Customer Reviews for

Sahara Special

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Skimmed

    I was at my school library and came across this book!!! it looked interesting, so i skimmed the pages. but then a word caught my eye. i went back to the page with where the word caught my eye and it said the B word. the bad b word. it actually was written there, in a children's book. i was so surprised. so i put the book down and didnt get it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Beautiful story. I read this with my 8 year old daughter after

    Beautiful story. I read this with my 8 year old daughter after reading "Vive La Paris", another novel by the author. They are both written so well. Each night, we would read way past her bedtime because we enjoyed the story so much. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What does it take to be special?

    I listened to this book on audio with my children in the car. It is read by Phylicia Rashad who took me back in time a bit to the Cosby Show. I considered trying to tell my children how I used to watch a TV show she was on, but thought it might take too much time. I almost turned this story off soon after we started it because of some questionable words, but I am glad we stuck with it. Part of me wanted to give it a chance and the other part knew we had a longish drive ahead of us and it was the only audio book I had brought along.

    Sahara has stopped doing any work at school because she doesn't want the school counselor to have anything else to put in her file but on her own she is writing her life story and hiding it in a little used section of the public library. Getting a new teacher who doesn't read files and doesn't put limits on her students is the best thing that could have happened to Sahara and her classmates. She grows and changes so much through the story, and as with a lot of growth, it isn't always easy or painless.

    I loved how Miss Pointy had her students write in journals every day. I recall a seventh grade teacher I had who had us keep a manilla folder with paper and we were given regular time to write, sometimes on a prompt and others on whatever we wanted to write. I loved that time and I really think it helped me to grow and understand myself better. It was a school year where I really felt like the future was open before me and possibilities were there, and that is what Sahara comes away with. She also comes to see herself as special as a person and not in having special needs that need individualized attention in the classroom. For children I think it shows that having belief in yourself can change things that you think are set in stone, sometimes it is our own inner critic that is keeping us from moving ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    My Family LOVED this book

    I checked this audio book out of the library for a long family trip. The audio book is read by Phylicia Rashad, who has a lovely voice and who is a fabulous reader. You should have seen my entire family RUN back to the car after rest stops (parents too) to get back to the CD! Also the frantic cries, "Wait! Rewind! I didn't hear that! Rewind!" Although some of the material and themes are on the mature side, it is a truly rewarding story that gives the listener a lot to think about. In particular, one main character in the story illustrates that even if a teacher [parent/boss/partner] does NOT know how to solve a problem that another person has, he/she can use the amazingly powerful tools of patience, respect and acceptance to encourage personal growth and a good outcome for that other person. I found the story to be inspirational and highly practical while avoiding sentimentality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    You will be doing me a favor NOT to read this

    Hi i am Louise Aka lulu I got to choose a book for a prodgect and I chose this one. I learned this was a big mistake!

    Sahara special
    The fictional novel Sahara special by Esme Raji Codell takes place in New York City during the present day. Sahara is having problems in school when the story begins. When Sahara was young her father left her and her mother to take care of them. Sahara misses her father very much. She would write letters to her father but she wouldn't send them because she had no idea where her father is. Her desk was over flowing with letters to her father. And her teacher comes across the letters. She suggests to the school that they would move her to a special Ed class but her mother negotiates to keep her in a regular class since it was the end of the year. Sahara stays back a year and she is placed in a new room with a new teacher. Her teacher is named Mrs. Pointy, and she wares unusual lipstick. She has unusual subjects such as time travel and journaling. In Sahara's class there is a boy named Daryl Strikes who is rude and cusses to the teacher, and who No one ever speaks up to. But the new teacher is watching him very closely. Sahara would like to be a writer when she grows up but in class she is being lazy and won't write, so Mrs. Pointy helps her become a good writer and a good student.
    There were a lot of good things about the book. The story of Sahara is special has good description. When the story told about Mrs. Pointy I could see her in my head. The story had many interesting characters. The people were Darryl and Sahara. The size of the book was good. The book was 178 pages. Even though the book was very good there was a few bad things about it. The vocabulary was very easy. The words were not that descriptive, as I would like it. There were some inappropriate words. Sahara would talk to herself. It would get confusing.
    The story was in first person. I know this because she said " Why did I do this, why did I write them?" The book used slang. A child said " For my birthday I wanna puppy!" Last of all a he book uses sensory details. Which is when the book pains a picture in my head.
    I do not recommend this book. The story has a realistic scenario. It isn't a fun easy book to read. There are many interesting characters in the book. Some of them are Darryl and Mrs. Pointy. There are many books like this one such as Come again. Some other books I recommend are Franny K. Stine by Jim Benton, witch is about a girl that is a mad scientist. A Mouse Called Wolf by Dick King- smith witch is about a mouse that can sing. And The Outsiders by S.T Hinton witch a fast moving action book. Almost all of the books are fantastic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    An Awesome Book: Sahara Special

    Sahara Special is about a girl who has special help in school and alot of the time is made fun of it. Her parents are divorced and she is trying to get in touch with her dad. Her life is ok but after she meets the new teacher, everything changes. Sahara is a secret writer until the new teacher, Miss Pointy, finds out. But instead of getting on to Sahara for hiding stories in the school library, she inspires her. This book is not perfect, but reccomended. It's up and down emotional feelings will drive the readers crazy until they finish it. Everybody should have the oppurtunity to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    powerful, beautiful!!

