Customer Reviews for

Sacrifice

Average Rating 5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    I listened to a friend¿s review of Sacrifice and put off reading

    I listened to a friend’s review of Sacrifice and put off reading it. In my friend’s review she was annoyed that the plot was more of a love story and didn’t focus on Celeste’s battle. I am sorry I put off reading this book! The story was action when the first few pages. I loved it! In this installment, I felt connected to Celeste. Like the author, Stacey Rourke, put a lot of her self in the character. I could not stop laughing about the gnomes! If you follow Stacey, you will get this. I love the snarkiness (is that a word) and the witty banter that I enjoyed in the first 2 books. My only complaint is that I would like for Grams to have more of a role. I love that character. She ROCKS! I look forward to reading the 4th installment!!! Now for a Spoiler alert….

    Now don’t get me wrong there are multiple story lines concurring at the same time and there is love but trust me the battle rages on. The main plot of the story is still good v/s evil with Celeste as you main butt kicker. The secondary story line is the upcoming wedding of Alaina and Gabe. In this third installment the character of Celeste grows by leaps and bounds. She must give up her true love, Caleb in order to save him. That takes a lot of sacrifice on her part. Celeste then turns to Rowan to lessen the pain, as he with his demonic powers, can take away that pain for her. Celeste, being an empathe, can help Rowan with the lost of his best friend as well. So you think it is a win win situation, but as usual Rowan has an ulterior motive which does come to light. While trying to help plan a wedding with Alaina, Keni and Gabe, the group must battle Titans sent by the Countess to destroy them. As if that isn’t enough, Alec has resurfaced with his own agenda. There are some surprises in the this book too that I wont give away.

    I love this series. I think I may even donate a weekend to rereading the entire series again. I love the action, the witty banter, and the characters! So looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I just finished Sacrifice and it was wonderful read. The story i

    I just finished Sacrifice and it was wonderful read. The story is so touching. All the creatures in this book will make you want to be a Garrett Sibling. When I got the end of part one I was sad and mad all at the same time. Part two was just as amazing as part one and in some ways my favorite part. I laughed and cried through this entire book and I can't leave out Bernard and Grrrrrrrr is all I have to say about that. I believe this book is the best yet and recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    This was an amazing read that once I started I could not put dow

    This was an amazing read that once I started I could not put down.

    This book moved along at the perfect pace, not to fast or to slow, has amazing characters and an awesome story.

    This book has to be read, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    Demons and spiders and gnomes, oh my! Celeste really goes throug

    Demons and spiders and gnomes, oh my! Celeste really goes through some things after losing not one but two important people in her life. Cue tears! Rowan really steps up and shows another side of himself! Keni, the fashonista, goes goth and Grams doing jello shots while stuffing singles into a strippers speedo, really, what more do we need? Well, get ready for some major things to happen. New threats surface everyday. Sacrifice was funny, heart crushing and thrilling all at the same time. And it ends with a heck of a cliff hanger. The kind that makes you wanna throw yourself on the floor kicking and screaming! I CANNOT WAIT to find out what comes next! This is the best so far in the Gryphon Series!




    I received this book from the author for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by F. Kenneth Taylor for Readers' Favorite Stacey Rour

    Reviewed by F. Kenneth Taylor for Readers' Favorite

    Stacey Rourke nailed it on the head when she wrote “Sacrifice”. Fantasy fans will love and applaud it. Step aside Neo, there is a new ‘Chosen One’ in town; her name is Celeste, and she is one tough cookie! With her and her family marked for death by evil minions from the Spirit Plane, Celeste struggles to deal with giving up the simplest luxuries of life. She quickly realizes it is pretty difficult to be the average 20-something while saving the world at the same time. Fortunately for her, she has an equally tough supporting cast of friends and family to help her out because she is going to need them when she finds out what lies ahead of her.

