Customer Reviews for

Saffy's Angel

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    AMAZING!!! OUTSTANDING!!!!! BRILLIANT!!!!!!!

    Saffy's Angel was a great book. When eight-year-old Saffron Casson began to read, the first thing she realized was that her name wasn't on the paint chart. All the other children in the family were named by their mother and artist, Eve. The names were all chosen from the paint chart on the wall- Caddy (Cadium Gold), Indigo, and Rose. Soon, the secret slips out and Saffy realizes that she is adopted. Saffy's world becomes upside-down, Caddy, Indigo, and Rose were not her siblings- they were her cousins, Eve and Bill were not her parents but her aunt and uncle. When Grandad dies, he leaves a will. He gives Caddy his house (now nearly falling off a cliff), Indigo his car, and Rose is remaining money. 'For Saffron. Her angel in the garden. The stone angel.' Saffron longs for her angel, so her rich friend, Sarah takes a trip to Siena, Italy- Saffy's birthplace, with Saffy in search of the angel. This book is an amazing novel that I read three times. It is defintely a page-turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    6th grade book lover

    If you havn't read Saffy's Angel, then I think you should, I thought it was very interesting.It was so interesting that I couldn't put the book down. In Saffy's Angel,the characters are really funny! They all have dfferent moods, and it makes the book really good. The title, Saffy's Angel, is the perfect title for this book. The title goes exactly with it and it made me want to keep on reading the book becuase it caught my attention. The author, Hilary McKay, completed the goal that every author wants. In the beginning, it was boring, trust me, but while I kept reading, it was really exciting! Expecially when Saffy found her angel,but it was broken. Then Caddy fixed it and repainted it. She made it look brand new. What the author did, was make you want to keep on reading. Also while I read, I had alot of connections. Some connections I had while I read were real world connections, literature and media connections, and experiences. The problem, Saffy was looking for her angel that her grandfather left in his will, but couldn't find it,went throughout most of the book and that makes it even better. This book was so good, that when I read it, I could see the pictures in my head! If you never read the book, hurry and stop reading this because the book is so good! Have fun reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    You have to read this!

    The fictional novel Saffy's Angel written by Hilary McKay is a sad and captivating story that takes place in England. The story begins when the main character, Saffy finds out she was adopted by her artistic aunt, uncle, and cousins named Cadmium, Rose, and Indigo. She figures out her parents died in a car crash and her loving grandfather took her all the way from Siena, Italy to her new home named The Banana House. Later on in the novel Saffy's grandfather dies and leaves a will listing one thing for each child. Her grandfather leaves her something called Saffy's Angel. Saffy meets a new friend named Sarah who cries her way into anything and helps Saffy find her angel. After a little thinking Saffy remembers that her stone angel is in the garden in Siena where she used to live. For the sake of helping a friend, Sarah convinces her parents to take her to Siena. Sarah, her parents, and Saffy hiding under a beanbag and luggage drives to Siena. They discover in Siena that Saffy's grandfather brought it back a long time ago. When Saffy's cousins hear the news they are determined to find the angel. Saffy's youngest cousin thinks he knows where it is, determination leads the three siblings to uncover something amazing. Hilary McKay has a creative writing style. One thing I noticed about Hilary McKay's writing style is that occasionally she'll have short sentences but the rest of the time she'll write the perfect length. .I also noticed that she used third person writing style. For example Hilary wrote: All the Casson children were named after colors on the paint chart. I could tell she used third person because throughout the novel she used the characters names, she never used the words I, mine, or any words having to do with yourself. The last thing I noticed is how she used all five senses to describe something. For example on page 12 it says: The Casson House had been chosen by the parents before Caddy was born. They had liked it because it was unspoiled. Unspoiled meant no central heating, coal fires in every room, and its old particular smell, which was a mixture of dampness, soot and a sort of green smell that came in from the garden. The garden always seemed to be creeping into the house. Ivy crept in through the windowpanes. Wood lice and beetles and ants had their own private entrances. Hilary McKay's writing style is creative different from other author's writing. I would recommend the book Saffy's Angel to girls because it doesn't involve any action and it isn't about anything dangerous or scary. I would also recommend this book for 9 year olds to 12 year olds because it would to challenging for kids younger than 7 and to easy for 13 year olds and higher. Lastly I would recommend this book for people who like a bit of adventure and mystery because this book is about the search for a stone angel. The characters have to find where the angel is and put together clues to find it. Some similar novels to Saffy's Angel are the books Caddy Ever After, Permanent Rose, Indigo's Star, and Forever Rose. They are similar because they are all part of the series, are written by the same author, and include the same the same character are written by the same author, and include the same characters. Saffy's Angel had many positives and negatives. My first positive on this book was how the author got right into the story, she didn't drag on. Within the first few pages of the book the main idea had begun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Genuine