    I really think the reason this was a great book is because of all the meanings in has and how it has to do with the life from a girl in special ed to a boy in her class that needs help because of the way his mom treats him!! and smacks him in the head! and how sahara must learn to deal with her dad leaving her and her mom..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Phenomenal

    It was touching in a way I don't know. I cried at the end. This is what I call a vividly written book. You can really imagine what is going on! I think it is a book in which the story can happen in real life, but in Sahara's case, you don't want to believe it has happened to her. Sometimes it's sad. Sahara Special is a mix of reality, emotions, and this book is definetely special!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    so sad..but EXCELLENT!!!!!

    it is about a girl named sahara..her dad named her sahara to make her feel special...when she was in 2nd grade people started calling her sahara special...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    OMG its acyually a good book

    I read Sahara Special after christmas. It was a good book. The author described Sahara very well! If she was real i would love to meet her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Sahara Special is my new Fav Book!!!

    This is such a touching story-good descriptive words and good stories, and I especially loved the poetry. The only thing was there were a few bad words but not that bad, and I really want to read the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    Sahara Special

    I thought this book was just okay. It does teach a few lessons here and there such as, it doesn't matter how good you are at something, everyone is the same. I really liked that because it can teach other kids that are kind of in the same situation as Sahara was in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    SAHARA SPECIAL

    I thought that this book was really REALLY touching. The characters' personalities are very strong, but if you are nine years old or younger, I advise you not to read this book because it has some bad words in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Sahara Special

    I really enjoyed reading this book because it is so detailed and so interesting to read. Once I started reading I couldn't stop, I wanted to just keep on going to see what would happen next. I liked how the characters in the story could relate to the average students at our own schools. The name of the main character in this book is Sahara Jones. She is very uncomfortable when she is around a large group of people. Her best friend, Rachel, is also her cousin. Rachel is nothing like Sahara. Rachel is very attentive in class and she was always raising her hand, waiting to be called on. One student named Darrell Sikes, who I found the most interesting to read about, was the type of kid who did nothing but what he wanted to do. He always disobeyed the teacher and talked back to her. I admire Mrs. Pointy because she could handle very intense situations so easily, and she barely ever raised her voice to anyone. I really loved how the book ended. I don't want to spoil it so you'll just have to go and check it out! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Sahara Special

    I really enjoyed reading this book because Esme Raji Codell wrote it so detailed and interesting, I didn't want to stop reading it. I love how the characters relate to students at our very own schools. Sahara Jones is the main character in this book and since her mother decided to hold her back, she is in the fifth grade for the second time. Darrel Sikes is the problem student in her class. He is always being disruptive and disobeying Mrs. Pointy. I admire Mrs. Point because she handles very intense situations so well, and she barely ever raises her voice. Sahara's best friend's name is Rachel, they are also cousins. Rachel and Sahara are nothing alike, Sahara keeps quiet in class and Rachel is very attentive in class. Reading this book has inspired me to let out the inner person that I may have locked up tight inside of me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Perfect

    This book is truly outstanding. It combinds fear, happyness, and tears. I absolutely adore this book and I'm reccomending it to all my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    This is what I call a book!.....

    If your a kid, teenager, adult, whatever... then you'll love this book. If you like to laugh and giggle then here ya go! This book is truly inspiring. It has everything a great book needs. A funny story with a happy ending. This is just too perfect for words! And it's a postive story and a real page turner. I cant wait to do my book report on it! And the writer is outstanding. She has a wonderful gift for writing. We need more writers like her! And I know what people too! Here they are: Beverly Cleary, Judy Blume, J.K. Rowling, Sharon Creech, Ann M. Martin, Jean Ferris, and finally Micael Hoeye. All these wonderful authors I have listed, I love. Who wouldnt? There writing is just so awesome! I think all writers have great talents, but I think these and probably many more out there, are the greatest writers in history! Each book inspires us in a lot of different ways. And I think 'Sahara Special' inspirs us all. I hope everyone reads this book and enjoys it. Also enjoy other writers whether, it's the ones I listed or your favorites. It doesnt matter. But above all, Have fun reading. ;-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    A wonderful, inspiring story

    A great gift for a teacher or any child, whether sh/e loves to read and write or is having trouble doing so. Esme Codell is a talented and funny writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1