    Written primarily in first-person, this story is told beautifully, and includes a little something for everyone. “Sacrifice” is a page-turner that flows smoothly with a fast pace and rejuvenates the fantasy genre. It is hard for one to put it down. The author writes with great imagery, impressive narrative techniques and visuals that easily place the reader within the story. This story has it all: action, humor, sorrow, revenge, romance, a supernatural element, and even a Gnome—yes, a Gnome. It is obvious that great thought, time, and effort were taken during the writing process. Stacey Rourke is an excellent writer, with a great career ahead of her. She has just gained a new fan. I look forward to reading more works from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    Sacrifice is the third book in the Gryphon series. You would thi

    Sacrifice is the third book in the Gryphon series. You would think planning a wedding and being with some hunky Irish man would make everything okay but sadly taking a night off for a date night turns life upside down again. Celeste has to make the ultimate sacrifice choosing to be with the one you love or setting them free so they can be safe. What would you choose? Trying to have a normal wedding that every bride dreams of does not go according to the plans. Wedding planner turns rebellious teen and glee club comes back equals disaster. Thank goodness you have a handsome pirate that comes to the rescue. With the wedding being planned can things go smoothly the second time, can Celeste survive the betrayals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    Stacey Rourke has outdone herself with her third book, Sacrifice

    Stacey Rourke has outdone herself with her third book, Sacrifice!!
    Sacrifice is an emotional rollercoaster ride, filled with tense moments that both tugged at my heart and made me loath some of the character demons even more! It is also filled with a lot of intrigue, as well!
    Immediately, the reader will notice that Sacrifice is written in a completely different style than the first two books (an attribute that only adds to the greatness of the book). The flow is much more sporadic and gives off a hectic vibe in a brilliant way! It draws the reader in and makes them feel the turmoil that Celeste is experiencing. It is still filled with humor and the sarcastic moments that I love, but there is a darkness that overshadows every situation and intensifies the entire reading experience.
    There were a ton of twists and turns: many I didn’t see coming. The ending was infuriatingly good and left behind a strong desire to continue this fabulous journey with Celeste and her super-hero siblings. I would highly recommend this whole series to anyone!
    Now, bring on the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    Errrrm OK, what was THAT! I love this book. I was at a slight di

    Errrrm OK, what was THAT!
    I love this book. I was at a slight disadvantage with this being book 3 and the fact that I hadn’t read the first 2 books. However, it took nothing away from my reading experience.
    I love Ceecee and I may be being controversial but I also loved Rowan. In fact there isn’t a character I didn’t think shouldn’t have been in the book. They were all relevant.
    The writing was witty and I actually laughed out loud at my desk, in work (lunch hour) at ‘Officer Python’, causing a few people to turn and stare at me. Then me proceeding to try and tell them why I was laughing but couldn’t through my laughter. There was a lot of humour, suspense, action & sad times in the book. With all this going on there is no way you could get bored.
    This is a well written book and more than deserves the 5 stars I have rated it!
    I was gifted a copy of this book by the author for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    If you have not read the first books in this series, you probabl

    If you have not read the first books in this series, you probably want to stop reading my thoughts and go check out The Conduit, where everything began.  While you could probably read this book and enjoy it without having read the first two, you would be missing out on a ton.  If you have read the first books, you probably are not reading my thoughts because you clicked the buy button already and are reading this puppy.  




    Once again Stacey wrote an awesomely sarcastic and snark filled novel of good vs. evil.  This book is a bit darker than the first two, which I am sure you figured out by the title, Sacrifice.  It also has a ton of action, some romance, and a berry addicted garden gnome.  Have no fears, Grams is still there with her, well her Grams-ness.  If you enjoyed the first two books (there is also a novella) in this series, you are going to want to snag this up asap.  I am sad that I finished it because now I have to wait for the next book to be released.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    I stayed up until midnight last night to finish this book. Aga

    I stayed up until midnight last night to finish this book. Again Stacey has out done herself in this series. I am not happy about having to wait for the next book though lol.

    If for any reason you had to Sacrifice the one you love to save the world could you do it? I'm not so sure I could but Celeste has to make that decision along with saving a family member or few from deadly demons and the all mighty Countess. Friends become enemies and and enemies become friends in this Third installment of The Gryphon Series. Gabe and Alainas wedding plans change and Rowan saves the day. Alec returns and Celeste has a really bad day. Celestes mom is going crazy over Alainas guests at the wedding over some strange happenings. Caleb well I will leave that part for you to read lets just say I am still Team Caleb.


    This story has a lot of twists and turns and I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait to see what happens with Celeste, Rowan, Keni, Gabe, Alaina and Caleb. I refuse to give any more detail or give spoilers because you need to read it for yourself
    I laughed and cried and got angry all in one book so I say get this series and everyone get to know the Garrett family. OK walking and talking gnomes well that part was creeping me out a little. There is a lot of awesomeness in this book so I say if you want to read a great series get The Gryphon Series The Conduit, Embrace and The Sidekick Chronicles by Stacey before Sacrifice is released so you will know everything that is going on and believe me you will not be disappointed.
    I received this book as a promise to give an honest review Thank You stacey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I read the first 2 chapters and was hooked.I want to read all th

    I read the first 2 chapters and was hooked.I want to read all the Gryphon Series books.She is a exceptional writer and keeps you hooked. Stacy's books are a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    OMGryphon!

