Customer Reviews for

Sailing Alone around the Room: New and Selected Poems

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Billy Collins is my favorite, all time poet.

    Billy Collins has truly mastered the art of the English Language. He somehow discovers a new and exciting way to masterfully describe in vivid detail the experiences many of us can only dream of having. What an amazing body of work. I especially loved "Advice to Writers", which gave me insight into how to become a better writer myself. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you, Mr. Collins for your insightful observations. You are the prime time example of what it means to be an everyman. I can't wait until the follow up of Ballistics!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    A treat to be savored

    Delving into Billy Collins' poetry is akin to sampling the treats at a sumptuous buffet. There is something for every taste, and each morsel provides a delightful moment - some humorous, some mellow, some insightful, others spicey and piquant. Like the master chef who makes boning a whole chicken while leaving it all intact, Collins makes it all look so easy. "Oh, I could have written this," you think. But you didn't. And when you try, you realize just how difficult good writing really is. I keep my copy of this book by my bed and when I need a little before-bed treat, I browse around the book and before I know it, it is well past midnight and my eyelids are heavy. But I am smiling as I turn out the light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    poetry for the people

    if you love to laugh and marvel at beautiful insights into the everyday world, then you will love this book.

    billy's poetry is accessible and clever. you never find yourself wondering, "what is he talking about."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reason to bring back reading aloud

    The comfortable, intelligent humor stays with you, the observations are accessible and thought provoking. Especially good when read aloud to/by friends -- even non-poetry types.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Bella's bio

    Name: Bella Everdeen. Age: 17. Looks: long aburun hair that is always in a dutch braid, sparkling green eyes. Godly parent: Apollo. Personality: shy, sarcastic, likes the color black. Siblings: Katniss Everdeen, and Peeta Mellark ( half ). Powers: Perfect aim in archery, I guess. Weapon:A penny that turns into a golden bow with a mockingjay and arrows that shoot flaming mockingjays. Hobbies: has a very pretty voice, is excellent at archery and loves hunting. Relationship: none. Outfit: black skinny jeans with a black tank top and a hunting jacket with hunting boots, is slightly attractive. Anything else: ask i guess. Theme song (s) : Demons by Imagine Dragons, The Hanging Tree - Bella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Person

    Person.... meep!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Krono

    Nam:Krono gender: boy father:Hades mess with me and i will make sure you feel pain

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Mercy

    Name: Mercy no last name. Age: 13 Description: Small thin frame with long shiny brown hair and deep green eyes framed by long thick lashes. High cheeck bones and soft pink lips that are intensifed by her porclin skin. Sweet smile. Parent: sadly Aphrodite goddess of love an beauty. But dont think i cant kick your as<_>s if I want to. Wears: because of the curse er i mean gift of Aphrodite shes now dressed in a white dress with gold arm bands but normally wears ratty street clothes. Other: ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Clara

    Name: Look up---Age: 16---Godly Parent: Unclaimed---Looks: Long brown hair with golden eyes, considered pretty in sort of a scary way, lightly tanned skin---Powers: Undiscovered---History: Was the only daughter from a very wealthy family and was trapped in the labyrinth on the night of her prom. Wandered for 20 years and came across her real dad. He told her everything, but accidentally wiped her memory. He transported her to Camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Lynx

    Name: Lynx (other names unknown) <br>
    Gender: GIRL <br>
    Age: 13 <br>
    Appearance: Mottled hair with colors ranging from the lightest ginger to the darkest brown and everything in between. Eyes are a light leafy color. Wears an old soccer shirt and jeggings. Usually barefoot. <br>
    Godly Parent: Pan, but downright REFUSES to be stuffed into the Hermes cabin! <br>
    History: I'd rather not say that. <br>
    Themes: Tiptoe by Imagine Dragons, It's Time by Imagine Dragons, Long Live the Queen by Frank Turner, and Viva la Vida by Coldplay.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Avery

    Name: Avery ** Looks: dirty blonde hair with thin bangs, gray-green eyes. ** Age: 16 ** Godly Parent: Nike, goddess of Victory ** Personality: depends on who you are, but has a Nike obsession ** Powers: I can and will win in sports, I can make whoever I want win whatever, I will successfully do something small (music or socializing or something) on the first try, and if theres a small amount of bronze, gold, or silver, I can make more and create something out of it. ** Boyfriend: none ** Crush: none ** History: I almost got run over by some monster at a track meet when I was 13, and eventually, my dad told me to come here, he wasnt very specific. So I followed his directions, meeting Nike, who claimed me, Athena, Artemis, who tried to convince me to join the Hunters, and Tyche going on my own quest for like 3 years to try and come here. ** Pets: I have a pegasus named Reyna I met on the way here. ** Other: ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Mags' NEW AND IMPROVED!!! Bio

    Name: *facepalm*
    Age: 17
    Gender: F
    Godly Parent: Hecate, grandfather on dads side was son of Ares
    Powers: Ummm... I still haven't fighured all of them out. I do have magic though
    Weapon of Choice: Twin imperial gold katanas. Also likes daggers too.
    Description: long black hair in ringlets, sequinned silver shirt, leather jacket, AEO jeggings, combat boots, darkish makeup, blue gray eyes
    Personality: Kind, brave, sarcastic, if the gods get on her bad side she will like, explode, and other than that meet her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Piper's bio&hearts

    Is at demi res one. Im not posting it again.<p>&#9825Piper&#9825

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    David bio AGAIN

    Name: ugh... oh gods.... look up! Gender: um... male duh appearance black hair with lean body and blue eyes. Uses elemental magic (almost too op) and sometimes channels it into arrows or swords.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    James

    Age:17 <br>
    Parent:Hades <br>
    Appearence:wears black skinny jeans a navy blue shirt and a black leather hoodie. Has a imperial gold sword strapped on his side and has spiked up brown hair and a gokd ring haped like a skeleton. <Br>
    <Br>
    Crush:n/a <br>
    Pet:a skeleton wolf that can turn into a normal wolf. Its name is spike <br>
    <Br>
    Battle appearence: Has pure golden armor and a imperial gold shield with a black skull with green eyes on it. He has daggers strapped on his leg and a bunch of diferrent potions and stuff in a bag on his back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Annabeth

    Name: really? Age: honestly. Looks: blonde golden hair with cloudy grey eyes. Godly parent: Athena Personality: loving smart and strong.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Is this the bio place??????

    IS IT???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Magik's bio

    Name illyana Rasputin. Call me Magik... gender.. girl..... parent... Hades... appearance... blonde hair. Blue eyes.. other. Is a master enchantress. Part demon. Part corrupted soul so has no cry for mercy. Can teleport through dimentions and time.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Percy

    You know me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Sam

    Sorry fatty. Missed u by an hour and a half

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3