Customer Reviews for

Sacrifice Fly

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Raymond Dunne is a very dedicated schoolteacher, working with ei

    Raymond Dunne is a very dedicated schoolteacher, working with eighth-graders in a middle school in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, and taking the welfare of his students very seriously. In particular, one of the most promising, Frankie Rivas, has obtained a scholarship to a private high school on the basis of his baseball skills and the fact that Ray has called in a favor from their coach. When Frankie fails to show up for school for a couple of weeks, Ray decides to try to find out why. His visit to the home of the boy’s father results in his discovery of the man’s dead body.

    Ray’s involvement at that point derives as much from his concern as his teacher as from the fact that Ray is a former cop. His feelings when he walks into his old precinct are made palpable to the reader, his emotions roiling as he remembers back five years, when “you fall thirty feet, and your whole life changes.” Among those changes are the physical ones; Ray has an umbrella with him every day, knowing it has to rain sometime; besides, it means he doesn’t have to carry a cane.

    Frankie and his younger sister are nowhere to be found, and Ray follows up every lead he can find in order to locate the two children and ensure their safety. Then the pace, and the suspense, move into higher gear, beyond the “controlled chaos” of Ray’s classroom, and the stakes go up as well.

    When one has a terrific protagonist [with a valuable friend, a wannabe cop, nicknamed “Emo”], a well-developed plot, writing that makes the Brooklyn streets come to life and, as the title might imply, a lot of baseball references, what more could one ask? [Well, this reader had to get past the fact that Ray is a Yankee fan, although he does don a Mets cap when the situation requires it.] This is a wonderful debut novel from a writer whose next book I will anxiously await, and it is highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Awesome book

    This is a very great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    I'm dyslexic, I read slowly with a finger or pen traveling over

    I'm dyslexic, I read slowly with a finger or pen traveling over the page. I started "Sacrifice Fly," yesterday, I finished it an hour ago on the walk facing the East River. First book I knocked off in two days since too long ago. Tim O'Mara's debut novel picks up speed when the dialogue flies. I think Elmore Leonard would have approved of several conversations. I'm in the classroom, the Brooklyn tavern, the police station. I smell it, I hear it, I see it and it kept me engaged straight through. This is not Iowa, it's Brooklyn. The neighborhoods, the characters and their parlance are genuine. They remind me of the honesty found in Betty Smith's "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn," and John McNulty's "This Place on Third Avenue."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Tim O'Mara does a great job of capturing the gritty underside of

    Tim O'Mara does a great job of capturing the gritty underside of New York City and gives a great new sleuth in Raymond Dunne, cop turned schoolteacher. The characters are well-drawn and believable, and even the most corrupt of them have some redeeming qualities, as in real life. And Dunne has what every mystery protagonist needs: a tragedy in his past, a quirky sidekick, compassion, toughness and a drive to protect the people he cares about. A really great read, and I look forward to reading the next in what I hope is a series! By the way, I would have signed in, but the site was wonky tonight. signed: jajjaj 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    SACRIFICE FLY is a debut novel by Tim O'Mara with real potential

    SACRIFICE FLY is a debut novel by Tim O'Mara with real potential to become the first in a series of mysteries staring school teacher, ex-cop, Raymond Donne. Raymond's uncle is chief of police and a real hard nosed policeman, serving in the tough parts of Brooklyn.  When Raymond blew out his knees during a police incident, he left his friends, and the fast track in the police department, to become a teacher in the toughest part of town.  




    But now, Frankie, one of Raymond's most promising students, has just gone missing after his father was murdered.  The police suspect that the boy may have actually been the murderer since he has run away.  Raymond does not believe Frankie would murder someone, and is anxious about Frankie's safety.  Since Raymond does not see any real movement by the police to find Frankie, he decides to do some investigating on his own.  Conflicts arise within the police department, and on the streets, where Raymond is getting too close to the truth of the murder.




    This story covers a tough part of New York, where poverty, conflicts between ethnicities, and lack of a good education can change people's lives forever.  The combination of a protagonist who is a teacher and an ex-cop, makes the story a compelling read. Great combination of excitement, compassion and 'street cred'  reality makes this a great read.  Hoping this will become a series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    I was engaged in Sacrifice Fly, and always happy to pick it up a

    I was engaged in Sacrifice Fly, and always happy to pick it up at night and continue reading. I liked the author's voice, and the characters. A fun bonus was that I really enjoyed the "sidekick" character, Edgar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    I just finished reading SACRIFICE FLY and loved it. Tim O'Mara s

    I just finished reading SACRIFICE FLY and loved it. Tim O'Mara sure can write. I'm a giant mystery fan...read police and detective stories all the time...and this one is great. I hope he writes another one soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Sacrifice Fly is quite an intriguing, exciting read.  Highly rec

    Sacrifice Fly is quite an intriguing, exciting read.  Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Recommended

    Enjoyed this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    So easily one becomes entwined through those haunts & intrig

    So easily one becomes entwined through those haunts & intrigues, pages fly, as you almost become Raymond Dunne, searching and determined to find the anser to the murder. The bumbling Edgar becomes totally endearing while one weeps for Frankie. It's frighteningly graphic, but woven with surprises and love ..... you just can't put it down until you too discover the answers!!!

    Francesca0

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    Tim O'Mara does a wonderful job enticing the reader into the sto

    Tim O'Mara does a wonderful job enticing the reader into the story and leading them on a roller coaster of exciting twists and turns as the protagonist tries to solve the mystery of who-done-it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes murder-mysteries, criminal justice stories, and baseball. A great break-out book for this mystery novelist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1