Customer Reviews for

Sacred Treason

Average Rating 3.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Read!!

Sacred Treason was one of those novels that took me completely by surprise. I was blown away by how much I enjoyed this book and I really have to thank the publicist who contacted me offering me a spot on this books tour.

This book had everything I wanted. I haven't...
Sacred Treason was one of those novels that took me completely by surprise. I was blown away by how much I enjoyed this book and I really have to thank the publicist who contacted me offering me a spot on this books tour.

This book had everything I wanted. I haven't read many historical mysteries especially not ones set in Tudor England so this one was a real treat for me. I can honestly say that I've never read a book like it and I'm super excited that I had the opportunity to read this.

I really enjoyed the sense of adventure in this novel as Clarenceux solved the mystery behind the mysterious book that his friend Henry gave him. It was a non-stop ride for me and I found myself staying up late last night just to finish it because I couldn't help but want to see what would happen next.

The writing was seemless and addictive each chapter left me wanting to find out more and more and I very much enjoyed the characters that James Forrester created in his fictional debut. I have to say that Clarenceux is one of my new favourite characters now because he himself was just as intriguing as the mystery surround the book in his possession.

The way the book was set up was very much in the way of an adventure novel. I loved the historical details that were paid attention to and the descriptions of the times, the places and the people were wonderfully done. I loved the tension between Clareneux and his wicked counterparts who were up to no good it was thrilling to see how the whole novel played out and I'm glad I had a chance to read it.

I really think that the author's historical background was a real asset to him in writing this novel. He's an author of non fiction titles under his real name Ian Mortimer which gives him that extra edge to pen this series.

Like I said before I'm not really familiar with the historical mystery genre Sacred Treason has really sparked an interest in me to explore other books that are part of the genre and there's nothing I like more than to be introduced to a new genre so you can expect to see more reviews of books like this in the future. Since I am a fan of both historical fiction as well as mystery novels this bridge between both genres worked out well for me.

I highly recommend this book to those who are fans of historical fiction and historical mysteries. If you love books set in Tudor England than I think this book might just be up your alley but if you're anything like me you may find yourself up to all hours of the night reading it. I for one am eagerly anticipating reading the other two books in this series and I'm hoping to do so soon.





* I received a free copy of this book from the published via NetGalley in exchange for my free and honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not compensated in any way.

posted by TurningThePagesBlog on October 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Dear "To Question"

Logic dear one logic! How can B&N lose money on free item? Haven't you heard of loss leaders?
If you want the free books to suit your taste you might try the library. Yes libraries DO have ebooks available. You are not the Lone Ranger so don't be so ungracious re a GIF...
Logic dear one logic! How can B&N lose money on free item? Haven't you heard of loss leaders?
If you want the free books to suit your taste you might try the library. Yes libraries DO have ebooks available. You are not the Lone Ranger so don't be so ungracious re a GIFT!!
Have you no shame for being so self centerd?

posted by 9678069 on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 11, 2012

    A Fantastic Read!!

    Sacred Treason was one of those novels that took me completely by surprise. I was blown away by how much I enjoyed this book and I really have to thank the publicist who contacted me offering me a spot on this books tour.

    This book had everything I wanted. I haven't read many historical mysteries especially not ones set in Tudor England so this one was a real treat for me. I can honestly say that I've never read a book like it and I'm super excited that I had the opportunity to read this.

    I really enjoyed the sense of adventure in this novel as Clarenceux solved the mystery behind the mysterious book that his friend Henry gave him. It was a non-stop ride for me and I found myself staying up late last night just to finish it because I couldn't help but want to see what would happen next.

    The writing was seemless and addictive each chapter left me wanting to find out more and more and I very much enjoyed the characters that James Forrester created in his fictional debut. I have to say that Clarenceux is one of my new favourite characters now because he himself was just as intriguing as the mystery surround the book in his possession.

    The way the book was set up was very much in the way of an adventure novel. I loved the historical details that were paid attention to and the descriptions of the times, the places and the people were wonderfully done. I loved the tension between Clareneux and his wicked counterparts who were up to no good it was thrilling to see how the whole novel played out and I'm glad I had a chance to read it.

