Customer Reviews for

Sail

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect blend of everything needed in a thrilling short novel

I was skeptical of this book at first. i saw it on the shelf, thought it may be interesting, but looked at the "number 1s" it got and decided to try it out. ive never been so greatful for something in my life. it was an amazing read that i literally did not put down a s...
I was skeptical of this book at first. i saw it on the shelf, thought it may be interesting, but looked at the "number 1s" it got and decided to try it out. ive never been so greatful for something in my life. it was an amazing read that i literally did not put down a single time while reading it. it had me shocked to the point of adrenaline racing through my body, flipping pages faster than i have before. and it had me laughing out loud at the personalities and communications between unique family members. AMAZING READ, i recommend it to everyone. old, young, someone with no time on their hands, someone with all the time in the world. its just simply amazing.

posted by 17_windows_of_oppurtunity on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Pitiful Endeavor

JP must be driven by greed these days. While the plot itself held some promise, its treatment was so incredibly poorly developed, it was difficult to believe JP had any role in writing it. I almost threw the book away half way through because the worn out cliches were...
JP must be driven by greed these days. While the plot itself held some promise, its treatment was so incredibly poorly developed, it was difficult to believe JP had any role in writing it. I almost threw the book away half way through because the worn out cliches were really getting to me. That and the fact that each mini chapter (they are all so short) had to introduce some new crisis of unbelievable porportions to deal with made for an unrealistic, annoying tale. I have been a fan of JP, love the Women's Murder Club series and others, but this one has made me wary of ever picking up one of his books again. I will closely review any that are co-written. I have to believe that the problem lies largely with the coauthor, especially in this case. My recommendation - don't bother, it's a waste of time and, in my case, an exercise in frustration.

posted by opiedude on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    A Pitiful Endeavor

    JP must be driven by greed these days. While the plot itself held some promise, its treatment was so incredibly poorly developed, it was difficult to believe JP had any role in writing it. I almost threw the book away half way through because the worn out cliches were really getting to me. That and the fact that each mini chapter (they are all so short) had to introduce some new crisis of unbelievable porportions to deal with made for an unrealistic, annoying tale. I have been a fan of JP, love the Women's Murder Club series and others, but this one has made me wary of ever picking up one of his books again. I will closely review any that are co-written. I have to believe that the problem lies largely with the coauthor, especially in this case. My recommendation - don't bother, it's a waste of time and, in my case, an exercise in frustration.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Great to listen to....

    Listened to this one while traveling. It held my interest through out the book and did not make me tired. Highly recommend for anyone traveling.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect blend of everything needed in a thrilling short novel

    I was skeptical of this book at first. i saw it on the shelf, thought it may be interesting, but looked at the "number 1s" it got and decided to try it out. ive never been so greatful for something in my life. it was an amazing read that i literally did not put down a single time while reading it. it had me shocked to the point of adrenaline racing through my body, flipping pages faster than i have before. and it had me laughing out loud at the personalities and communications between unique family members. AMAZING READ, i recommend it to everyone. old, young, someone with no time on their hands, someone with all the time in the world. its just simply amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Pathetic

    This piece of drivel has nothing to recommend it. I read an average of 2 to 3 books a month and this one wins the dubious honor of being the most inane piece of garbage I've ever waded through. It taxes my imagination to believe that James Patterson wrote or approved this sophomoiric effort for publication. Shame on you, Mr. Patterson. If it were possible to rate it below the lowest rating, I would.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    Three Sheets to the Wind

    If your looking for character, nuance, symbolism, irony, metaphor, or anything else remotely literary, than this isn't your novel. Plot, and plot alone, drives most of Patterson's writing. Lately his novels read like outlines for TV movies-of-the-week. Cliches abound, coincidences generally save the day, and the characters are at best 1 dimensional. This is, however, a good book if you want a diversion that's not at all demanding and is reasonably entertaining - the way one might feel watching re-runs of Gilligan's Island, for example. It is a fast read and not a bad way of passing commuting time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Sail is worth taking on a flight or the beach

    A great beach or backyard read. Hard to put down once started. A surprise ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    When fun in the sun ends in tears and screams

    I wouldn't say this book is filled with terror and is better than Jaws but it was a fun read. Short and fast paced making it a cinch to read in a day or two, "Sail" delivers entertainment and some tension but overall the seas aren't as rough as the editorial reviews would lead one to believe.

