts expands on the same idea as in Miguel Ruiz, The Four Agreements, about agreements and contracts. The appeal of Myss's work is that she writes in terms of archetypical imagery and about agreements we enter into, before we are born. What a wonderful premise. I have a much greater understanding after reading her book, but then I usually feel that way after being exposed to her writings or audio recordings. I found her Sacred Contract material taken into more practical dimensions in the book by Debra J. Gawrych, The 7 Aspects of Sisterhood: Empowering Women Through Self-Discovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2002

    Transformative

    This book takes Jung's psychological concept of archetypes beyond anything Jung himself did and brings the idea squarely into the 21st century. This is a truly transformative book. It can help the reader change at a deep level and begin to understand why they do the things they do. I also love 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' by Taro Gold, which is also filled with life-changing wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    Wow, Was my divine potential opened!

    I was interested in sacred contracts for a while and didn't know how to open my divine potential. I knew how to open my potential, but not my *divine* potential. Thanks to this book 'Sacred Contracts: Awakening Your Divine Potential' I am now able to use sacred contracts to open my divine potential. Not just my normal, every day potential. Nor do I have to worry about sacred contracts, when before all I knew about was ordinary, every day contacts. I am now ready to awaken my divine potential with sacred contracts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2002

    Life-changing

    This book takes Jung's psychological concept of archetypes beyond anything Jung himself did and brings the idea squarely into the 21st century. This is a truly transformative book. It can help the reader change at a deep level and begin to understand why they do the things they do. I also love 'Open Your Mind, Open Your Life' by Taro Gold, which is also filled with life-changing wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2002

    Humankind

    Good contribution to humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    A very direct approach to finding one's true 'path' in life.

    This is a great book. Like her other works, it is a great tool in finding and staying on a Spiritual path. I found it very revealing. I was reading 'Spiritual Quanta' at the same time, and both books lead me to a place of peace that is indescribable. Thank you for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    A Contribution

    A definite spiritual aid and does give solid support for purpose in this life. From this book Sacred Contracts or Origins, we came from a place with a predestined contract that we have to intuitively seek out in this life. The book uses a vast array of historical and modern spirituality to help you find your individual contract from what you sense coming your inner self. The books plan is to bring you to your well of life purpose. I do believe this book is a huge spiritual aid to anyone open. I have to recommend a book that really helped me, see below.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2002

    Caroline Myss at her very best!

    I've seriously studied Dr. Myss' work for many years. I doubted I would find much new in this book. I was pleasantly surprised, even stunned. This is a wonderful, insightful, witty, book. Rich with the stories and anecdotes that exemplify her in-person teaching style, 'Sacred Contracts' moves easily from information to example. She intuites the reader's questions and provides answers. The ideas are both lofty and practical. This is a book for today, and guidance for tomorrow. The exercises for self-discovery are intriguing with well-thought-out instructions giving very clear guidance. On the subject of 'Sacred Contracts,' Dr. Myss' says '...my belief (is) that our life is laid out in steps and stages arranged in such a way that we always have the opportunity for spiritual transformation...' She goes on, 'Your Sacred Contract allows you countless chances to grow and change,dependent only on your willingness to pick up subtle clues and cues that appear along the way.' After discussing the various components of a Sacred Contract, Dr. Myss offers step-by-step instructions that lead the reader to their own Sacred Contract. She tells how others have come to understand their own Sacred Contract. She even explains how her own Contract presented itself through various experiences of her life. Long-time students of Dr. Myss' work will find many of the ideas brought forth in her other books, her audio tapes, her workshops, and even her web site, are brought together in one place. Newcomers to her work should enjoy this book as it stands neatly alone. I'm reading it again, and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2