    I really think that the author's historical background was a real asset to him in writing this novel. He's an author of non fiction titles under his real name Ian Mortimer which gives him that extra edge to pen this series.

    Like I said before I'm not really familiar with the historical mystery genre Sacred Treason has really sparked an interest in me to explore other books that are part of the genre and there's nothing I like more than to be introduced to a new genre so you can expect to see more reviews of books like this in the future. Since I am a fan of both historical fiction as well as mystery novels this bridge between both genres worked out well for me.

    I highly recommend this book to those who are fans of historical fiction and historical mysteries. If you love books set in Tudor England than I think this book might just be up your alley but if you're anything like me you may find yourself up to all hours of the night reading it. I for one am eagerly anticipating reading the other two books in this series and I'm hoping to do so soon.





    * I received a free copy of this book from the published via NetGalley in exchange for my free and honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not compensated in any way.

    55 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    As a fan of the CJ Sansom Shardlake series, I absolutely recomme

    As a fan of the CJ Sansom Shardlake series, I absolutely recommend this rip-roaring ride through Elizabethan England. Those familiar with Tudor history will recognize key players Cecil and Walsingham, and the sectarian strife that ruled 16th century England. 
    Forrester (Mortimer) does a masterful job showcasing the day-to-day life for every level of society in London of that time - what they ate, what they wore, how they lived.
    I can't wait for his "A Time Traveler's Guide to Elizabethan England" is published, as well, I believe in May. Really great new character and Forrester nails the era perfectly.

    41 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Anonymous

    A well written story. I liked that the author got to the point of things without a lot of unecessary language and detail. Also I was drawn into the story and the more I read the more I wanted to know how the story would end. Good strong characters and easy to read flowing sentences. Great imagination by this writer. Five stars, well deserved.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Finally......A free book that is not a romance or children's boo

    Finally......A free book that is not a romance or children's book.

    25 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent Historical Fiction

    This book is worth reading. Dr. Ian Mortimer, writing as James Forrester, has written a well-researched thriller that holds the interest with personalities and locations from 1563. It has intrigue, swordplay, and strong men and women fighting for their cause. I am very impressed with his detailed descriptions of the writings, the manuscripts, and the London of those times. I am not an expert, but I read voraciously, and this has some of the best writing skills that I have seen lately. It was not too long, not too short, and complete in itself, even though I understand it to be first in a trilogy. Read the author's notes at the end for interesting historical background.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It is a great book

    It is a great book

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Great

    First let me say I am Catholic and I don't see why others would have a problem with this novel. I did not, perhaps because my Catholic University where I received my Bachelor's taught me to think for myself. I enjoyed this story immensely. It was intriguing and kept a good pace. I ended up reading it in two days as I HAD to find out how it ended.

    Anyone that enjoys novels dealing with the history of England's royals through the ages will delight in this tale set during the reign of Elizabeth the Virgin Queen.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Um... how can Barnes and Noble "lose money" by not sup

    Um... how can Barnes and Noble "lose money" by not supplying us with FREE books that we love? Are you going to go out and purchase more books from their website after finding a good Free Friday book? I didn't think so... The fact that they supply free books at all is wonderfully generous, and if each and every one of them pleased the users, that would be astonishing. Some people do not understand how economics work... Thank you for the historical fiction, B&N! As an adament user of the Nook, I do enjoy these kinds of romances over the contemporary romance novels, but different readers enjoy different books. If you were to change things up in the weeks to come, I would recommend throwing a science fiction or humor novel into the mix (if you can acquire the rights to a good one, which most likely factors into the decision). Thanks again for free fridays, regardless of the choice!

