Customer Reviews for

Sacred Games

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Can't Finish This

    The author presupposes that one has a familiarity with Indian Culture and words. When he said that something smelled like Gur, I had no idea if that was good or bad (is it sweet food or excrement?) and that's just one of many examples. I found that it was just too difficult googling words so often and that took away from my reading enjoyment. I don't always read near a computer. I read books to learn something or to enjoy the reading experience for entertainment. The plot and characters of Sacred Games were so interesting that I wish I could read the rest of the story, but alas, I'm giving the book away.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Incredible...

    As huge as this novel is, it still surprises me that the author managed to put this much story into 900 pages. I saw at least 3 distinct novels in this piece, but I am glad that it is all combined in one volume. Vikram Chandra has amazing talent, and leaves no stone unturned in his writing. This novel is impressive, well written, and thought provoking. A great effort from a great author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Fantastic

    I must day that I could not finish Vikram Chandra's first novel 'Red Earth and Pouring Rain'. This one is fantastic, there is no other word to describe it at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Sacred Games

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Just started reading this huge novel and wanted to let future re

    Just started reading this huge novel and wanted to let future readers (and Dyerfan) know that there is a glossary in the back of the book to help w/unfamiliar words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What are you thinking of, bhai?  I like epic stories, I like big

    What are you thinking of, bhai? 
    I like epic stories, I like big books, I like the setting of Bombay, I even like the way Vikram Chandra writes, but I don’t like this book. I can’t help but feel that this story could have benefited from a more concise edit. There’s WAY too much stuff in here that doesn’t matter; scattered throughout the book are tangent chapters which only incidentally relate to the main characters or the story! If a meandering story with lots of flavor appeals to you, maybe you can enjoy it, but for me this story felt like too much work with little payoff. Never again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Worthy of Worship. An incredable epic novel. The effort you put

    Worthy of Worship. An incredable epic novel. The effort you put into reading this very long novel is worth every minute. A real rodeo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Excellent

    Just a great story. Great writing, great characters, plot, backstories, etc. Great descriptions of Mumbai and India, but they were never dull. The setting was as compelling a character as any of the characters themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sacred Games

    A journey into another land, where things are familiar on the surface but become darker and more perilous the further you wander. I knew nothing of the Indian culture going into the book and was pleasantly surprised by some of the cultural and historical (implied) situations and positions discussed in the book. The characters were developed a little slowly at first and once the book gets going, it was easy to pick out my favorites. At times it felt like there was too much detail in the writing, yet it all managed to come together in the end, and I don't think it would have without the extra details up front. I loved the side stories interjected throughout the main story and how they nicely tied into and related back to the overall adventure being pursued by the characters. It was refreshing and felt more honest to have all the threads of the journey weave together at the end without a bow or clichéd ending. I really enjoyed the various arenas the book explores: gangsters, families, religion, commerce, governments and their agencies, teachers, rebels, kids all wrapped together with the same goal in their hearts but a thousand different ways to obtain it. On one level Sacred Games is fine example of religion being twisted and used to manipulate and remove opposition. My only recommendation would be to use the glossary at the back of the book from the start. I never look at the back cause I don't want to ruin the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2