Customer Reviews for

Safe Haven

Average Rating 4
( 4700 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2685)

4 Star

(1004)

3 Star

(536)

2 Star

(243)

1 Star

(232)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

104 out of 128 people found this review helpful.

Excellent as Always

Nicholas Sparks never lets me down. I could read his books everyday. This one you will not be able to put down. Loved It.

posted by sadlere on September 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

274 out of 315 people found this review helpful.

SPARKS DELIVERS ANOTHER LESSON OF LOVE

While reading in a waiting room the other day my concentration was interrupted by a woman who looked at my book and enthused, "Oh, I just love him!" The "him" was, of course, Nicholas Sparks, popular author of 16 novels, six of which have been made into motion pictu...
While reading in a waiting room the other day my concentration was interrupted by a woman who looked at my book and enthused, "Oh, I just love him!" The "him" was, of course, Nicholas Sparks, popular author of 16 novels, six of which have been made into motion pictures. My new found friend's enthusiastic tribute to Sparks stopped only when she was called in to the doctor's office. She will be one of many who will stand inline for SAFE HAVEN, such is the appeal of Sparks, and his easy to read messages of love.

With SAFE HAVEN we meet Katie, a beautiful young woman who has sought refuge and anonymity in the small community of Southport, North Carolina. She rents a small cabin and works at Ivan's restaurant. Katie has no car, and walks wherever she goes. She's a bit of a mystery to Alex, a widowed store owner, and Jo who soon moves next door.

Katie is determined to reveal nothing about herself lest she be found by Kevin, her alcoholic husband, who kept her a virtual prisoner in their home and savagely beat her without reason. On their honeymoon she was beaten for leaving her sun glasses by the pool; at home she's been thrown down the cellar stairs, her head knocked against the kitchen table. She endured all forms of physical abuse that left her bruised and sore. Kevin often swore that it would never happen again but it always did. When he finally pulled out his gun, a Glock, and held it to her head she knew she had to somehow escape, run for her life.

Yet despite her resolution to remain private she finds herself drawn to Alex, a kind, good hearted man who his doing his best to be both father and mother to his two children, Kristen and Josh. Katie develops a fondness for them, and they feel the same about her. Over time she is able to relax, to enjoy being with Alex and the children. It isn't long before she must to admit to herself that she's in love with him and dares to think of what being part of a happy family might be like.

Meanwhile, of course, Kevin is searching for her. He's a policeman and a smart one, but not smart enough not to let vodka get the best of him, turning him into a raging psychopath intent upon finding and killing Katie as well as the man he believes has taken her away.

Sparks spares little in describing the dark side of love and, as always, underscoring its redeeming powers.
- Gail Cooke

posted by GailCooke on September 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2685 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 135
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wow

    This is one if the best books ive ever read. Im not a huge fan of nicholas sparks because in my experience i buy the book and then dont finish it because of its slow pace or i just already know how its going to end. This book, however, sucked me in right away. I like the darker aspects of his books he has started to incorporate, exhibited in this book and also the Lucky One. This book is riveting and suspenseful and had me guessing right until the end.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Safe Haven is a breathtaking, heart-wrenching thriller. Nicholas

    Safe Haven is a breathtaking, heart-wrenching thriller. Nicholas Sparks manages to intertwine a rare romance with an impossibly dangerous predicament. Katie escapes to North Carolina hoping to find refuge from her abusive husband, and ends up falling in love with sweet Alex and his two kids. The relationships established are so heart-warming. Katie's mysterious past is uncovered as she tells Alex the horrifying severity of her husband's abusiveness and the terrifying details of her escape. Katie and Alex desperately long to leave the past behind and start a new life together, but the past doesn't stay buried forever. Before long, Katie's husband hunts her down in North Carolina, and a suspenseful, thrilling chase ensues, during which the lives of Katie and Alex's children are endangered.
    Safe Haven mixes a frightening past, sweet romance, motherly love, and endless suspense, with a surprise ending that tests all of our faiths, to create Nicholas Sparks's best novel to date.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Safe Haven - One of Sparks's Best

    I have read a majority of Nicholas Sparks's novels and this one strikes me as the most suspenseful and page-turner of them all. You can't just help but connect with the characters and feel what they feel and (if you're like me) scream at the book saying "No!!! Don't do this!!". I would recommend Safe Haven if you're looking for a thrilling read with the right touch of romance and danger.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Loved It!!!