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    I love historical fiction!!! This is a wonderful choice

    This is an excellent choice for "free Friday" All you complainers & whiners out there, cease & desist! They have offered kids books. Besides, we adults are the ones who purchase the vast majority of books as well as nooks. Kids have too much catered to them anyway. It's about time we grown-ups get our "free lunch". Too many children are spoiled rotten nowadays. They are darn lucky if they even have an e-reader. We would be better off if they weren't chatting and role-playing on their nooks,and stuck with their schoolbooks and BORROWED books from the library. Leave these electronic devices to peoplewho can use them responsibly!!! Thank you Mr.Forrester for a truly enjoyable read laced with a dash of history. And a MAJOR thank you to B&N for the privilege of a free book. I for one heartily appreciate this program of "Free Fridays". Please keep it forever; I'll never look a "gift horse in the mouth"! KD

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    A "Da Vinci Code" style thriller

    Set in mid 16th century England, Sacred Treason pits Clarenceux King of Arms and the legacy of Henry Machyn, against Francis Walsingham and Sergeant Richard Crackenthorpe in a brutal race to find a book that challenges the legitimacy of the Queen of England. Clarenceux and Machyn are a Catholics at a time when the Church of England is actively trying to eliminate the Catholic faith from England. Machyn has been entrusted by the Knights of the Round Table to protect a book which contains information that could dethrone the Queen of England and cause Mary, Queen of Scots, to ascend to rule all of Great Britain. One of the first problems is that Machyn is killed protecting the book and leaves Clarenceux only a cryptic riddle to find the book and understand it's contents.
    Walsingham doesn't know what's in the book either except that it challenges the current regime and hence anyone involved with it are traitors. Crackenthorpe is Walsingham's henchman and is absolutely brutal in the execution of his duties.
    Forrester, I believe, accurately describes the conditions and culture of the time and tells a compelling tale. Set in mid winter, his descriptions of the conditions actually made me feel cold. There are some brutal scenes, but then again, it was a brutal time in history. The Catholic/Protestant angle provides a subtle context for the rest of the story and is really only there for background. If you like historical fiction, I really think you'll like this book!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Very Good

    I really enjoyed this book...it kept me very interested and guessing. I love historical fictions and will look for more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    This one has at it all

    Intrigue, honor, duty, characters to love and hate, a mystery chronicle, knights of the round table and so much more. Get this book, i was not disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    This is an excellent book - I am looking forward to the sequel.

    This is an excellent book - I am looking forward to the sequel. It made me think and had vivid descriptions that made the history come to life. I dont understand how people think it is anti-catholic - some of the most sympathetic characters are catholic. The book depicts a time of turmoil without taking a clear side. I appreciate that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Anonymous

    Yes it does suck (former catholic here). Book is very good.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Sjooyou . I oyii inm .jou . Ktunmm .n, .k .mum

    Nijitiiyouihk.umun,io t .k . Bm iycnyoj,uui . (?mb,hko.
    iobm uo o .uib,hkku;,yi uoi
    Jyou.it .n,bub,o
    Uy .iin,o
    Uhkuoooyhi iuui ibmuo . ?jk
    O kmob,o
    ?oyoy.boyihoy okbc muo..yihgyiy .
    N, i
    N,uoi
    uo


    Ko
    mm ikuo i
    tin.ut,b

    Iio.kiuuooijuouon,iu uo tjb,

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    wishing for more

    another free friday selection that was great and left me wanting more by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    A great read, hated to put it down.

    A great read, hated to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    ?

    ?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    SIMPLY AWESOME!

    I loved this book. It had a mystery to be solved, interesting historic context, adversarial conflict, and Pre-Victorian era sexual tension. Sad to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    A story that takes us into the fears of Old England and the Chur

    A story that takes us into the fears of Old England and the Church.

    The main character struggles through a situation that seems to mirror the inquisition but is set in England and the strife between Catholic and non-Catholic, and the fears of those in political power.

    Some people fear the reign of the queen may be in jeapardy, and are willing to kill to protect the throne. Others are striving to protect a secret... or possibly to expose a secret... in order to ensure that all things are done "according to the will of God."

    I found the plot to be well-constructed, the story and prose well-written, and I recommend this story to anyone who is not afraid to be challenged by the idea that some people might push their religious beliefs beyond where even God desires they go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3