Customer Reviews for

Safe Haven

Average Rating 4
( 4663 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2663)

4 Star

(996)

3 Star

(530)

2 Star

(243)

1 Star

(231)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

Excellent as Always

Nicholas Sparks never lets me down. I could read his books everyday. This one you will not be able to put down. Loved It.

posted by sadlere on September 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

274 out of 315 people found this review helpful.

SPARKS DELIVERS ANOTHER LESSON OF LOVE

While reading in a waiting room the other day my concentration was interrupted by a woman who looked at my book and enthused, "Oh, I just love him!" The "him" was, of course, Nicholas Sparks, popular author of 16 novels, six of which have been made into motion pictu...
While reading in a waiting room the other day my concentration was interrupted by a woman who looked at my book and enthused, "Oh, I just love him!" The "him" was, of course, Nicholas Sparks, popular author of 16 novels, six of which have been made into motion pictures. My new found friend's enthusiastic tribute to Sparks stopped only when she was called in to the doctor's office. She will be one of many who will stand inline for SAFE HAVEN, such is the appeal of Sparks, and his easy to read messages of love.

With SAFE HAVEN we meet Katie, a beautiful young woman who has sought refuge and anonymity in the small community of Southport, North Carolina. She rents a small cabin and works at Ivan's restaurant. Katie has no car, and walks wherever she goes. She's a bit of a mystery to Alex, a widowed store owner, and Jo who soon moves next door.

Katie is determined to reveal nothing about herself lest she be found by Kevin, her alcoholic husband, who kept her a virtual prisoner in their home and savagely beat her without reason. On their honeymoon she was beaten for leaving her sun glasses by the pool; at home she's been thrown down the cellar stairs, her head knocked against the kitchen table. She endured all forms of physical abuse that left her bruised and sore. Kevin often swore that it would never happen again but it always did. When he finally pulled out his gun, a Glock, and held it to her head she knew she had to somehow escape, run for her life.

Yet despite her resolution to remain private she finds herself drawn to Alex, a kind, good hearted man who his doing his best to be both father and mother to his two children, Kristen and Josh. Katie develops a fondness for them, and they feel the same about her. Over time she is able to relax, to enjoy being with Alex and the children. It isn't long before she must to admit to herself that she's in love with him and dares to think of what being part of a happy family might be like.

Meanwhile, of course, Kevin is searching for her. He's a policeman and a smart one, but not smart enough not to let vodka get the best of him, turning him into a raging psychopath intent upon finding and killing Katie as well as the man he believes has taken her away.

Sparks spares little in describing the dark side of love and, as always, underscoring its redeeming powers.
- Gail Cooke

posted by GailCooke on September 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 530 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Beautifully written beggining and middle. After that it was a waste of paper!

    This was the first Sparks book I've read. I'm 27 and married and related to the main character Katie in some ways. Her story of starting over and meeting someone new was exciting and well written. Her husband Kevin's character and point of view was also very honest and almost humorous because of his hypocritical mentality. He was a walking contradiction of his own thoughts. But still interesting to see his point of view of his marriage and "defense" of his abuse. And then came the moment readers were waiting for. He finally tracked down his runaway wife. Throughout the book, he was a drunken loser, yes, BUT, he was a detective and a control freak and a master manipulator. However, as soon as he finds his wife and I'm waiting for this final confrontation and what is he going to say to her and what is she going to say to him and what will Alex, his wife's new love say to him. Will he get his revenge on the man who abused his love? Will Kevin tell his wife he missed her and loved her but wanted to beat her to death and confess his insane idea of love to her? Will Katie/Erin tell her husband she had, had enough of his crap and would never go back to him? INSTEAD Kevin, who was smart and miraculously sober enough to drive from Boston to North Carolina, could barely stand and made no sense. Seriously? Like was this really the point of the book we the readers were waiting for? And when it finally happens, the guy is too drunk to even say two words that make sense to his wife who he's been crying over for months? That was it?? And then he hits Alex with a crowbar before he can even look him in the eyes and say a word. Ummmm where is the undying love shining through telling Kevin that his wife is now his Katie and he would never let him put a finger on her. Or atleast tell him he loved her, something, anything? Where was Kevin telling his wife that he was a wreck without her and accusing her of being an adulterer? When Erin made her weak confrontation of "why did you hit me, I loved you", Kevin was too drunk to even comment or understand what she was saying to him. I have never been so annoyed reading anything, and I am not a picky reader. I love Twilight and can read about Bella mumbling all day long. But this? This confrontation should have been the most exciting part of the book. Instead he tries to just put his wife on fire and doesnt even care to say a word to her because he's too busying vomitting on the side of the road and thinking his jumbled thoughts. Sparks, seriously, could you not have let the man wake up from his nap, come up with a real plan and think of all the things he wanted to say to his runaway wife and actually SAY them. And then let him, uhh maybe lay off a bottle of Vodka long enough to not slur his speech and throw up while hes trying to murder his wife. And the whole thing about Jo being a ghost of the past in the end did not make up for this dissapointing "confrontation". Hopefully they will change things in the movie version.