    This book is about an artistic family. Saffron has lived her life, thinking that her older sister was Cadium Gold, her younger siblings were Indigo and Permanent Rose, her father was Bill, and her mother was Eve. Things get flip-flopped for Saffron (Saffy as a nickname) when she finds about the truth about her grandfather and mother. This book is mysterious and the start to a great series!
    The books I recommended are the rest of the series-
    *Indigo's Star
    *Permanent Rose
    *Caddy Ever After
    *Forever Rose
    The series tells all about Saffy and her family. Another book I recommended is "Sand Dollar Summer", because it is about a young girl who has family conflicts, and goes on adventures, just like Saffy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    An amazing book

    This book teaches you that even if your name isn't on the color chart you still fit in, find friends and maybe even a new love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    From A book lover ***

    This is a really great book.Saffy's grandfather dies and leaves something for each child. For Caddy,his property, for Indigo, his car, for Rose his money, and for Saffy, her angel.Saffy meets a girl named Sarah and has a special friendship. WHEN YOU READ THIS YOU MIGHT HAVE A SPECIAL FEELING.Now it's your turn. Just read the book!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    Saffy's Angel review , by a 6th grade student

    After 13 year-old Saffy finds out that she is adopted and her Grandfather dies she is out to find what her Angel is (an angel that her Grandfather said she had in his will) Her family thinks it is just a stone angel made of rock or clay but nothing important. Saffy knows it is real and she wont give up. This book teaches alot of lessons, my most favorite one though is to never give up, no matter how many people aren't on your side.This is a great book and I am loving reading it(im sure my book report on this book for school is going to be great!) This is a great book for 10 year olds to 110 year olds . YOU SHOULD DEFINATELY READ IT !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    BRAVO!

    I absolutley love this book! It teaches you to never give up. I loved the whole storyline and the idea of the names. It was a great book and I encourage you to read this book if you are looking for an exciting adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2002

    Saffy's Angel

    This story is about the Casson family, mainly focusing on the four children: Cadmium (Caddy), Saffron (Saffy), Indigo, and Rose, who are all named after colors, with the exception of Saffy who is really their adopted cousin. Saffy is the Italian-born daughter of Eve¿s (the mother), twin sister. Her mother died when she was only 3 and was brought to England to live with her cousins. The family is very eccentric with both Eve and the father (Bill), who lives in London, being artists. After the children's grandfather dies, they are all left gifts ¿ Caddy gets his cottage, Indigo gets his car, and Rose gets his left over cash. "For Saffron. Her angel in the garden. The stone angel." The children spend their days very imaginatively and go on wild adventures to retrieve Saffy's angel. The story involves a different family structure where adoption is present and where the father lives away from the home. All that is good because in this day and age, many families are drastically different from the ¿ideal¿ nuclear family in the 1950s. This book is good for late elementary school children, but girls will be more likely to be drawn to it than boys. In addition, all the characters in this story came alive, the dialogue was often very humorous, and there were so many adventures that I found it difficult to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1