    Oh My Gryphon! I can not put into words how great this book is!Celeste and Caleb (:D) are in love, Gabe & Alaina are in love, Kendall and... well not so much, but you have to read Sidekick Chronicles for that one! Many things go wrong, to say the least and Rowan is left to comfort Celeste... which is wierd if you know how Rowan is... A wedding brings on all sorts of demons, brainwashing is used a little too spairingly, and someone comes back evil as all get out! All this is a formula for success! I love how Stacey takes her humor and sassyness and brings it to the next level. Keep 'em coming! Love <3 LOVE this book!
    Sacrifice by Stacey Rourke (Gryphon Series #3)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    This book is like a roller coaster you will love it ,then hate i

    This book is like a roller coaster you will love it ,then hate it ,then love it again. cant wait to see the next. she definitely has a character she has to make up to....lol. the only reason you will hate the book in places is, you will fall in love with the characters in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    Would you sacrifice your happiness for the one you loved to save

    Would you sacrifice your happiness for the one you loved to save his or her life? Stacey Rourke’s third book Sacrifice says it all.   When Celeste fights a demon she gets the surprise of her life she finds out Caleb is tied to the demons who in fact are Titans.   Caleb's life is in peril and Celeste must make a decision that could change her life forever. There is a way to save him but can she do it and will Caleb let her? Make him human again or not, risk his death at her hand or another's or lose him forever.  It’s a choice only Celeste can make it. And she must follow her heart.   The author has a way of pulling you in and captivating you without you even realizing it.  The character dynamics are well worked out and you will be rooting for good to triumph over evil. Once again surprises jump out at every turn so if you think something may happen think again.  And FYI can I say I love the Dark Army Glee Club and I think you will too.  Get ready to cry have a box of tissues ready and sit back and become ensconced in this book, I promise you won’t put it down till the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    Wow!Wow!Wow! Three wow¿s for the third book in Ms. Rourke¿s s



    Wow!Wow!Wow!

    Three wow’s for the third book in Ms. Rourke’s series. The family, starring the gryphon battles evil, with more wit and even better banter. This is definitely the darkest of the series and extremely fast paced, making it hard to put down and even more difficult when you get to the end.
    Without ruining the story, my heart pours out with the characters as they suffer the demands of living dual lives, dealing with love, family, and the pressures of being the chosen ones to fight evil.
    As they continue to develop in their journey, Ms. Rourke develops in her writing making this what will hopefully someday become a classic trilogy.
    AB – 4/18/2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Get ready to laugh until it hurts!! I <3 this series! Stacey

    Get ready to laugh until it hurts!!
    I &lt;3 this series! Stacey has brought the awesome once again! I've really enjoyed this whole series, but this book had me laughing until I cried! I love how she mixes so much action with comedy &amp; just a tad of drama. The Gryphon Series is a very refreshing read! If you have not read it yet....Go...Now...Order them all. You won't regret it! ;)

    I think this has to be one of my favorite scenes of this book:
    &quot;Has anyone ever told you that you're cute when you're angry? Like a rabid teacup poodle.&quot;
    I balled up my fist, ready to go all 'rabid poodle' on the other side of his smug face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Stacey Rourke Sacrifice Book 3 in The Gryphon Series I just can

    Stacey Rourke
    Sacrifice
    Book 3 in The Gryphon Series

    I just can’t get enough of this series, though this is by far the most emotional! Be prepared to laugh and cry as Celeste, Gabe and Kendall all prepare for the big day – Alaina and Gabe’s wedding. As expected, demon attacks center around the wedding, and they are all pushed to their limits to ensure things go without a hitch. On top of everything, Kendall was in charge of organising the bachelorette party, and the stripper turns out to be so much more than just entertainment.

    Celeste appears to have finally managed a balance between her life and her calling, with Caleb being the main reason for this. I may be in love with Rowan, and would happily disappear out to see with the pirate - it’s one of those love hate relationships though, I don’t always agree with what he does.

    Obviously the Countess isn’t going to let two gorgeous demons just change sides, and Titans start attacking cities. Only problem is one is connected to Caleb, and if the Titan dies, so does Caleb. Can Celeste put her calling before her relationship?