    I absolutely loved reading this book! I dragged out finishing it because I did not want the story to end. If you are looking for a book with suspense, love & romance, and good feelings, this would be the book! I would absolutely read it again!! If anyone is wondering, the book is much better than the movie. Hope this helps, thanks for reading :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Worth reading

    Im not huge into books but once I started reading it I couldnt stop. I now cant wait to see the movie as well.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    One of my favorite Sparks novels.

    This book is definitely for a hopeless romantic. Im sure we've all known people like the characters in the book, maybe even relate to them. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. I hope their is a follow up book to this!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wonderful

    This book has it all~love, suspense, drama you wont be disappointed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    qustion please send an answer back

    If you haveread the book tell the ageing rate for it i was planning on asking my mother to by it. Sounds good .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    LOVE!

    Great book Sparks does not dissapoint! The twist at the end made the book even better. A very good suspense/love story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    This Nicholas Sparks book kept me wondering what woupd happen next. Although somewhat predictble at times, overall the story was beautifully written. Nicholas Sparks is my favorite author and once again a lovely book shows exactly why he is my favorite! If you are looking for a great read with a powerful plot and love story this is the book for you!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Wow

    This is a powerful book. Ive read almost all of his books, have loved all of them too, and this one stands out at the top of the pack. Great character development, an awesome powerful story line. Loved it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Nicholas Sparks does not disappoint, as always!

    This was a wonderful story of how REAL love can help heal all wounds!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Wonderful!!

    This is by far my favorite Nicholas Sparks book yet! This book will keep you wanting to read and never stop until you finish it. You should really read this book!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Another great book from NS!

    I have loved every book he has written, and this was no exception. Didn't see the twist coming at the end, either. I always love when the author includes an element of surprise like that. Great book...easy read...highly recommend. This was also my first ebook. Just bought a Nook Color less than a week ago and chose this book the day I bought the Nook. Thoroughly impressed with both!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    Good Book, Interesting Story.

    As a Nicholas Sparks fan, I have to agree, this was not his best. Yet, despite all, it still deserves a reading. Check it out. I also recommend, "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It is a self-help book on forgiveness.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Anonymous

    NS will not let you down. You will not be able to put it down!! It is worth a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    This novel had me at the edge of my seat! I decided to read it a

    This novel had me at the edge of my seat! I decided to read it after I watched the movie (of course) and surprisingly, it was better than the film. The pain and love feel real and it is explained in such a way that you can never see the movie the same again. I wish they would've put some parts into the movie but the book is perfect so that's okay. I'm still looking for a novel to top this one. That's gonna be tough!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    When Katie is trying to escape her past she winds up in a small

    When Katie is trying to escape her past she winds up in a small town in North Carolina. She decided to finally settle down there knowing that he would never be able to find her there. She gets a job at the local restaurant and decides to settle down and buy a house. Just when she starts to get comfortable she meets a handsome kind-hearted man named Alex. Alex owns a store right on the water just down the street from Katie’s house. Alex has two kids and Katie instantly clicks with them. Katie has feelings for Alex but forces herself to keep away for a while. When her next door neighbor Jo, tells Katie to talk to Alex she finally warms up to him and starts spending more time with him. While Alex already had a feeling that he knew what Katie’s past was, he still continued to wonder about it. Kate reveals the secret to Alex and feels that she won’t be able to stay in Southport much longer because of it. One day Katie wakes up feeling concerned like someone is here. Katie ignores the feeling and later finds out that he has tracked her down and is here for her. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. The movie made me read the book and it was one of the first times ever where I actually looked forward to reading! I loved it! There was a twist around every corner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Very Pleasing!

    A story of betrayl, love, and suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Heartgripping, and heartwarming

    The name, Nicholas Sparks made me buy this book, the suspense and the multi-dimensional characters kept the pages turning, and the ending left me in tears.
    Truly worth every moment I spent, a lovely book. I can't wait to watch the movie, or for the next Sparks book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2685 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 135