Customer Reviews for

Sacrifice (Mortal Path Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Straddle Of The Fence

    I'm torn on these books. The good: The plot is solid, the characters motives work, the world building is decent. The action is fast paced and high risk that does leave you wanting to know what happens.

    The bad: The writing is DRY! Mrs. Banks main character is a bit vapid and emotionally remote and I have a hard time connecting with her. Banks also has a tenancy to narrate instead of describe to the reader the scene settings and what she does describe is sparse.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Idea

    The author needs better character development. The concepts great just needs work.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Be sure to check this out!

    I really loved the first book, and it was the one which introduced me to the urban-fantasy genre. Sacrifice, the second book is just as good. It is intense and action-packed. I finally have a clue about Jake when Dakota answers the big question mark which was left hanging there at the end of the first book.

    As for Maliha, she is on a quest to search the shards scattered in every corner of the world in order to destroy the seven demon offsprings of Anu while trying her best to balance the scale on her belly. She values her friends very much and can turn out to be a passionate lover as well. Romance plays an important part in this book. She finds out that another Ageless, a Roman centurion named Lucius is in love with her. But who is the one she really loves? *Note that there are adult contents in this book.

    The villain in this book is so evil, he wanted to poison everyone in the big, powerful countries with something that will destroy them from the inside. And once again, Maliha is in charge of saving the world. But this nearly causes her to revert to her old ways in which she enjoys the act of killing and the feel of power and excitement it gives her.

    Maliha has a strong feeling of love and protection for her friends whom she has already considered as part of her family. She is willing to go to great lengths to ensure their safety and well-being. But of course, being a human, she makes mistakes, and not just ordinary ones, but deadly ones. She blames herself for the deaths of the ones whom she fails to protect although she has tried her best.

    The plot, overall is quite entertaining and the characters are well-developed, especially Maliha. I've grown quite fond of Lucius who plays an important role in this book, and I'm sad that he has to leave the series so soon.

    As a conclusion, I highly recommend the Sacrifice (Mortal Path #2) by Dakota Banks to all UF lovers who are 18 and above. Make sure you read the first book before this one so that you know what's going on. To start gaining knowledge of the series, you can read my review for Dark Time (Mortal Path #1) or visit Dakota's Website to find out more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Loved it

    Iloved this series and cant wait for the fourth book i always give a series two books in to see if i enjoy it and i find with most books if u get confussed just hang in there maybe u r not supposed to kmow everything yet but in time you will

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Picked up the story with missing a beat

    Loved the way the cahracters lves are inter mixed so each is nothing without the other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Loved

    Really love this story. The main character is flawed but I like that about her. Action and demons, a total package.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sacrifice

    Once upon a time, Maliha Crayne was just a late 16th century wife and soon-to-be mother. Very humble beginnings for what and who she'd later become - an immortal and powerful slave and executioner, her master a ruthless demon.

    Centuries later, Maliha Crayne is a popular writer, an archaeological and geographical expert, billionaire times three with powerful connections, and, most importantly, an executioner only on her own terms. Now Maliha's main goal is to fully break apart from the demon and defeat the most powerful of the bunch, possibly saving mankind, by accounting for the deaths of those she killed and gathering powerful shards.

    But, on the way to completing this journey, other battles fight for Maliha's attention, battles that take her all over, both physically and emotionally. On the one hand, there's Jake, her boyfriend of a couple months with a past too foggy for Maliha to decide what to trust. On the other, there's Lucius, a current demon slave and executioner wavering between which side he's on. The biggest emotional battle for Maliha, though, is the one within. To win, she has to revert to the tactics she used as a demon slave, but without falling prey to that lifestyle again. Easier said than done.

    There are so many battles to be fought. Can she conquer them all and remain herself in the end?

    Sacrifice has various layers and sub-plots. This can be a double-edged sword. While it makes the plot and characterization more complex and thorough, giving each sentence great value, it can also trip readers up. The layers always connect; sometimes, though, you have to really concentrate to make sure you don't get too wrapped up in a sub-plot and lose sight of the main plot. The details about weaponry, geography, technology, battle tactics, etc. really made me respect the author and her level of research. In spite of how much is explained, it never feels like info-dumping.

    Last, but not least, romance and characterization. There are a lot of interesting characters in the story, different ages and genders and power types, and it's all very well done. As in, realistic. I never got the impression that these people weren't real. As far as romance goes, Maliha is a sexy woman of power, so lust and love can be expected. I like how the romance never entirely feels solid. Someone who has been alive for centuries is expected to have had many flings and issues with commitment regardless of how strong the emotions are. Maliha definitely does.

    In all, I'd recommend this book to anyone interested in action, geography, romance, sub-plots, demons, depth of characterization, and skilled writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2