    This is one of those series that you never want to end. I’m sure I would never get bored of the sibling rivalry and bickering, endless demon fights and their friendships / relationships. The characters have a life of their own, and the reader is transported right into the center of their world, becoming part of it.

    I received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I received this book from the author to give an honest review. I

    I received this book from the author to give an honest review.
    I wish I could give this book more stars as it deserves it.

    DAMNNNNNNNNNNNNN where do I even start with this AAAAAAMMMMMAZING book? The beginning, the middle, the end? It was all written so perfectly that I found myself falling yet once again with all the characters, and falling in love with the story line.

    Sacrifice will have you in its clutch from the very beginning and want you wanting more till the very end. There is more action, love, heartache, betrayal, surprises at every turn. I found myself mad at Celeste for the choice she made but at the end it became clear and I figured hey I can't be mad at her look at all she has gone through and she is still standing strong. Any other person could not handle what she has handled. You will fall in love with Rowan and then turn around and hate him for what he will do to Celeste. There is even a WEDDING in Sacrifice! Yes I said it a wedding between who well you just have to read the story to find out. Now that Alaina is no longer Celeste's spirit guide her and Gabe and get a bit cozy. But now Celeste has a gnome for a spirit guide and she is not very fond of them. Will Celeste make the ultimate sacrifice for her beloved? As she battles more and more demons and even Titans! The fight scenes were well written and I loved the detail she put into them.
    If you have not read these series! I highly recommend you buy the books and get on the Gryphon train

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Let me start off by saying this series is flipping amazing!!!  K

    Let me start off by saying this series is flipping amazing!!! 
    Knees shaking, balled fists, heart racing, brain cramping. OMW. Stacey Rourke out done herself
    once again. She has added a few more characters, that are just as great! Writing was terrific!
    Now there's a wedding they have to get through without chaos. Who's wedding? Nope I am not telling you! 
    We have things flipping from everything angle. First you fall in love with one, totally enthralled 
    with him and ready to see where the futures goes and than BAM! Engaging more in the story things 
    change and in comes another Yummy! So pressing further my anger lightens and I am gradually
    letting myself fall for this new person. No sooner than I am starting to be a little more accepting
    BAM!!!! Stacey Rourke does it to me again. 
    Celeste is back, but is one bold powerhouse character. Afraid of nothing. Gabe is wonderful,lovely and
    a great protector. Awww our little Keni. I will not be able to explain the emotional roller coaster
    you will be on with her. Grams, wonderful, witty and full of life as ever. Mom, has been brought into this 
    book. She is freaking lovely!!!! Remember what I said about Rowan, having a big role in this book.
    Well Wam Bam thank you mam!!! Rowan + book = big role! Let me introduce you to Office Python, who is he you 
    ask? Read this series and find out! As also, this book is full of laughter once again. This book will have you feeling all kinds of emotions. Last night after my kindle died, I was so emotional I had to log on to Facebook. Thank you to Jennifer, for telling me everything will be fine *Laughing to myself* 
    I want to share this for sure! Everyone might want to jump over and check out the Anchor Group. I have read several books, from several different Authors, I truly think they might be on to something fantastic! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Stacey Rourke's Sacrifice is an exceptionally good read with so

    Stacey Rourke's Sacrifice is an exceptionally good read with so many strengths that are far too numerous to list. The characters in Stacey Rourke's third installment of her amazing YA fantasy series The Gryphon, continue to grow and develop in ways that constantly kept me on my toes and had me second and third guessing.

    The plot development, teamed with the numerous twists, provided a fast-paced read that made it virtually impossible not to read it in just one sitting. There was always a superb level of action and opportunities for Stacey Rourke's signature wit and sarcasm that she voices so successfully through her characters, especially through the main protagonist Celeste.

    Sacrifice, I can write with confidence, is most definitely a 5 star read, although it's not my favourite in the series to date. My heart still lies with Embrace. However, Sacrifice is the first in The Gryphon Series that has successfully made me cry. I would like to say they were tender tears, but alas no. Rather think in the realm of the Angel episode 'I Will Remember You' (sorry for non Buffy &amp; Angel lovers). Yes, true violent sobs and unsightly runny nose!

    The Gryphon Series is still in my top five of all time favourite YA fantasy reads right up there with Phillip Pullman's Northern Lights and Garth Nix's Old Kingdom Trilogy, yet of course the series carries a wonderful uniqueness of its very own.

    Disclosure: This book was received for free from the author in exchange for an HONEST and not necessarily positive review. I will be purchasing a copy too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2