Customer Reviews for

Sail

Average Rating 4
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect blend of everything needed in a thrilling short novel

I was skeptical of this book at first. i saw it on the shelf, thought it may be interesting, but looked at the "number 1s" it got and decided to try it out. ive never been so greatful for something in my life. it was an amazing read that i literally did not put down a s...
I was skeptical of this book at first. i saw it on the shelf, thought it may be interesting, but looked at the "number 1s" it got and decided to try it out. ive never been so greatful for something in my life. it was an amazing read that i literally did not put down a single time while reading it. it had me shocked to the point of adrenaline racing through my body, flipping pages faster than i have before. and it had me laughing out loud at the personalities and communications between unique family members. AMAZING READ, i recommend it to everyone. old, young, someone with no time on their hands, someone with all the time in the world. its just simply amazing.

posted by 17_windows_of_oppurtunity on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Pitiful Endeavor

JP must be driven by greed these days. While the plot itself held some promise, its treatment was so incredibly poorly developed, it was difficult to believe JP had any role in writing it. I almost threw the book away half way through because the worn out cliches were...
JP must be driven by greed these days. While the plot itself held some promise, its treatment was so incredibly poorly developed, it was difficult to believe JP had any role in writing it. I almost threw the book away half way through because the worn out cliches were really getting to me. That and the fact that each mini chapter (they are all so short) had to introduce some new crisis of unbelievable porportions to deal with made for an unrealistic, annoying tale. I have been a fan of JP, love the Women's Murder Club series and others, but this one has made me wary of ever picking up one of his books again. I will closely review any that are co-written. I have to believe that the problem lies largely with the coauthor, especially in this case. My recommendation - don't bother, it's a waste of time and, in my case, an exercise in frustration.

posted by opiedude on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    A Pitiful Endeavor

    JP must be driven by greed these days. While the plot itself held some promise, its treatment was so incredibly poorly developed, it was difficult to believe JP had any role in writing it. I almost threw the book away half way through because the worn out cliches were really getting to me. That and the fact that each mini chapter (they are all so short) had to introduce some new crisis of unbelievable porportions to deal with made for an unrealistic, annoying tale. I have been a fan of JP, love the Women's Murder Club series and others, but this one has made me wary of ever picking up one of his books again. I will closely review any that are co-written. I have to believe that the problem lies largely with the coauthor, especially in this case. My recommendation - don't bother, it's a waste of time and, in my case, an exercise in frustration.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Pathetic

    This piece of drivel has nothing to recommend it. I read an average of 2 to 3 books a month and this one wins the dubious honor of being the most inane piece of garbage I've ever waded through. It taxes my imagination to believe that James Patterson wrote or approved this sophomoiric effort for publication. Shame on you, Mr. Patterson. If it were possible to rate it below the lowest rating, I would.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    OMG Awful!

    As bad as the writing is - and it's 5th grade quality (the whole book is just one hackneyed cliche after another), the passages involving the ocean are the worst part, because the author shows an appalling lack of knowledge about physics, boating, swimming, the sea in general, and sailing in particular. It is a crying shame what education in this country has come to, when I see that so many people have written that they enjoyed this drivel. I agree with the reviewer who said that your money would be better spent (wasted) at a McDonald's!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Not Typical JP

    I normally really like James Patterson's books - even those that are written by someone else. But this book was just plain dumb and completely not plausible. Now, I know you are probably saying, "Not plausible? What JP books are plausible?" This one was poorly written and some of the events were just so far 'out there' that I rolled my eyes. Save your money and buy something else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    Throw it overboard.

    To many cheesy one-liners and plot twists. I found myself rolling my eyes as yet another plot twist unveiled itself. The general plot concept is good but the book was just not written well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    Absolute Rubbish

    Complete waste of time and money. If Patterson cannot take the time to write it himself, he should not be misleading people by fanchising his name out to a co writer to produce rubbish like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    This is a review on the book Sail by James Patterson

    This is the first book by James Patterson that I have been disappointed in. I am an advid reader and enjoy a great mystery but this read as if it was written by a child. I got the impression that another writer must have written this book and placed James Patterson's name on it to sell books. Mr. Patterson is not screening his writters very well. I can only say I was lucky to have been given this book to read by a family member and did spend any money. I will be throwing it away because it is truely a waste of time to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    You've got to be kidding me!

