Customer Reviews for

Sail

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect blend of everything needed in a thrilling short novel

I was skeptical of this book at first. i saw it on the shelf, thought it may be interesting, but looked at the "number 1s" it got and decided to try it out. ive never been so greatful for something in my life. it was an amazing read that i literally did not put down a s...
I was skeptical of this book at first. i saw it on the shelf, thought it may be interesting, but looked at the "number 1s" it got and decided to try it out. ive never been so greatful for something in my life. it was an amazing read that i literally did not put down a single time while reading it. it had me shocked to the point of adrenaline racing through my body, flipping pages faster than i have before. and it had me laughing out loud at the personalities and communications between unique family members. AMAZING READ, i recommend it to everyone. old, young, someone with no time on their hands, someone with all the time in the world. its just simply amazing.

posted by 17_windows_of_oppurtunity on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Pitiful Endeavor

JP must be driven by greed these days. While the plot itself held some promise, its treatment was so incredibly poorly developed, it was difficult to believe JP had any role in writing it. I almost threw the book away half way through because the worn out cliches were...
JP must be driven by greed these days. While the plot itself held some promise, its treatment was so incredibly poorly developed, it was difficult to believe JP had any role in writing it. I almost threw the book away half way through because the worn out cliches were really getting to me. That and the fact that each mini chapter (they are all so short) had to introduce some new crisis of unbelievable porportions to deal with made for an unrealistic, annoying tale. I have been a fan of JP, love the Women's Murder Club series and others, but this one has made me wary of ever picking up one of his books again. I will closely review any that are co-written. I have to believe that the problem lies largely with the coauthor, especially in this case. My recommendation - don't bother, it's a waste of time and, in my case, an exercise in frustration.

posted by opiedude on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Sail is worth taking on a flight or the beach

    A great beach or backyard read. Hard to put down once started. A surprise ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    When fun in the sun ends in tears and screams

    I wouldn't say this book is filled with terror and is better than Jaws but it was a fun read. Short and fast paced making it a cinch to read in a day or two, "Sail" delivers entertainment and some tension but overall the seas aren't as rough as the editorial reviews would lead one to believe.

    Family on the brink of total disconnect decides to sail for two months on their luxury yacht. Katherine Dunne and her kids along with her ex-lover and brother of her deceased husband look forward to some time in the sun and hopefully some much needed bonding. Her new husband Peter Carlyle is absent due to a stressful trail he's preparing for and is unable to travel with his family, as time and ocean space lengthens the distance between the married could so do their morals. Pretty soon all sorts of disasters strike the boat and the family is not only in danger from the elements but something else, something sinister that has been set in motion before the trip even started.

    After reading it I can see both negative and positive things about it so I understand the varied rating for "Sail". Some positive things worth mentioning would include the short chapters that often end with anticipation, the book is very easy to read, sometimes too easy and there are few cool twists that surprised me, perhaps because I didn't read many reviews before I got to it. The negatives issues are more about one dimensional characters, especially the kids; they don't really stand out other than being a group of dysfunctional spoiled brats as knows why they act in such a way. The time at sea is not really lengthy, the sailing seems to be more of an afterthought, and the book lacks depth, making it more of a fun, easy read rather than an emotional stunner. It's hard to say what this book is about, on one hand there's the sailing adventure that sort of falls apart and at the other is a marriage gone wrong, with people whom we know nothing about acting in bizarre ways, at the end it all somehow comes together but with much help from the authors who patched it up for the finish. Not the strongest from Patterson but worth a read.

    - Kasia S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    The Morgue

    You can try, but you'd fail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Was alright

    Not horrible, not fantastic just a time filler

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    A good in-between book

    This is a good in between book. What I mean is a light read after a more heavy book. You don't have to do a whole lot of thinking for this book. The plot is very predictable with some cheesy romance scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    Not Up to James Patterson's Usual

    This book seemed very shallow in its plot and its characters. It did not pull me like his books usually do. I read it because it was written by him but it is not one that I would whole-heartedly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beach Book

    Quick read, keeps you guessing. Similar to several other stories. Good escape or beach book. Not as good as normal plot for this authour. Not believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Too predictable

    Once the bottle comes into play, I guessed everything & the writing wasn't that good to keep me interested. I read the last 2 chapters, something I've never done before in 50 years of mystery reading. Went back to the book when the weather got lousy & I had nothing else to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    More of the same

    Sail reads a lot like James Patterson and Peter De Jonge¿s Beach Road. The only difference is locale. I enjoyed Beach Road and its surprise ending but in Sail, I could predict many of the things that were going to happen before they happened. Beach Road was a great read and if you¿ve already read it you really don¿t need to read Sail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    wheres the suspense?

    I started this book at 9am at the beach and was done by the time I left. It was written for a second grade child, it seemed. I always enjoy reading JP's books because of the suspense, and the 'never knew who done it til the last page' factor. Unfortunately, this book lacked the dramatics and was just way too unrealistic that I lost a little interest in the early going. With all that said, I would still recommend this book. I enjoyed it but just wasnt up to JP caliber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Disappointed

    I have only read four other Patterson novels and was looking forward to reading this one. It was a fast read but not the usual suspense of the others that I read. You know who early on in the book, which is a disappointment. Also, I thought that the ending was abrupt. Not one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    What is going on here?

    As much as I hate to say this, I have to agree with the reviewers who gave this book three stars or lower. James Patterson's last four of five books have been boring garbage. There used to be a point where as soon as a new JP book came out I had to have it purchased and read in a few days. Now I could care less. The only reason I have gotten his last few books is because I get them for free from a friend of mine. Don't get me wrong, I think that it is very noble of him to write with co-authors because it gives no names a chance to be read but enough is enough. It's not worth him tarnishing his own reputation to further someone else's. I gave this book three stars because it kept my attention until the end, but by no means is it one of his better books. Some of the storyline was completely unrealistic and there was too many convenient 'coincidences.' Until the day that James Patterson starts to write on his own, I will bypass his new releases on the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Still waiting for vintage Patterson style

    It was definitely a quick and easy read - a couple of hours. However, I have read every book he has written, and still wait with each new Patterson book for his old style to return. For me quality would be better than quanitity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    what happened

    It's just was not a page turner like most JP books. I look foward to every book coming out of his it makes me wonder about now the next book Dangerous Days of Daniel x (now aliens) another series to start or never start

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Quick Summer Read

    Katherine Dunne and her children plan to sail on their family boat during their summer vacation. No one is looking forward to this trip, including Katherine. Her daughter is depressed and suicidal, her middle son is a stoner with unused potential, and her youngest son is somewhat uptight. Their family vacation quickly turns into their worst nightmare. Meanwhile back in Manhattan, Katherine's second husband, Peter who is a lawyer, stays behind to prepare for his upcoming trial. Little does Katherine know, her loving husband is anything but that. Sail is true to JP's writing style: short chapters, plot twists, and plenty of supporting characters. Overall, I thought reading Sail was like watching a combined episode of Lost and Survivor, with a Law and Order twist for an ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2