    Family on the brink of total disconnect decides to sail for two months on their luxury yacht. Katherine Dunne and her kids along with her ex-lover and brother of her deceased husband look forward to some time in the sun and hopefully some much needed bonding. Her new husband Peter Carlyle is absent due to a stressful trail he's preparing for and is unable to travel with his family, as time and ocean space lengthens the distance between the married could so do their morals. Pretty soon all sorts of disasters strike the boat and the family is not only in danger from the elements but something else, something sinister that has been set in motion before the trip even started.

    After reading it I can see both negative and positive things about it so I understand the varied rating for "Sail". Some positive things worth mentioning would include the short chapters that often end with anticipation, the book is very easy to read, sometimes too easy and there are few cool twists that surprised me, perhaps because I didn't read many reviews before I got to it. The negatives issues are more about one dimensional characters, especially the kids; they don't really stand out other than being a group of dysfunctional spoiled brats as knows why they act in such a way. The time at sea is not really lengthy, the sailing seems to be more of an afterthought, and the book lacks depth, making it more of a fun, easy read rather than an emotional stunner. It's hard to say what this book is about, on one hand there's the sailing adventure that sort of falls apart and at the other is a marriage gone wrong, with people whom we know nothing about acting in bizarre ways, at the end it all somehow comes together but with much help from the authors who patched it up for the finish. Not the strongest from Patterson but worth a read.

    - Kasia S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    What started out as a very predictable and almost boring story d

    What started out as a very predictable and almost boring story did a 180 and knocked me off my feet! Sail introduces us to the family Dunne…heart surgeon mom Katherine, her brother in law Jake and Katherine’s children Mark, Carrie and Ernie. They are taking the family yacht on a vacation for some quality time and family bonding since the death of Stuart, Katherine’s first husband. At first glance, it appears a family vacation is the last thing this group of people need and instead should opt for some intensive therapy. Mark is using drugs, Carrie jumps overboard in an apparent suicide attempt and the youngest seems to be overlooked and forgotten by everyone else. 




    Mother Nature at her worst, explosions and murder are just a small taste of what the Dunne family has in store for them on this vacation. Once the story got past the beginning and I began to feel a connection, I couldn’t tear myself away. Everything from what happens to the family and why to who is behind it and why was intense and it doesn’t end there. The story throws twist after twist all the way to the end of the book, leaving me with my mouth hanging open in shock and surprise.




    My Final Verdict: If you like to be surprised by a book and enjoy having the rug ripped out from under you, I highly recommend this story. If you enjoy stories that are intense and suspenseful but also have many layers to the story and characters that keep you guessing, then Sail should be your next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Listen my brother told me this song

    Dogs dogs, crying babys, people falling, hot hot ladys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Katma

    A hooded figure walks out of the snow and quietly makes her way towards the ship. She pulled down the hood and got a better view at the ship. "Id like to join.." she said with a think Russin accent, her deep green eyes taking in everything. She flipped back a strand of light silver-blonde hair out of her eyes and rested her hand on a long skeever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Butch

    "Butch. Nice ta meet ya." He said, offering his hand."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    The Morgue

    You can try, but you'd fail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Sage

    She heartly shook it and smiled, a kind but somehow bitter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Ayame

    I'm joining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Zach

    He walks in with dirty blonde hair and blue eyes. His flips duel revolvers over and over in his hands. Gooday mate. Id like to join.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Julianna

    "Welcome abord Katma!" Julianna says, smoothly swinging herself onto the deck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    BAD! BAD SILVER!

    Captain here. No we cannot have any late joiners. I will let only this one time for this to happen. No more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Very exciting

    This book was very easy to read and kept me interested throughout. The book takes many exciting twists and turns and I found myself not being able to put it down so I could find out what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Sail!!!!!!!!!

    The song ibette.s

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Soron to gandalf

    HEY! STOP BEING MEAN TOO MY OTHER RP PALS 'turns into fireheart and hissis at gandalf'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12