Customer Reviews for

Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea: Why the Greeks Matter

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Not bad...

    Cahill shows himself erudite, but ever the pop historian in this latest effort. Despite the occasional plug for his other books, and a bizarre penchant for showing ancient porn that really doesn't seem necessary to his thesis, he makes a pretty good case for that the Greeks really are the fathers of Western civilization. Includes a good intro to Homer, Greek theater, and sculpture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Sam

    Lololol!!! I will store those away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Fatyy

    U can breaty with yiur mouth open! Liar. Lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Not a bad book but not a great book

    This book was required reading for 9th grade at my children's school. Not a good choice. Many pointless sexual themes. Too many quotes from books no high school child will have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    I had the sense that the author would like to have had additiona

    I had the sense that the author would like to have had additional pages available for all he wanted to share. The books is filled with high level overviews of the history of the early Greeks, their worldview, their social lives, politics, philosophy and art. Each chapter picks a few specific examples to illustrate the key points (my favorite was inclusion of the famous “Funeral Oration” of Pericles, presented to illustrate the spirit of Greece in fifth century BC). So of course with over 800 years of history, art, etc. squeezed into 264 pages, much had to be omitted. Further reducing how much the author was able to include in the text was a marvelous section of photographs of Greek art and architecture. One big picture item I came away with from this book is that there were perhaps three broad categories of ‘ancient’ Greeks, these being the Greeks of Homer (tricky is good) , the Greeks of Apollo (reason is good), and the Greeks of Dionysus (religious ecstasy is best brought out by a good amphora of wine!).

    The subtitle of this book is ‘why the Greeks matter’ and I came away thinking the answer is that many of the problems we face today were faced by the Greeks. We have issues with our economy, over extended battlefields, divisive politics, major splits regarding who, if anybody, has the correct religion, rapidly changing moral values, etc. The ancient Greeks faced these same problems. So it’s interesting to learn how they handled these issues. This book points out that they weren’t always successful. But this book also points out that the Greeks of antiquity still gave us much to think about in our modern world. This is the perfect book to stuff in your backpack for a short vacation…clearly written with lots of surprise facts contained in the text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2007

    Greek History 'Lite'

    Actually I was enjoying the book most of the way through. Cahill writes well, without every drab detail that most history textbooks include. My disappointment started around chapter 7 'Greco-Roman Meets Judeo-Christian' where Cahill reveals his personal secular desire for separation of church and state. Worse, he takes it a step further and jumps on the Bush-bashing bandwagon, even specifically calling out Don Rumsfeld as an imperialist and criticizing the current administration for a 'dismissive' approach to the UN. Perhaps the author hadn't noticed the UN is filled with ruthless dictators and deep corruption. Sorry Mr. Cahill, you just alienated half of your fan base.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    Interesting and entertaining

    I found this book interesting and fun to read. It's one of those rare finds in historical readings that actually engages the reader. Over all i would say that it was a good book. The only problem i saw with it is that it did get off track at some points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Disappointing.

    While this book presents some interesting ideas, overall, I found it lacking and at times weak. This is pop-history. It is slanted in favor of the author's ancient Greek favorites, not simply in terms of who he presents as most significant, but also in terms of who he chooses to explore and explain (i.e. heavy on Athens and Plato very light on Sparta and Aristotle, etc). This book, like the others in The Hinges of History Series look very interesting, but now I have my doubts about the others. Even with such a short book, he could have done much more with this topic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    The Greeks matter and Mr. Cahill will tell you why!!!

    Wonderful introduction to Ancient Greek culture. Some points of his are striking to the reader, who would have never thought of such reality of the Ancient Greeks. It's amazing. It also features a number of images from artifacts, monuments and sculptures. I do remember there was one point, which I believe he saw too broadly... Blast, it's not coming to me now! Great book though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    very superficial

    I have enjoyed previous works but find this book particularly superficial and lacking any depth. Better options available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1