Customer Reviews for

Sahara (Dirk Pitt Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Thriller for everyone!

Sahara has almost everything from a perfect book: It's funny, action packed and has some romance in there. It's starts off addicting enough with and iron clad warship and Kitty Mannock. Sahara is definitly one of the best Dirk Pitt books. The only real complaint I have ...
Sahara has almost everything from a perfect book: It's funny, action packed and has some romance in there. It's starts off addicting enough with and iron clad warship and Kitty Mannock. Sahara is definitly one of the best Dirk Pitt books. The only real complaint I have is the legnth of the book. I felt it could have been shorter by about 40 pages. As usual the ending scene with the rescue is pure Cussler. Meaning that when all hope seems lost Al or Dirk find a way to kick more butt and win. The best part of Sahara is that it appeals to about everyone. Action nuts, Adventure freaks, Political conspiracy lovers. It's got about it all. It's a roller coaster ride that everyone should take a ride on! It's the 3rd best Pitt book and gets a five out of five.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cussler is Cussler

Another LABB (Long Boring Book) detailed descriptions of nothing interspersed with macho action, a little mystery and lots of pseudo history.

posted by limnerDM on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it.

    Great story. Plot developed well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Way Cooler then the Movie

    I really enjoyed this book like I enjoy most of Clive Clusslers books I have read. I enjoyed being able to compare to the movie and I understand why Clive Cussler was pissed the movie is very different. I am glad to have it in my collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    So So

    This is my tenth Clive Cussler I've read and it's just didn't seem to be up to par with the others I've read. Some parts of the book didn't need to be there and just added to the length. Other than that a good Dirk Pitt novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Published Book Review of Sahara Sahara written by Clive Cussler

    Published Book Review of Sahara
    Sahara written by Clive Cussler is the eleventh in his series of Dirk Pitt adventure-fiction books.
    From the very beginning, I found that it to be a very compelling book that really gripped the reader,
    making it hard to put down until the end.  Cussler worked in some amazing threads throughout the
    story, making it very multidimensional and a slightly more complicated read. But, I think this really
    added to the overall theme of the book, making it more exciting and fun to read. 
    The book starts out with a scene in 1865, where a Confederate iron-clad named the “Texas” takes
     an unknown prisoner aboard and fights its way through the federal blockade, then vanishes into the
    Atlantic. It then abruptly skips to another scene in 1931 where an Australian aviatrix Kitty Mannock
    goes missing mysteriously in the middle of the Sahara while making an attempt to fly from London to
     Capetown. These events are only the start though, as Cussler works his magic of mystery even
    further. Suddenly it’s 1995 as the main character Dirk Pitt is called to find a Pharaoh’s funeral barge
    buried at the bottom of the River Nile. However this is just the start, as Pitt and his partner Al Giordino
    embark on a thrilling series of problems and enigmas. We follow them through the many plot twists,
     from dealing with a horrible disease ripping through Africa to finding the source of unprecedented
    pollution, that may ruin the oceanic ecosystem as a whole. 
    Of course, there has to be a villain or this wouldn't be a Dirk Pitt save-the-world adventure, as we find
    out this time it's a French billionaire named Yves Massarde, along with local African connection
    General Zateb Kazim. Together they basically represent everything corrupt and bad that anyone could
    ever think of, making it very easy to root for Dirk Pitt and company to solve all of the conundrums that
     they face in the book.
    This is the third book in the Dirk Pitt series that I have read up to this point, and I have found them all
    equally great. Sahara specifically though, is not the book for you if you are looking for a serious,
    extremely realistic novel. It is a purely a fun and exciting book to read, but also entirely fictional, and a
    real life equivalent would be not even remotely believable. A ton of totally unrelated events must fall
     into place perfectly for Dirk Pitt to miraculously save the world as we know it. Nevertheless, it is still an
     enjoyable dramatic novel that is great for reading in your spare time. I know I will be starting the next
    edition in the series shortly, and would encourage anyone looking for an amusing book to pick up a
     copy of Sahara. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Good read minus the history attempt

    I found this to be a captivating read. The plot was good and the characters were believable (mostly). I think the book could have done without the attempt at rewriting history. Without the history, I would recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2004

    One of Cussler's Best!

    An exciting plot with clever twists, some great Dirk/Al ingenuity, and a surprising and thought-provoking historical back story. A great bok!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2000

    Cussler's got some outstanding characters!

    The way humour is laced in the most desperate situations is laudable.I just love reading the antics of all his characters-the cranky Admiral,the cool Pitt & Giordino.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    I recomend

    This is the first Clive Cussler book I read, and I randomly picked it out of the group of his books. As an author he was recomended to me, and i was quiet pleased by his writing. The story, although a little unrealistic and far fetched, was entertaining and gripping. I would recomed this book to any reader with a good sense of adventure and a truely open mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1