    I've read better comic books than this. I've never read James Patterson and never will again. This was a total waste of my time although I read it in a couple hours on a flight as there are really very few words in this novel - pages are filled up with a lot of white space apparently to make the book thick enough to justify the price. It could have easily been written as a comic book. I'm a sailor and thus picked it up at airport not knowing what to expect from James Patterson. Character development is horrible, the plot (if you can call it that) is very predictable, and the ideal of a maneating snake on a deserted Caribbean island is about as preposterous as a 915 pound tuna. Wait for the comic book version, or better yet don't read at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    For the gullible only

    I would not recommend this outline for a novel under any circumstances. The series of one to two page chapters (a space wasting device used to make the book seems much longer than it really is) contains so many fantastical events (a bottle containing a note from a shipwrecked family falls out of the mouth of a just caught 900 pound tuna apparently five minutes after it is thrown into the water by a ten year old) and so little detail that I am tempted to throw my copy away instead of passing it on to a friend or donating it to charity.

    Spend your money on a baggie of sand instead of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Do not Read!!

    I have read nearly all of Patterson's books, and in the past two or three years he has fallen off. he needs to go back to writing on his own, and slowing down and writing one or two really good books a year, instead of 5 books that are only really bought because it has his name on it. This book may be read fast but that is only because the chapters are so short, you just keep reading them, i do not recomend this book, go back to his earlier stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    I am stupider for reading this drivel!

    As a retired SEAL, aircraft owner, sailboat owner and avid reader I was insulted by this ridiculous story. Every page screamed of either poor research or absolutely none at all. 4 people and luggage in a Skyhawk!<BR/>If the pilot made 4 round trips maybe. Fixed a waterline with a fuel line! Are you kidding me! How did the boat sail? They left the dock in Newport then seemed to magically be offshore in no time! Who was driving the boat? The portrayal of the Coast Guard and their dialog was pure fantasy! This author may of had some past success, I don't, I have never read anything he's written in the past and won't read anything again. At any rate I wouldn't recommend this story or the author to anyone. The fact that Navy SEAL had to be invoked to describe the male characters ability to stay underwater for seemingly a lifetime was so weak it made me laugh. The only emotion this story brought out in me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Ridiculous!

    Being a seasoned sailor '35+ years' I grabbed this book as soon as it hit the stores. It became obvious that the author has never been aboard a sailboat in his life! I can start with how the boats 'engine room' wa so big, it was below the floorboards of a small vessel as he had described. Everything relating to the design, sailplan, handling and actions of this boat wher PURE fantasy! Next time, the author should at least consult someone who SAILS prior to wrting such a ridiculous story. For non-sailors it may be exciting, but for those of us who have sailing in our blood...SHAME ON YOU!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Are You Kidding Me!!!!!

    This was the most far fetched ridiculous book I've read I'm glad I didn't spend any money on it. It was full of cliche after cliche the only reason it was on the best selling list was because of the name. It just goes to show you that you'll write anything for a buck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Completely unbelievable. . .

    Was this book supposed to be taken seriously by the reader? It just so happens that the largest tuna, shark, and snake ever known to man make an appearance in this book. After reading the prologue, I knew this book was going to be absurd and far-fetched. Cliche after cliche fill the remainder of this book, the authors using awfully convenient situations to keep the story moving. James Patterson is the epitome of sheer greed in its finest form. There is no reason that he has to produce a book almost monthly just to make as much money as possible. Patterson sacrifices quality in preference for quantity. He needs to go back to writing books by himself which are enjoyable to read. As long as he keeps using other authors to write his books I no longer will buy them. He has lost a long-time fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    it read like it was for adults that read on a 2nd grade reading level. the story was predictable and boring. I am surprised there was no pop out pages or illustations. I cannot believe patterson wrote this book. I wanted my money back I was so upset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    I wouldn't recommend this one

    I thought this book was horrible. I bought it because I'm a huge fan of James Patterson, but this book was extremely disappointing. I would not recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2