    19 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Just okay

    This book was okay but rather predictable-there are so many issues that accompany abuse that weren't addressed, as Katie moved on pretty quickly

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Why did I keep reading?

    I knew this book was going to be totally predictable from the beginning, yet for some reason I keep reading. The whole time I was thinking "Sleeping with the Enemy" (only not as good).

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    FLAT, FLAT, FLAT

    Boring, but have to say I don't care for most of his books!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Good

    306 pages Im not sure its worth the cost.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Kinda unbelievable; really!

    Well, for the most part it was a very good novel. Especially the battered wife experience, however the deceased wife issue was almost embarrassing. I expected more from such a talented writer.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    ok, not great

    This was not the best Nicholas Sparks book I have read and although it does deal with a difficult subject matter of wife abuse and for that I give him credit.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    A little dissapointed

    I am a big Nicholas Sparks fan and have loved all of his books thus far but was a little disappointed with "Safe Haven". I did find this book different from his other novels. Maybe because I did cry like I do with his other books? Maybe because I wasn't left pondering about love? Even though I was disappointed I could not put the book down. I felt the book was written beautifully and it did send a good message - "Katie" was able to have the strength and courage to escape from her abusive husband and find love again(and trust again). I was expecting more at the end. Maybe going more into depth about their love after everything was over. Did they marry and did she end up having kids like she once wanted? I feel I was left with unanswered questions. Maybe it is a given that they got married but I want to feel joy for "Katie" and Alex.

    Overall, I think it was ok and even if everyone gave it not-so-good reviews I would still buy his books. Can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    slow start ,but worth reading

    This was a slow paced book, not much action til the last 1/3of the book...definetly worth finishing, enjoyed it to the end..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Had the twist figured out early on

    For me it was very obvious I guess not for all. So I dont think I liked it as much as most for that reason. It was an ok book but the ending could have been better.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Good.

    Not his best work, but good and entertaining.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    This was crazy

    Very awesome. Anybody wanna chat?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    50/50

    I liked the book. Mostly because unfortuantely I can relate to it (past relationship). But.... Some things I felt were a strectch or maybe it was the way it was delivered. You can tell NS stepped out of his usual element for a bit. However, It's still a good and easy read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Enjoyed the book more than the movie

    I will admit this was my first Nicholas Sparks book, and I enjoyed this book a lot. I was disappointed in the movie, I liked the book a lot more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Disappointment

    I really love Nicholas Sparks books and this one was okay, but not one of my favorites. I found the storyline very predictable except for a bit of a strange twist at the end, even though it was still a cute / touching story all the same. I'mh just a little disappointed because you usually get so much more from Nicholas Sparks & I'v never read a book from him that I basically guessed from the first couple chapters how the entire book would lay out. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Ok

    book was ok, not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    It was good, but not great.

    After watching the movie, I couldn't wait to read this book. I started it thinking the book would put the movie to shame, and I was disappointed. I felt it was overall very well written, but what Nicholas Sparks book isn't? I felt the story dragged on and on, but never really went anywhere.. I was in the middle of the book before I actually got interested in it. Too much senseless detail in places, and not enough in others. Don't get me wrong, the book was good just not great. The movie in my opinion was better which is not something I usually say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Left hanging

    Great quick read. It left me hanging wanting the "happily ever after".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Bruce

    Grit res 6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Laurel

    Ol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 530 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27