Customer Reviews for

Sacred Stone (Oregon Files Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Clive Cussler I have Read So Far

This was a great read. It is the third of the Oregon files I have read and enjoyed it very much. The last 50 or so pages were extremely exciting. I like the short chapters and the fact that the author keeps a large number of balls in the air at the same time. The Oregon...
This was a great read. It is the third of the Oregon files I have read and enjoyed it very much. The last 50 or so pages were extremely exciting. I like the short chapters and the fact that the author keeps a large number of balls in the air at the same time. The Oregon Series is an interesting contrast to the Dirk Pitt series and the Kurt Austin/NUMA series since there is a bunch of hero characters instead of a single one or two with Dirk and Kurt's sidekicks. I am definitely a Clive Cussler booster.

posted by bighalfromsactocal on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

{:{

Loved Dirk Pitt novels, but this one was just TOO busy. At times good reading but mostly 2 or 3 sentences and a change of scene.TOO many balls in the air at once. I got within 40 pages of the end and just gave up. Couldn't follow all the characfers and plot lines. Don't...
Loved Dirk Pitt novels, but this one was just TOO busy. At times good reading but mostly 2 or 3 sentences and a change of scene.TOO many balls in the air at once. I got within 40 pages of the end and just gave up. Couldn't follow all the characfers and plot lines. Don't waste your time on this one. Avid reader, GROGTX

posted by GROGTX on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    {:{

    Loved Dirk Pitt novels, but this one was just TOO busy. At times good reading but mostly 2 or 3 sentences and a change of scene.TOO many balls in the air at once. I got within 40 pages of the end and just gave up. Couldn't follow all the characfers and plot lines. Don't waste your time on this one. Avid reader, GROGTX

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Always love the oregan series

    One of the things i often enjoy about cussler's work is how he shows the so-called "bad guys" in a layered way that gives you something to think about. Another solidly written enjoyable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Good Read

    This is definitely a step up from Cusslers first book on the Oregon files. A lot more cohesive. Hopefully he cuts down on the number of characters a little in other books in this series (I'm reading them in order). Plenty of action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Cussler always gives you a good read

    I like the Oregon files better than the Pitt series. I like the characters and how theyve been developed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    This special ship helps to save the world

    Can't put it down. Can't wait to see what will happen next.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cussler Stamp

    If you are a Cussler fan this is standard fare in the Oregon Files. A good read, but not a page burner. The plot is right out of today's headlines and is well developed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Clive Cussler I have Read So Far

    This was a great read. It is the third of the Oregon files I have read and enjoyed it very much. The last 50 or so pages were extremely exciting. I like the short chapters and the fact that the author keeps a large number of balls in the air at the same time. The Oregon Series is an interesting contrast to the Dirk Pitt series and the Kurt Austin/NUMA series since there is a bunch of hero characters instead of a single one or two with Dirk and Kurt's sidekicks. I am definitely a Clive Cussler booster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Another classic from a master storyteller

    There has been much criticism surrounding the factual details within this book. Sure, the book clearly shows how the authors have never studied a map of the UK, and perhaps some people might get annoyed at the inaccuracies of train station announcements, but these are just small details and can be forgiven seeing as this is not real life, but a work of fiction! So what if the book puts Edinburgh west of Glasgow, it's not a geography book, but an adventure novel set in a make believe world. It would be nice if facts could be researched, but I feel that many publishers put such stringent deadlines on these mass paperback authors that they simply don't have the time to fact check the smaller things. It's also obvious that most of this book is written by Craig Dirgo, and that Cussler's name is on it because he invented the character in a Dirk Pitt novel. The style is very different from his others, and it does tend to jump about and it's sometimes hard to keep up. However, all this aside, the book is an enjoyable read and it did keep me wanting to turn the pages to see what happens next, which is always the mark of a good author. I put another unfinished book down to read this Cussler book, and did not regret it. Which goes to show that his work is still a cut above the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Elder's Den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Zoey

    Wow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    AHhhhhhhhh

    Kenneth stop

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    KENS' STORY ~CHAPTER NINE~

    (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((0)))))))

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    darkclaw

    From her to the end will b caves ~darkclawe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    recommende reading

    Clive does it once more- this is a good ebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Not to bad of a Book, Not Dirk Pitt!!

    Good fast read, not typical Cussler Attitude.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Adventure, travel and good characters!

    I enjoy the respectful character developement of Cussler stories. He is one of the best adventure writer I have read. I enjoy looking at Google earth and traveling with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Couldn't even finish this one..

    I'm a big Cussler fan.. have been for years. This book is just not up to his usual standards. I have to wonder if Mr. Cussler had any role in its creation, other than collecting a fee for allowing his name to go on the cover. What a disappointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    check this one out

    This is one of the best Cussler's I have read in quite some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Oh, was this a surprise

    I've read numerous Clive Cussler books (Dirk Pitt and Kurt Austin series) and absolutely love them. I hadn't read any of the Oregon Files series until this book, and I couldn't believe it was written by the same person. This book should be titled "Clive Cussler Lite". I finished it because I seldom put a book down until it reaches a conclusion, but I came close on several instances. Terrible! No real tension, way too many characters, no danger. Nothing to get the reader interested. Extremely disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Girls Love Cussler, Too

    I am a huge Cussler fan- have read every Dirk Pitt several times. I have enjoyed the other Oregon Files, but this one, not so much. Cussler books are not for realists, that's the fun of them. But this one stretched credibility too much even for a hard-core fan like me. 'Saving the day with foam?' Read it, but don't go in with high expectations. I'm thinking Cussler should sever ties with Craig Dirgo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7