BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sag Harbor

Average Rating 3.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Thought Provoking, Humorous, and Engrossing

This is a wonderfully written coming of age story. The prose is thought-provoking, humorous, and engrossing. The author uses humor to effectively bring important issues to the reader's consciousness. The author brings the reader back to the 1980's and all the quirky hap...
This is a wonderfully written coming of age story. The prose is thought-provoking, humorous, and engrossing. The author uses humor to effectively bring important issues to the reader's consciousness. The author brings the reader back to the 1980's and all the quirky happenings of that time; New Coke - need I say more. We also get a view into the issues that race and class present for teenagers just trying to learn how to fit in to such a complicated world. Also important is the realization and subsequent respect of our history and what generations before us went through and accomplished so that we may live as we do today. It is coming to terms with/recognizing that things we take for granted now were fought for and a price was paid by those who fought for them. The book starts out somewhat light-heartedly and then slowly weaves in the darkness that comes with family dysfunction and alcoholism. It is a well-rounded, funny, and sometimes heart-breaking story of growing up in a world full of choices and consequences.

posted by jclay26 on March 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Plot Please

They say if you don't get into a book in the first 50 pages, it's probably not for you. I gave it 80 pages. I wanted to like this book. I liked the characters in the beginning, and the trip down memory lane but...it kept on walking down that lane, relying on touching so...
They say if you don't get into a book in the first 50 pages, it's probably not for you. I gave it 80 pages. I wanted to like this book. I liked the characters in the beginning, and the trip down memory lane but...it kept on walking down that lane, relying on touching something that might make us reminisce long enough to just keep going. I need more than that. I need a plot, to know a story is going somewhere, internal or external but going somewhere. This to me after that many pages, was still in the same place. I became bored and the characters also began to bore me, so I had to give it up. Nice writing style, but not my cup of tea.

posted by vivico1 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Plot Please

    They say if you don't get into a book in the first 50 pages, it's probably not for you. I gave it 80 pages. I wanted to like this book. I liked the characters in the beginning, and the trip down memory lane but...it kept on walking down that lane, relying on touching something that might make us reminisce long enough to just keep going. I need more than that. I need a plot, to know a story is going somewhere, internal or external but going somewhere. This to me after that many pages, was still in the same place. I became bored and the characters also began to bore me, so I had to give it up. Nice writing style, but not my cup of tea.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boys Only?

    When this book first arrived in the mail my husband took one look and said, "you aren't going to like this book...I might like it, but you won't." I disagreed with him. However half-way through the book, I realized what he meant. I think it's more of a "boy" book, if that makes sense.
    I was excited that the book was set in the mid-80's, but in retrospect that had very little to do with the story. In addition I found the growing disconnect within the family depressing.
    I thought the story started off at a great pace, but quickly slowed almost to a halt for me. I guess all in all, there were not enough parallels between my life and the authors for it to sound any chords in my mind or imagination.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I wasn't thrill by this novel

    I truly cannot say that this book captured my interest and that I "had" to finish it. On the contrary, I really had to push myself to take the time to read it.
    Nevertheless, I don't think it is badly written and I am more inclined to think that it is due to the fact that I am not an american and, besides I wasn't raised here. Therefore, I am sure there are many subtles things that I haven't catched; many cultural details I am missing, etc.
    I can not recommend the book nor could I express a knowledgeable opinion about it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    Not so much

    I had a very difficult time trying to get into this book. I don't have a ton of time to dedicate for reading, so a book needs to grab me within the first 6 chapters, otherwise I move on. This book had an interesting writing style, but it took too many jumps in the thoughts to make a clear picture to me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sag Harbor

    I thought it was funny and original. I enjoyed his writing it made me think of the times I went to the beach as a kid. We could never afford to go away but it was still fun. It seems as though Colson enjoyed his childhood.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Sag harbor

    This book honestly did not capture my interest. I gave it time and waited for a piece of the story to get me hooked. As I read on it got very boring and there was too much useless detail that dragged on. I was disappointed in the book, but I wouldn't say it was badly written, just not my taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Tried to get into it

    I must say- this is hands down one of the most boring books I have ever listened to. There is no way I would have made 20 pages if I were reading this. I've recently heard of Sag harbor and how this group of African Americans have had a slice of of this nice Snooty historical place. Nothing stuck with me-- the only thing I could relate to is some of the music artist at the time. The dialopuge was way to bushzy to even understand what they were trying to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    The Title Hooked Me

    I read it and then gave it to a friend who lives in Sag Harbor in hopes to give her some historical background of the area she inhabits in Long Island. Not recommended for individuals over 35.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Overrated

    I'm trying so hard to like this book because of the hype about it. However, I'm unable to stick with it. Although I'm halfway through the book, it does not keep my interest. I've had to force myself to keep reading...reading this book has become a chore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed the writing style, didn't care for the plot

    The writing style was very good, I thought. Funny and fresh. I also thought it was easy to relate to Benji; who doesn't remember those ackward teenage years and trying desperately to fit in?

    I didn't like the plot, however. I found the way the story skipped around disjointing. Also, I kept waiting for something to happen...and it never really did. I wanted to really like this book, but it feel a bit short of what I had been expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldnt Get Into It

    I tried, I really did, but I just couldnt get into this book. It's really slow going and is more descriptive than anything really happening. There doesnt seem to be a plot of any kind. I failed to see the purpose of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1